Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
The book is better than the accompanying TV series. Well written and illustrated. The advice given is essential for those just starting out and even those who have been dabbling for a while. It puts in sinple terms how, where and when to plant, how to look after, when and how to harvest and even gives some examples of how each veg in the book can be eaten or cooked...
Published on 27 Jan. 2007 by Stu Ford

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but not clear enough
When I first flicked through the book I saw how clearly it was laid out, and a cursory read made me feel that it was heading in the right direction for me as a newcomer to gardening and growing vegetables.
Unfortunately the simplicity stretched to not having enough detail on how to really look after things (eg what do you do if your tomatoes aren't setting) once they...
Published on 13 Jun. 2009 by GardenNovice


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Grow Your Own Veg, 18 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Grow Your Own: Veg (Royal Horticultural Society Grow Your Own) (Hardcover)
I'm very new to gardening and I've never grown anything in my life! Great tips and easy to follow. Will hopefully have my own veg patch very soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grow Your Own Veg, 27 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Grow Your Own: Veg (Royal Horticultural Society Grow Your Own) (Hardcover)
I learned to garden from a book in my twenties and now in my fifties decided to buy this book simply because I just love to watch Carol Klein on TV. Her approach is uncomplicated as is this book. It really gives you all the information you really need without going into too much science and the recommended varieties, hints and tips really do work. I love this book and so much so, that I bought another for my niece and her husband to start growing their own veg too and it certainly got them motivated into doing just that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Simple Guide!, 27 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Grow Your Own: Veg (Royal Horticultural Society Grow Your Own) (Hardcover)
A new house, with a fabulous garden & beckoning empty vegetable plot forced this purchase... Having looked at some of the other veg gardening books out there, this one seemed the most comprehensive without running the risk of alienating us by being too complicated.
I am pleased to say (one year since starting to grow veg as complete newbies), we have now grown some fabulous vegetables with this book's guidance.
A pleasing & informative read that gets the balance between pictures & info just about right!
We have amassed quite a few veg books now, althouigh this is the one we usually reach for first (which says it all, really)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The gardeners friend, 30 Nov. 2010
This review is from: RHS Grow Your Own: Veg (Royal Horticultural Society Grow Your Own) (Hardcover)
The purchase is a Christmas present for my brother-in-law who
has acquired a small vegetable plot in a new house he has moved
into so I will have to await his review on this product.
Ian Coulson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simple to follow, 2 Sept. 2010
This review is from: RHS Grow Your Own: Veg (Royal Horticultural Society Grow Your Own) (Hardcover)
I had previously been lent a copy of this book so I knew what to expect. As a newbie to veggie growing I find the terminology simple and easy to understand and the pictures also help. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent advice, 31 May 2010
By 
C. Entwistle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: RHS Grow Your Own: Veg (Royal Horticultural Society Grow Your Own) (Hardcover)
I had bought this book previously to seek advice for planning what and how to grow my own vegetables and have found the information provided invaluable. I have therefore bought another for a friends birthday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From sewing to the plate, 24 Aug. 2014
By 
M. Bayliss "Dragonus" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Grow Your Own: Veg (Royal Horticultural Society Grow Your Own) (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book which covers all aspects of vegetable growing from sowing to the plate. The first couple of chapters explain setting up your vegetable plot, then a section on pests etc. the remainder is devoted to the various vegetables that you are likely to grow. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous easy read, 23 April 2009
By 
Ms. Ec Hills "le1979" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Grow Your Own: Veg (Royal Horticultural Society Grow Your Own) (Hardcover)
I love this book. I have read so many gardening books and found this the easiest to follow. It has clear, concise chapters and is easy to follow. I frequently dip in and out for helpful hints and would recommend this to anyone interested in vegetable growing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great book for those new to growing vegetables, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Grow Your Own: Veg (Royal Horticultural Society Grow Your Own) (Hardcover)
A great book for those new to growing vegetables. Carol Klein's style is clear and concise, the writing style also shows her enthusiasm for the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good service, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Grow Your Own: Veg (Royal Horticultural Society Grow Your Own) (Hardcover)
Swift delivery at a good price. More emphasise on pictures than actual guidance. Good for a beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

RHS Grow Your Own: Veg (Royal Horticultural Society Grow Your Own)
£14.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews