Customer Reviews


249 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lighthearted and amusing ... but frustrating in places!
A typical Agatha Raisin book, this is lighthearted and entertaining:- it is amusing enough to make you laugh outloud in several places; it is entertaining; it is frustrating (there are certain clues that you wnat to keep reminding them of ... what about the diamonds? Have you forgotten the diamonds?); it is enjoyable; it is irritating (why am I enjoying it so much?); it...
Published on 18 Nov 2011 by E. Heckingbottom

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful!
Like other reviewers, I read and enjoyed the first Agatha Raisin books, and having exhausted those, I am returning to the new series after a couple of years. I am so disappointed that this book is so bad. The first books were light and easy to read or listen to without having to concentrate too hard, and the characters were likeable. Agatha's cases were based on poisoned...
Published 22 months ago by gspice2


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lighthearted and amusing ... but frustrating in places!, 18 Nov 2011
By 
E. Heckingbottom "elaineheck143" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A typical Agatha Raisin book, this is lighthearted and entertaining:- it is amusing enough to make you laugh outloud in several places; it is entertaining; it is frustrating (there are certain clues that you wnat to keep reminding them of ... what about the diamonds? Have you forgotten the diamonds?); it is enjoyable; it is irritating (why am I enjoying it so much?); it is fun!
For those of us who have already enjoyed some of the previous books in the series, it is great to see how the characters develop. Tony is stil a valued member of the team, as are Philip and Patrick, Charles, James and Roy; but things have happened in Simon's life causing problems for both him and Tony. Is Agatha responsible? Is she sorry? Was she right to interfere?
For those new to the series, certain characters may need some thinking about, but the lighthearted nature of the book shouldn't make this tough. Basically, think of it as an Enid Blyton for adults and you won't be far off!
The plot in very few words: - the pig at a hog roast is not exactly what was expected; Agatha realises this and then discovers another murder victim; she, her team and her friends are then threatened; investigation is off ... then on ... off ... then on; however, this is not a boring book to listen to! It's fun, entertaining and well worth listening to!
A great way to pass a long journey! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful!, 24 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like other reviewers, I read and enjoyed the first Agatha Raisin books, and having exhausted those, I am returning to the new series after a couple of years. I am so disappointed that this book is so bad. The first books were light and easy to read or listen to without having to concentrate too hard, and the characters were likeable. Agatha's cases were based on poisoned Victoria sponge, haunted houses and village fetes - all fun! She has now turned into a rude, foul mouthed bully, and this story involves kidnaps in Las Vegas, drug smuggling and blood diamonds, none of which are explained properly or have a conclusion. No fear of spoiling the plot for you - there isn't one. It's just a series of unrelated events involving characters I no longer like or care about. I'm not looking for detailed police procedure or forensics; there are other authors I can read for that, but, come on, surely there must be one foot in reality. There are so many loose ends that I (sadly) read the book twice to make sure that I hadn't missed something. Please lets go back to the old Agatha - the one star here is for the author sneaking this past the publisher! Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, Not Great, 20 Dec 2011
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've not read/listened to an Agatha Raisin story before so came to this having no idea what to expect.

Following a brief introduction as we are introduced to our main character & a few of the locals in her village a murder is committed very publicly to be quickly followed by another.
Our heroine finds herself up against both a ruthless killer & her inability to keep her mouth shut which gets her into trouble.

The story bobs along at a perfectly reasonable pace and has enough surprises & depth to keep the listener on board.

The characters too are varied, opinionated & interesting. The amount of dislikeable characters is unusual & makes for a more lifelike setting.

The real problem/ attraction, depending on your point of view, is Agatha herself. Bossy, interfering & something of a snob are not necessarily winning traits for a main character.
I feel that there is a real age & class divide that the author refuses to compromise on. The elderly are seldom wrong & the upper middle classes never.

But despite being an interfering busybody, think Miss Marple without the charm, Agatha still appeals. It makes a change not to have a `people person' in charge & it's difficult not to admire her determination & spirit.
Her demands that the entire planet revolve around her & her opinions are, frankly, quite realistic.

This is certainly not a classic by any means but neither is it poor. It occupies a comfortable middle ground. If you can get it for a reasonable price then give it a try. Give it time & the characters will grow on you.

One point of concern is the use of Penelope Keith to read. As Agatha she is perfect & she would be ideal in a radio play. However, as much as I love Penelope, her attempts at accents are variable to say the least & she founders when faced with voicing the great unwashed.

Avoiding a cosy approach & keeping matters moving mean that this is worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as the pig turns, 14 Jan 2012
This review is from: Agatha Raisin: As The Pig Turns (Hardcover)
If you have never read any Agatha Raisin before read this one and you will be hooked,real page turner lots of red herrings, colourfull characters a very satisfying read.Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not to be missed, 13 Dec 2011
By 
Archbold Jake "Archie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
On bended knee (well, almost) I express my apologies to M.C. Beaton and to Penelope Keith for finding a previous offering tedious if not downright boring when all the things I found frustrating then, I find charming and irritatingly funny in the case of "Agatha Raisin as the Pig Turns (BBC Audio)".

It was bliss. I sat with my headphones on for 6 hours oblivious to my wife's requests to put up a shelf, or some such. I still do not know why it is that I found the last Agatha Raisin Audio Book so different. Perhaps it was me. Perhaps it was the weather.

All I can say is that I remember the books to be funny, readable, ludicrous (in places, but nicely so), one-dimensional, sometimes poorly plotted with inconsistent characterisations, but hugely enjoyable and quite un-putdownable.

And so in the present case with "As the Pig Turns". A local 'little Hitler' meets the most gruesome fate imaginable. The villagers, about to enjoy a barbecue, are saved from an equally gruesome meal only because of the watchful eye of Agatha. Before long, the police (both local and otherwise) pile in and along with all the well loved characters (including the poor Vicar's wife!) finding themselves participating one way or another.

As may be safely assumed, Agatha saves the day!!

Don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Badly written with little imagination. Boring story about a conceited old woman who has moved to the country and thinks that because she is from London she is smarter than everyone else. Stereotypical portrait of life in a small village with all your bog standard characters, vicars wife, local plod etc. Yawn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent once again, just one niggle..., 17 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a review of the Kindle edition.
Another eagerly awaited Agatha Raisin book. Slightly darker in tone than usual but extremely enjoyable nonetheless. Great to see Agatha in lots of quandries. I only have one complaint - continuity! Where were Ms Beaton's notes or what was her editor doing? Simon's "parents"! Re-read "Busy Body" and see what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Listen, 15 Dec 2011
By 
A. Roberton "Alan Roberton" (Camborne, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have always believed that a good audio book needs a good reader to bring it to life. Penelope Keith does just that with these Agatha Raisin books. This particular story, "As the Pig Turns" shows just how our (my) impression of Penelope Keith's Agatha Raisin really comes to life. All through the book Agatha's character dominates each chapter, keeping the listener (reader) both riveted and entertained at the same time. I have several of these audio books and each one can be listened to again and again, a sure sign of a 'good book', whether paper or audio.

The story really gets started at the hog roast when a murder is committed which begins Agatha's hunt for the killer. I won't say too much except that this particular story, like most Agatha Raisin books, it never follows a straight line, hopping from one thing to another; never boring, always something surprising, mostly funny and great on long car journeys.

Brilliant. A great present for someone who does a lot of driving. (well that's where I generally listen to these wonderful books)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very easy to listen to, 8 Dec 2011
By 
EssexReader (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Although I have read all the previous Agatha Raisin books, this was the first audio CD of her books that I had experienced. As regards the storyline, I thought this one was actually better than some of the most recent of Agatha's adventures - there seemed to be more meat to the story. Agatha Raisin is never going to be a nice cuddly Miss Marple but she does have a certain charm. Most of the characters from the previous books appear - Mrs Bloxby and her husband the vicar, the village busybody Mrs Benson, Sir Charles, Roy, Bill Wong, Agatha's ex husband James and of course Toni and her colleagues from the detective agency. Although you could possibly read this as a standalone - it is a definite advantage to have read at least some of the previous books to have an idea of the characters and the history between them.

Penelope Keith reads very well - she is very clear and concise and mostly it was a pleasure to listen to. The only thing that spoilt it for me was when she tried to do various accents - she should have kept to reading it straight. They ranged from a dubious Brummy accent to a Yorkshire sounding Gloucestershire accent - and as for Toni's voice - this was dire - using such a small pathetic voice didn't do the character justice at all.

You could while away a very pleasant few hours listening to this and despite my criticisms above, I would listen to another audio book read by Ms Keith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agatha goes to a hog roast....and finds a murder mystery......, 8 Dec 2011
By 
mandynolan "mandynolan" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is an enjoyable way to spend six hours. This audiobook is over 6 CD's.

It tells the story of Agatha visiting a Hog roast and what happens next!!

Agatha, as usual, puts her oar in to try to save the day and find the murderer....

Well read by Penelope Keith.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Agatha Raisin: As The Pig Turns
Agatha Raisin: As The Pig Turns by M.C. Beaton (Hardcover - 20 Oct 2011)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews