Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive Reading...Turn Off Your TV and Read It!
Compelling expose of the tactics employed by big business and commercial interests to target young people. Methods range from the sneaky/underhand to the frighteningly devious. Great that the authors have used young people's views/quotes and a variety of interesting research.

Also very readable and hard to put down.

For me, this book coupled with...
Published on 26 Dec 2009 by T. Lane

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning - contains excessive repetition
The topic is noble enough and the authors' observations are generally interesting, but what really lets this book down is the writing. Ed Mayo and Agnes Nairn constantly tell you what you're about to read followed by a recap of what you have just read. After 50 pages, it becomes insulting. It reads like a school essay which struggles to reach its minimum word target:...
Published on 16 Feb 2009 by Juan Iglesias


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive Reading...Turn Off Your TV and Read It!, 26 Dec 2009
By 
T. Lane (Weymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Consumer Kids: How big business is grooming our children for profit (Paperback)
Compelling expose of the tactics employed by big business and commercial interests to target young people. Methods range from the sneaky/underhand to the frighteningly devious. Great that the authors have used young people's views/quotes and a variety of interesting research.

Also very readable and hard to put down.

For me, this book coupled with "The Disappearance Of Childhood" by Neil Postman answers much of the questions about what is going wrong with young people in society. The book also provides some appropriate responses/solutions for society, parents and children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty good but been done better elsewhere, 14 Mar 2009
By 
O. Neale (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Consumer Kids: How big business is grooming our children for profit (Paperback)
As much as I like this sort of book, I do feel that perhaps this book was a little one-sided. I wouldn't give it two stars though because these sorts of books shouldn't be so casually rejected for attempting to change the world. Juliet Schor's Born to Buy is a better read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must read for any parent, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: Consumer Kids: How big business is grooming our children for profit (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book about a very important topic. As parents it is important to arm us with the insight in this book so we can protect our children against the tide of consumerism that they are likely to grow up in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling examiination of cynical marketing to children, 20 Nov 2010
This review is from: Consumer Kids: How big business is grooming our children for profit (Paperback)
Gripping from the first page, this is book is a compelling exposé which reveals the extent to which corporations are prepared to act in ethically dubious ways in the pursuit of profits. Although I am knowledgeable about the development of children as consumers, I was still shocked at the cynical methods used by businesses to develop children as materialistic consumers.

Highly recommended reading for parents and would-be parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning - contains excessive repetition, 16 Feb 2009
This review is from: Consumer Kids: How big business is grooming our children for profit (Paperback)
The topic is noble enough and the authors' observations are generally interesting, but what really lets this book down is the writing. Ed Mayo and Agnes Nairn constantly tell you what you're about to read followed by a recap of what you have just read. After 50 pages, it becomes insulting. It reads like a school essay which struggles to reach its minimum word target: padded to the nth degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Required Reading, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Consumer Kids: How big business is grooming our children for profit (Paperback)
This book was purchased as part of research into a sociology qualification and was a real eye-opener. It highlighted how our children are being 'stalked' by big buisness, for their spending power, in what appears to be very unethical ways. All parents, grandparents, teachers and politicians should be required to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Consumer Kids: How big business is grooming our children for profit
Consumer Kids: How big business is grooming our children for profit by Ed Mayo and Agnes Nairn (Paperback - 29 Jan 2009)
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews