Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Minor Saylor
Steven Saylor returns to his Gordianus series and the result, although welcome is something of a disappointment. A somewhat slender and short story offers only transitory pleasures. But Saylor is a master storyteller and sage on all things Roman, so a sub par Roma Sub Rosa novel still eclipses his many rivals. A minor entry in the series and not the best starting point...
Published on 17 July 2008 by Mr. Warren M. Fisher

versus
30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A poor ending for a great character
This was a real disappointment. The beauty of Saylor's books was always the sensitive and intricate way he used the mystery stories of Gordianus the Finder to inform and enlighten the reader about Roman society and history. But Gordianus was - to me - always the heart and soul of the story. Saylor clearly knows Rome back and forward, in and out. But its fair to say recent...
Published on 19 May 2008 by William Brandon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A poor ending for a great character, 19 May 2008
By 
William Brandon (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was a real disappointment. The beauty of Saylor's books was always the sensitive and intricate way he used the mystery stories of Gordianus the Finder to inform and enlighten the reader about Roman society and history. But Gordianus was - to me - always the heart and soul of the story. Saylor clearly knows Rome back and forward, in and out. But its fair to say recent entries in the series have begun to use Gordianus as the device rather than Rome. The low point came with Roma (not a Gordianus book) where Saylor's ambition to write a full story of Rome tried to balance names and dates with stories - much of which didn't work. The same is true here. If this is the last Gordianus book then Saylor seems to want to use it to tie up every storyline (most in two or three pages at the end. But Gordianus is almost forgotten. the "story" is terribly minor. How sad. 3 stars as even poor quality Saylor is still worth reading. But not for new readers. Go back to Roman Blood or Murder on the appian way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Minor Saylor, 17 July 2008
By 
Mr. Warren M. Fisher (East Grinstead, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Steven Saylor returns to his Gordianus series and the result, although welcome is something of a disappointment. A somewhat slender and short story offers only transitory pleasures. But Saylor is a master storyteller and sage on all things Roman, so a sub par Roma Sub Rosa novel still eclipses his many rivals. A minor entry in the series and not the best starting point for newcomers, but for completists and fans a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a 'whodunit' more a 'whowilldoit' with history thrown in for good measure!!, 16 Aug 2009
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Triumph of Caesar (Gordianus the Finder 12) (Paperback)
I agree with the majority of my fellow reviewer's. This leans more towards description of the history of Rome set in a particular time rather that a Murder mystery for Gordianus to solve. But what a time and what marvellous descriptions of them! I pride myself of thinking I know a lot about Rome at the time of Caesar and the great Julius himself but I was pleasantly surprised by Saylor's vivid descriptions and how he introduced me to events and major description of the times There is a `whodunit' or should that read a 'whowilldoit'? For Gordianus is tasked by Caesar's wife to find out who wants Caesar dead and the side issue of who killed Gordianus' predecessor and was it because he was getting too close to the truth? And that in it self poses another problem. Just like in 'The Day of the Jackal' by Frederick Forsyth we all know that the key figure Caesar like Degaulle does not get assassinated... well not until later.
Along the way Saylor weaves some of the major player's in Caesar's later regicide... I was particularly impressed with his depiction of Marc Antony.. Surely a figure that Saylor will use in a major book later in the Finder's later episodes (or is Saylor teasing us with Gordianus' family taking over).
All in all a cracking read. Not one of Saylor's best BUT dear reader remember that is up against some really stiff competition Saylor is THAT good. An average Saylor book beats the best of others hands down. I'd say a very satisfying book that you finish with regret that the wonderful story has ended. More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable series, 4 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Triumph of Caesar (Gordianus the Finder 12) (Paperback)
I've been re reading the series and I've really enjoyed it all over again. This book is new since I last read them which was an unexpected pleasure. One downside for me in some of the previous books has been the way occasional chunky bits of history and long speeches stall the narrative flow. I disagree with other reviewers in that this book has less chunky bits: Gordianus features on nearly every page and interacts with the history around him. I enjoy exploring Rome and it's people with him and I hope there will be more books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet more of Gordianus The Finder in the Roman Republic, 21 Mar 2010
By 
NRP Wilson "nrpwilson.co.uk" (Northamptonshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Triumph of Caesar (Gordianus the Finder 12) (Paperback)
Gordianus is now getting older (don't we all) but he still manages to solve the problem. His daughter and adopted son (who both appear to be as good at deduction as Gordianus) look as though they are already in the wings and ready to take over when he does eventually 'retire'. Let's hope that he keeps going for a little while yet and then Gordianus's other adopted son Meto can record the deeds of his brother and sister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of a historical novel than a detective story, 1 Jun 2009
By 
Iain S. Palin (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Triumph of Caesar (Gordianus the Finder 12) (Paperback)
It is easy to see why this book generates such a wide range of response from "love it" to "hate it". It has a different feel from most Gordianus the Finder stories, much more like a historical novel than the sort of detective story we have come to expect. Against a background of Caesar's impending triumphal processions, which will set the seal on his ascendancy in Rome, the Finder reluctantly agrees to investigate a threat to the Dictator's life though only because in doing so he hopes to identify the murderer of an old friend. That background is set out in great (and fascinating detail) as are the attitudes and behaviour of many of Rome's key public figures as seen through Gordianus's eyes. It is all very engrossing though one begins to get the feeling that crime and detection aero taking second place to the detailed historical narrative. This is reinforced by the almost dues ex machine way in which the conspirator/murderer is unmarked. I enjoyed reading this book even though I had the distinct feeling that it was a historical tale with some crime and detection thrown in, rather than a crime-detection novel whose setting was ancient Rome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Triumph of Caesar., 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Triumph of Caesar (Gordianus the Finder 12) (Paperback)
The last book of the series.
Gordianus the Finder is called in by Calpurnia Caesar's wife, who is convinced of a plot on her husbands life.
Caesar has just come back from a stupendous quadruple triumph and with the games, there will be executions of his
prisoners, including Cleopatra's sister.
The Finder is joined by his daughter Diana, to find out if there is a plot.
Highly Recommended.

All of Steven Saylor Gordianus the Finder books are Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Roman gem, 7 Sep 2013
By 
P. J. Ruffell (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saylor paints a vivid picture of Roman life and I often think the murder mystery is secondary to the historical detail and the sense of time and place. Any Gordianus the Finder novel is worth a read, this one though I found a tad disappointing, hence only 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracking read, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the series of books. A well written which story flows sweeping you with it. Gordianus and his family are as entertaining as ever. If you love mystery stories with a bit of boys own adventure thrown in, then these are for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Terrible ending to a great series, 21 April 2013
By 
T. Stewart (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Triumph of Caesar (Gordianus the Finder 12) (Paperback)
Gordianus deserved better.

Not much happens in this book and the plot is laboured.

Having read all the books I feel Saylor lost his way during the series. I didn't really enjoy The Judgement of Caesar either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Triumph of Caesar (Gordianus the Finder 12)
The Triumph of Caesar (Gordianus the Finder 12) by Steven Saylor (Paperback - 26 Mar 2009)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews