Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars there's everything, 12 Mar 2009
By 
M. Bagarella (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fundamentals of Modern Photography (Hardcover)
possibly the best book about general photography I've come across; there's loads of information about cameras, taking pictures, tecniques and so on; it's all explained clearly in short chapters (actually maybe too many of them and too short, it can be confusing), but if you take your time - and you'll need a lot of it to take all in - this book will definitely step up your skills
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As in depth or as easy as you like, 20 Jan 2011
This review is from: Fundamentals of Modern Photography (Hardcover)
Great book.

If you want a reference book that gives you details such as how a dark room works, then this is the book for you.

If you need a book that, from start to finish, will leave you entertained and informed about how a lens works or the advantages of photoshop, then you are in luck.

Tom Ang's book satisfies both these needs and is an excellent all round guide.

Hugely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! The whole theory behind photography, 3 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fundamentals of Modern Photography (Hardcover)
This is a great manual which will help you understand exactly what photography is about - the science of photography. Other books tell you how to get a great shot but if you want to really understand what its about - the real nitty gritty - a text book understanding - then this book is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What this book is (and what it is not), 6 April 2012
By 
Oliver! "Tea house warrior" (Saltaire, West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fundamentals of Modern Photography (Hardcover)
Don't get me wrong, this is a great book, both in terms of print quality, included imagery and content.

Just it's not what I thought it would be based on Amazon's description. It says that "Practical exercises and summaries are included in each chapter, providing a complete set of tutorials." - making me think it is a how-to book for beginners, which I am, and can be used as a practical guide to photography. As it seems description is slightly wrong here, as there are no practical exercises or tutorials in this book.

What it is, is a photo version of Encyclopedia Britannica - most complete and extensive collection of articles on each and every subject of photography.

Book is divided into 11 chapters:

What is photography
Fundamentals of light
The camera
Capturing the light
Using the lens
Manipulating light
Working with colour
Processing the image
Digitizing the image
Outputting the image
References

Each chapter deals with corresponding aspects of photography, ie chapter "What is photography" has entrance on types of photography: scientific, industrial, surveillance, forensic, medical, commercial etc. clearly explaining what they are. Later it describes all types of cameras, lenses, and other photo equipment. Then how photography works, how light is captured, transformed - well you have an idea now.

If you need complete and handy reference to anything related to photography, you need this book. But if you are looking for manual or tutorial, especially one for beginners, you will need to look for some other books.

Personally I am glad I found Understanding Exposure, 3rd Edition: How to Shoot Great Photographs with Any Camera - it is very concise, simple and easy to understand and follow.

Hope this review will help you to make an informed decision before buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, 27 Feb 2011
By 
K. Dunmore (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fundamentals of Modern Photography (Hardcover)
Bought this book for a work colleague and appeared to cover everything you would expect for someone with great interest in photography and already having some knowledge, skill and experience in this field. Looked technical but well set out and informative, a very appealing book from a well known author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thanks!, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fundamentals of Modern Photography (Hardcover)
I do not want to write anything else because amazon.co.uk is forcing me to use a specific nr of words so this is just a paste and copy text!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You WILL learn a lot!, 17 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. A. Shaw (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fundamentals of Modern Photography (Hardcover)
So much info is included in this, I'll be referring back to it for years! A must for photographers of all disciplines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fundamentals of Modern Photography
Fundamentals of Modern Photography by Tom Ang (Hardcover - 13 Sep 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews