Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Serious Book for the Seriously Interested
I bought this shortly before a trip to the battlefields late in 2008, thinking it would make suitable reading while away. I was wrong, not least since this is a very big, very heavy book. Definitely one to be sat before at a table and considered seriously.

So, no field-spotter's guide, but an amazingly revealing and informative reference book which has...
Published on 11 Aug 2009 by The Kinniburgh Kid

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A HUGE disappointment
.....literally huge. This tome could only sensibly be tackled if you read it while standing up at a map table-or an ironing board. Otherwise it is physically unmanageable.
The grammatical construction of the text is woeful to the point in some instances of being incomprehensible.
The photographic layout is such that the captions to many of the small images are...
Published 12 months ago by Sir Harry Ognall


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Serious Book for the Seriously Interested, 11 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (General Military) (Hardcover)
I bought this shortly before a trip to the battlefields late in 2008, thinking it would make suitable reading while away. I was wrong, not least since this is a very big, very heavy book. Definitely one to be sat before at a table and considered seriously.

So, no field-spotter's guide, but an amazingly revealing and informative reference book which has captivated me for many hours since my return.

It is almost impossible to envisage what that part of the world was like during the war by visiting it today, even on a cold, damp and misty November. However, this book and the panoramas it contains help you mentally overlay the contemporary scene and glimpse into the alien world millions of men fought and died in.

As with so much about the First World War, it comes as a shock, especially driving across today's customs-less borders, to think that so much effort and life was wasted doing little more than moving mud about.

Highly recommended, especially to those wishing to go beyond the usual history book format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 28 Nov 2008
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (General Military) (Hardcover)
When it comes to buying something really exciting about the Great War then you will not do any better than Peter Barton's epic book. It shows a genuine commitment to furthering interest in the War by producing fascinating new material and to the highest standard. The panoramas alone are good enough to take your breath away, but the text and the intergrated images are superb; I can't imagine the amount of effort that went into this book. However, the results make the purchase worth every penny. Well done Mr Barton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great helping from Barton., 3 July 2009
By 
S. C. Tipler "TommyTip" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (General Military) (Hardcover)
Having missed this product`s first printing i couldn`t wait for the second edition to come out. I already own `The Somme` and `Passchendaele` by the same author and this was not a disappointment, the detail well researched and panoramas unrivalled. I don`t know how long it takes to write a book like this but it was certainly worth the time. Between all 3 books there can`t be much of this sector of the Western front unchartered. I heartliy recommend this for any WW1 enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Panorama's, 18 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (General Military) (Hardcover)
As ever Peter has produced a superb book which I highly recommend to anyone who is interested in this period. Particluarly useful if you are visiting the battlefields as you can easily find locations and compare now with then. Peter is a superlative historian who worth watching out for on TV.
Martin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Incredible, Buy This Book!, 18 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (General Military) (Hardcover)
This is an incredible book and worth every penny, this is a must for anyone interested in the Great War. The book itself is a huge hardback cook in its own box, the presentation is of the highest quality and worth the price tag.

The book is full not only of incredible photos but also a vast amount of information on the war and includes a bonus DVD containing even more photos to complement the hundreds contained within the book.

After reading just part of this book its clear that the author has took the time to research the topic and some of the photos are absolutely breathtaking, the best book on the Great War I have read to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 1 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (General Military) (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my son in law and he is absolutely thrilled with it. Thoroughly recommended for all first world war enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battlefields, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book in every sense, very comprehensive, well written with hundreds of photographs. Oh yes, it is very heavy (in weight).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best photos ever., 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As I visit the battlefields on a regular base every year I will take this book with me, however, it is very large and heavy.
Peter Barton is a well known to anybody interested in the First World War, in particular via the TV.
Whast is amazing is how nature heals itself over the years. This is a must have book for reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning book!, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not a book you sit down and read. It's a book you dip in to time and time again.
Full of detail, full of photographs many of which have never or at least hardly ever been published before..
Detailed text that explains what happened, when it happened and where it happenened.
All this is further supported by detailed maps, explanatory sketches of items used by the troops and a DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought this as a gift
for Christmas
Just what i wanted
a good read
with DVD
highly recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Battlefields of the First World War (General Military)
The Battlefields of the First World War (General Military) by Peter Barton (Hardcover - 30 Oct 2008)
Used & New from: £60.46
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews