Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoying wine even more now, 7 April 2009
By 
D. Hill (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 6th Edition (Hardcover)
I got this for my birthday as a wine drinker and lover, and have got a lot out of it. The maps are great, and the detail on each district valuable. Had every producer been reviewed would the book have been extremely large, so a backrground on the typical conditions and wines of the major districts helps to understand better the wines that you drink. I must admit that my next buy would be a more exhaustive catalogue of every wine producer but such a book would have been harder to read.

The history of wine and the decription of each countries and of wine production and techniques is great. I recommend this a a detailed and good overview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World According to Wine, 23 Dec 2007
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 6th Edition (Hardcover)
At 400 pages, British wine experts Huge Johnson and Jancis Robinson have created their most exhaustive atlas yet, and a tremendous resource. The book is gorgeous - with a generous amount of color illustrations, photos, and maps, including 2 page spreads. All told there are 48 extra pages over the previous edition.

The 6th edition contains 200 maps, all revised and updates, including 20 new maps. The introduction contains essays on wine in the ancient world, vine types, grape varieties, weather, terroir, the wine growers calendar, how wine is made, etc. etc. Robinson has said this new edition took two years of concentrated effort. It was worth it!

Then the authors dive deep into wine regions organized by country. Each region or country covered has a colored map, an essay about the characteristics of the reason, vital statistics, and a few wine labels. France has the most with 55 regions featured, indeed, a quarter of the volume (100 pages) is on France. Italy features 18 regions. Spain 9. Portugal 6. Germany 12. United States 17. Australia 12. New Zealand 4. Other countries covered include: England and Wales, Switzerland, Austria, Hungary, Czech Republic, Slovenia, Western Balkans, Bulgaria, Romania, Former Soviet Republics, Greece, Eastern Mediterranean, North Africa, South Africa, China, Japan, and the rest of Asia. I find the information scant on Chile and Argentina, which is odd given their increased market exposure and rising excellence of wines.

The authors have expanded New World coverage, in keeping with expanded exposure and quality of the wine produced in these regions, for Australia, New Zealand, Argentina, South America, and South Africa. These are additions, with nothing taken away from the previous fabulous coverage of Old & New World wine regions.

Since the first edition in 1971, the World Atlas of Wine has sold more than 4 million copies and I'm happy to add this new 6th edition to my library, especially at such a reasonable price. It's always a pleasure to look up some background information on tonight's glass of wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great reference book, 6 Jun 2011
By 
Adam Ventress (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 6th Edition (Hardcover)
This is a really excellent book for its information, maps, photography and expert knowledge. Its definitly one to return to again and again to check a quick fact, or to flick through casually and browse (and still find yourself reading 2 hours later) The detailed maps are particularly helpful and very interesting to look over, and help to gain a fuller understanding of each region.

It does of course have a predictable balance towards France in its huge detail on French regions, which is a great resource to refer to, though it is not a luxury afforded to any other country. In the introduction to Italy for example, the writers put Italy almost on a par with France in terms of importance, but then proceed to give it a third of the page space. Personally I usually favour Italian at least as much as French, although I concede that France has had more essential impact on international varieties and styles, but Italy has more of its own varieties than any other country, and deserves almost equal billing. France continues to be of massive importance of course, just be warned that this book doesn't quite give you a 21st century picture, with anything like the same detail on the New World, or modern Italy and Spain, although I guess that would make it a much bigger book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide, 13 April 2011
By 
J. Bryan "JCB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 6th Edition (Hardcover)
An invaluable book showing excellent detail and explanation through countires and regions to vineyards. As a relative novice at wine I have found this very useful and it has helped me to build up a picture of the wine world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must!, 5 Oct 2010
By 
Ad "Frenchie" (Surrey - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 6th Edition (Hardcover)
Any wine lover will appreciate this book whatever your level of knowledge. Very logically put together, great content and visually attractive. I have owned this book for a year now and it has been regularly used.
If you are looking for something specific such as the history of wine, wine making or detailed information on grapes or country producers etc... then, you should buy specialised books separately.
If you enjoy wine and only want to buy one book, buy this one. If you are a connoisseur, buy this book too, it will complement very well any other wine books you have. You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Encyclopaedic, 11 Jan 2010
By 
Bruce T. Collinson (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 6th Edition (Hardcover)
More of an encyclopaedia than an atlas, although it does both. This is very comprehensive and, from my limited knowledge of a handful of wines which feature, absolutely spot on. If one had the means and time for a proper wine tour, to buy specific wine from the chateau or winery direct, this would be the third book in the car (after the Michelin big map and the red Michelin...). A deep reservoir of knowledge and pleasure, to be tapped at regular intervals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for the right audience, 5 Jan 2008
By 
J. Brand "jbrand" (Somewhere else) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 6th Edition (Hardcover)
The ever increasing size of this book reflects the increasing interest in wine, so it now lands with an impressive thump on your desktop. Though its content doesn't always reflect who that new market is.

The authors start with a, rather meandering, description of the history and production of wine and some basic notes on tasting, appreciation and handling of wine. Some of this is very useful, most of it is very basic for someone who already knows the subject and all of it could do with some editing to make the best of their material. Some of it punctures some of the myths about wine such as how long wines should be laid down and do you really need to let wine breath. Elsewhere they perpetuate some of those myths, for example they still seem to give the whole concept of 'terroir' an almost mystical reverence.

That introduction, however, is not really the point of this volume. This appears to be aimed at the new wine connoisseur or someone who wants to be a connoisseur. The real body of this is a fairly comprehensive atlas of vineyards and producers. The detail with which they cover their subject is variable but excusably so as it reflects the varying national interest in wine. So France is covered in incredible detail while England, however much it's wine industry may be growing, is given one brief page. That sort of omission is annoying when you had hoped for something comprehensive, but it's an understandable omission given the limited space any single book will have. As long as you stick to well established wine producing regions and buy from those regions this will have something to tell you.

Which, excellent as it is, is also a problem this book has. Ninety per cent of the wine buying public, whether they are buying something cheap and nasty from tescos or something better from a merchant will be buying a blend; a chardonnay or shiraz whose provenance can be narrowed down no more closely than southern Australia, South Africa or so on. Good as those wines are this book doesn't help in selecting them.

If you've moved from just buying a muscadet or whatever to buying 'something from the Loire Valley' then this is ideal for you. If you want to do so then this is ideal. If you like wine and maps then this is interesting if not useful. If you, like me, are happy buying muscadet and merlot but have no real desire to take your wine buying much further then this is probably not for you. So, interesting but impractical for most of us but excellent for the right audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books for the wine gourmets, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 6th Edition (Hardcover)
I was travelling a lot during last years and wine would always be the best accompaniment to any dinner in any countries. So I decided to find the most extensive book describing all the background information about wine and the places where it is grown to extend my knowledge in order to buy the wine that you know about, know the difference and fully enjoy drink.
This is the 6th edition of the World Altals of wine so I believe it tell for itself that the book is popular. It's filfilled with the details, spectacular images, nice schemes and terrain/map specifics of every different region that the vine grows in.
I haven't read it all but likewise every other encyclopedia you only refer to specific chapter when you need to and you explore it by trying different wines.
I strongly recommend this book to everyone who's interested in wine, technology and process this ancient drink is made according to.
The only thing you have to keep in mind that it is not a guide book and it's too bulky to serve this purpose so you won't be able to travel with this particular book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Way To Understand Wine, 22 July 2011
By 
A. V. Rains "Kentguy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 6th Edition (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift for a wine lover.
This book is extremely informative about the world of wine.
A great way to improve your knowledge
A gift that was very warmly received
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of wine, 24 Feb 2011
By 
Brian G "Brian" (Brisbane Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 6th Edition (Hardcover)
If you only buy one book about wine then buy this one. For almost encyclopedic reference or for random reading or even holiday planning - this book is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World Atlas of Wine, 6th Edition
The World Atlas of Wine, 6th Edition by Jancis Robinson (Hardcover - 18 Oct 2007)
Used & New from: £0.04
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews