Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Note that there are two books!
Note that the reviews for two separate books by Diana Henry with very similar titles have been conflated here, namely the sequel "The Gastrobook Cookbook: Another Helping" (published Oct 2008 ISBN 1845333373) and the original book "The Gastropub Cookbook" (published hardback Oct 2003 ISBN 1840007427, paperback Oct 2005 ISBN 184533194X).

I won't go into too much...
Published on 9 Dec 2009 by E. L. Wisty

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weird or what?
I find it a little odd that there are reviews here which pre-date the publication of this book by as much as five years. Pre-cognition or confusion with the original "Gastropub Cookbook"? This is a different book.
Published on 10 Dec 2008 by Orchard Gate


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Note that there are two books!, 9 Dec 2009
By 
E. L. Wisty "World Domination League" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gastropub Cookbook - Another Helping (Hardcover)
Note that the reviews for two separate books by Diana Henry with very similar titles have been conflated here, namely the sequel "The Gastrobook Cookbook: Another Helping" (published Oct 2008 ISBN 1845333373) and the original book "The Gastropub Cookbook" (published hardback Oct 2003 ISBN 1840007427, paperback Oct 2005 ISBN 184533194X).

I won't go into too much detail here as others have already reviewed them both. However I will note that whilst the first book very nearly meets Diana Henry's usual high standard in the class of recipes she has collected therein, the second is a real disappointment and contains hardly any recipes which inspire one to attempt to create.

For me the recipes themselves are the important part of the book. The gastropub listings are mostly as much use as a chocolate teapot as the information can very quickly become out of date as pubs close or change ownership and the quality takes a nosedive, plus unless you are on some sort of Grand Tour of Britain one is unlikely to get much chance to visit many of these hostelries. So whilst the first volume is a valuable and useable cookbook, the sequel feels a bit more like a doorstop and a bit of a waste of time. 4/5 stars for the original book, 2/3 for the second.

I recommend that you check out Diana Henry's Crazy Water, Pickled Lemons: Enchanting Dishes from the Middle East, Mediterranean and North Africa, Roast Figs, Sugar Snow: Food to Warm the Soul and Cook Simple: Effortless Cooking Every Day (the latter published in paperback under the title Pure Simple Cooking: Effortless Meals Every Day), being probably my three favourite cookbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grub Crawl, 20 Oct 2003
Diana Henry does it again - after being enthralled by her last title, Crazy water Pickled lemons I was pleased to see the same
thoughtful and intelligent approach to what is a guide that
focuses on the finest eating pubs in the UK.
A wide mix of recipes are included which range from simple to fairly complex - but it's easy to adapt them to your abilities and equipment.Of the 20 or so pubs featured each chef offers up
a sample of their style often including a starter, main course and dessert.Recipes seem to be well adapted from a commercial enviroment - making them tempting to cook yourself and each includes a few words beforehand to set the context - making me want to rush to the kitchen and get cooking.
Also included in each regional chapter is a 'best of the rest'
section detailing boozers also visited with an idea of what to expect.This is what makes a great cookery book into a travelog,
you just can't wait to plan a long weekend away sampling these
hostelries.Best be quick though the catering trade being what it is and businesses change hands...
Overall a great read thats full of enthusiasm and passion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every one a winner!, 20 Oct 2003
By 
Mrs. A. Booth-Clibborn (london, london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Diana Henry really has done all the hard work for you in this book. Every pub I have tried from it has been outstanding and then I don't even have to bother the chefs for their recipes because they are in the book too. I would honestly plan a weekend around the book now as I know I can be sure of a pretty, delicious and friendly welcome with any of her recommendations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weird or what?, 10 Dec 2008
This review is from: The Gastropub Cookbook - Another Helping (Hardcover)
I find it a little odd that there are reviews here which pre-date the publication of this book by as much as five years. Pre-cognition or confusion with the original "Gastropub Cookbook"? This is a different book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book but not as good as the first, 14 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gastropub Cookbook - Another Helping (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this book but haven't found it as good as the first Gastropub book by Diana Henry. I have cooked several things from the first book but have so far found only two or three dishes which I would like to try.
But I'm still glad to have it and it's a great book to browse through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gastropub cook book, 15 April 2009
By 
Mr. MJ BARNARD "Matt Barnard" (Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Gastropub Cookbook - Another Helping (Hardcover)
I was surprised to hear this book was orginally written in 2003 and re-released last year, although it explains a few things...

As keen foodies my girlfriend and I saw this book more as an opportunity for a gastronomic tour of Britain, and whilst our experiences of the pubs featured were mostly excellent, notably the Pot Kiln, the Hardwick and the Hole in the Wall, to name but a few of the ones we made it to, some of the places were, well... pretty average.

I won't name names, but I would advise that if you do decide to visit these places, and especially if you're going out of your way, you should perhaps do a little more research on the web.

That said, the recipes are fantastic, so as a cook book this is a worthwhile buy.

Just don't assume, like I did, that this is a fool proof way of guaranteeing a great pub meal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gastropub Cookbook, 10 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband got the book for himself, he cooks a lot & is gettting certainly getting great
inspiration from it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still interesting, 20 April 2012
By 
I. Darren (Fi) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
A long time ago the food that one might receive in a British public house (pub) or inn was very good as it was a key attraction and basic requirement for when one was changing stagecoach or other forms of public transport. Then something went wrong and for many years the quality of food typically received was very poor or even only cold snacks.
Fortunately, from the late 20th century, things began to pick up and some pubs began to get very serious about their food, offering restaurant quality food at pub prices. The era of the gastropub was born. Food available from pubs can still vary immensely and for many the deep fat fryer and microwave oven are king, yet many pubs do differentiate themselves tremendously by the quality and originality of their food.
In this book author Diana Henry takes a look at a number of pubs in Britain and Ireland that have established a good reputation for their food to see what makes them tick and what culinary delights they have been serving up for their customers.
Recipes from each gastropub are provided for the reader to recreate at home and within this selection are a number of interesting, often challenging, dishes. One should effectively ignore the specific recommendations of a "good eating" establishment because businesses can and do change - or at least use any recommendations as a "suggestion worthy of further investigation".
The key thing here is the recipes and these are the things that can stand the test of time. The recipes vary from specific interpretations of classics such as Shepherd's Pie to more interpreted dishes such as Charred Maple-Cured Pork Loin with Grain Mustard Tartare. One may prefer to dig in through the comprehensive index at the back rather than navigate through the geographical round trip that the book makes in reading order. Each recipe is well laid out and easy to follow with detailed instructions. A number of the recipes are illustrated but it would have been nice for all of them to have had their own illustration, no matter how small, as a bit of a "sanity check" for the nervous cook who wants to know how it should look, at least.
This book has been available for some time now and despite the obvious potential dated nature of the "guide" side of things, the recipes remain as valid today as the day they were published. Some food tastes and trends change yet cornerstones remain cornerstones and there are a number of good recipes here that one may try out and enjoy... or use as a bridge to some other variation through experimentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A firm favourite, 9 Mar 2011
This has been added to my favourite cookbooks. Even though some of the recipes are long winded, they always inspire me and all have been mouthwatering so far! Definitely a good buy for foodies like myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars self taught cook!, 7 Nov 2009
By 
Cheryl Anderson "Cheryl" (South West England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Gastropub Cookbook - Another Helping (Hardcover)
I first came across this book at a great chef and friend house. We had also eaten at one of the pubs mentioned in the book, The Gurnard's Head. The book's review was quite good.
The Gastropub Cookbook: Another Helping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gastropub Cookbook - Another Helping
The Gastropub Cookbook - Another Helping by Diana Henry (Hardcover - 6 Oct 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews