Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Up to 70% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Voyage Shop now Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

27
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
on 8 August 2010
Although I've long been interested in strange goings-on, the whole subject of UFOs has never really piqued my interest - it's all so...confusing. Then I read this and after about 20 pages could see what all the fuss is about; the difference between this and other such writings on the subject is that this is wonderfully lucid and intersperses the author's own involvement in the world of UFOlogy with a terrific history of the whole history of UFO encounters and the US Govt's role in them (or not!). Unlike a lot of writers about UFO/conspiracy theories in general, Pilkington doesn't come across as a gullible nutter - the odd occasions when he realises he might be getting "in too deep" are both reassuring and hilarious. Any subject can be compelling if it's approached with genuine enthusiasm, inquisitiveness and a decent amount of research, and Pilkington has all of these in spades. He's read all those nutty books so you don't have to.

Apart from the historical aspect, the story of his and his film-making partner John Lundberg's week at a UFO conference is genuinely gripping, as much as a good detective/spy novel, and he scores some real coups getting to spend considerable time with various bizarre, shadowy figures and major players. You also get a really good idea of why people devote their whole lives to chasing UFOs and the people who may or may not be piloting them.

With all the disinformation and paranoia surrounding it, this whole UFO thing may be complex and downright baffling at times, but Pilkington makes for a charming, enthusiastic and clear-headed guide.

But then I would say that; I work for the CIA. (Only joking.)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on 6 December 2010
I lost interest in the UFO scene many years ago. The crazy theories were becoming the norm, logic had left the building. Along comes Mark Pilkington's 'Mirage Men', a book that has blown a hole through the disinformation and stitched together a coherent analysis of UFO history that makes sense. incredibly dense in parts but never overwhelming (Okay I did put the book down now and them to exclaim WOW!!!!) the book at times reminded me of Hunter S Thompson's writings (but without the drug use and a stable mind).

I loved this book and would recommend it to anyone with the slightest interest in UFO's. A very, very important book that really entertains and actually does answer some important questions.

Brilliant.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 1 February 2015
In fact the idea that there is no such thing as UFOs as an intelligent device is somehow preposterous and obsolete, it is just displays lack of deep information and knowledge. Why is that? Because when this encounters began, those devices were so ahead of time, that it was just impossible to any aircraft of ours to replicate those maneuvers. Then you would have the problem that these encounters have been held everywhere and not only in the USA.
Regarding to the idea that the cattle mutilation is a Military operation is also ridiculous, because it did not happen only in the USA, it happened massively in Britain, you would have to be even more paranoid to believe that this is a black op. You would have to consider that the wounds in lady happened in 67 with laser like devices, had to consider that some people do claim to have seen humanoids.
It is just people who cannot conceive on what is going on, and keep banging in the same old conservative theories, and play exactly on the government desires. Basically people who did not do proper research, because there are thousands of unknowns out there. How come?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
Mirage Men tackles at least in part, the sticky, controversial and exceptionally complex history of UFOs and government cover-ups. Among the rain forest of books out there purporting to explain what UFOs are (often arguing their particular case with religious zeal), anyone wanting to attempt to maintain cool objectivity while trying to root out the truth has a long hard task ahead of them. It's a task that, like those attempting to translate The Voynich Manuscript, has led some quite literally into madness.

Mark Pilkington has a long history of trying to look at the UFO phenomenon objectively; from running and speaking at UFO groups and conferences, editing the wonderful Strange Attractor Journal, to his contributions to The Anomalist and the Fortean Times, he seems like someone particularly well-placed to deal with everyone from skeptic to fundamentalist saucer-head.

"Mirage Men" is written partly as a broad history of the UFO phenomenon and partly as a philosophical and anthropological journey into the minds of those involved in it, on both sides of the security fence.

The book looks at the various secretive projects run by America's defence organisations over the years from the 1940s to the present day, including projects that were adapted upon and used (such as near-soundless helicopters and stealth bombers) and projects that were abandoned, scrapped, or vanished into further darkness (e.g. saucer-shaped craft developed from Nazi prototypes after WWII).

It reveals the various agencies' own paranoias regarding the perceived Soviet threat of the time, and exposes the furiously bitter rivalries between the numerous organisations which led to them spying on, and generating disinformation about, each other. (One example mentioned was the aerospace funding taken from the U S Air Force and handed to NASA, who an angry Air Force them blamed using disinformants for UFO cover-ups generating NASA a huge headache fielding off thousands of excitable enquiries, many of which still persist).

Most sinister however is the book's close look at the CIA's "grooming" of targeted individuals within the sprawling community of UFO and paranormal researchers, believers, conspiracy theorists and conference goers. Of particular note in the book is CIA disinformation operative Richard Doty, who the author manages to track down for an interview. Doty was responsible, at least in part, for a number of disinformation campaigns, repeatedly feeding people false CIA-generated "government insider" information to steer UFOlogists (physically and psychologically) away from genuine secret operations to have them running elsewhere to look for ET. (The author visits a mountain facility in the desert, a facade made out of scrap army materials, once used to convince the overly-nosey of a secret alien base). The CIA convinced some much respected researchers so well that they had exchange programmes going with aliens but "couldn't tell anyone", that one of the researchers eventually lost his mind and was committed to hospital.

Doty is real and showed off his credentials by getting the author and his cameraman in to US military bases to show them around, but it isn't long before the author begins to wonder if he is also being fed disinformation by the CIA.

It's a great story of UFO fanatics and who's-bluffing-who disinformation agents, one that is all the more crazy because it's a true story; the author was even contacted by his CIA contact after the interview to be informed that aliens really were here, after which he was then accused of being an MI6 agent!

Occasionally jumbled but mostly coherent (although an exception might be a few quaint pseudo-academic phrases such as "epistemological pretzel") it's a book that has a lot of territory to cover and does so without pretending it can explain everything. I get the impression that Pilkington, despite his hairy encounters with the CIA, remains open-minded about what's really going on. He also seemed to like Richard Doty much more than I did by the end of the book. But it certainly gives a clear indication of some of the things that were going on the the US military when and where flying saucers were being sighted, and suggests an explanation for the various government agencies' badly-co-ordinated, ever-changing and often conflicting public responses to questions about UFOs.

Excellent stuff.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 February 2013
The book claims that the American government have been covering up secret technologies by telling people it was UFOs. It deliberately feeds the UFO community nonsense to cause it to split and infight and look ludicrous to outsiders, also UFO groups are seen as a threat to government power in which "skillful hostile propaganda could indue hysterical behavior and harmful distrust of duly constituted authority" and need to be watched.

Down to earth explanations are given for various UFO related stuff:
Things whizzing around on radar then vanishing? Radar messing up technologies.
Flying saucers? Avro MX 1794
Glowing orbs in sky? NASA low earth communications satellites
Strange flying triangles? Flying wings such as stealth bomber.

It is true that America spends massive amounts of money on its secret black projects more in fact than England spends on its entire military. Stuff such as the stealth bomber (a flying triangle like some UFO sightings) has come from the black projects, heaven knows what else they got. Personally I think the above explanations of UFOs are not very good tho.

Despite the fact the book claims modern UFO sightings are American secret projects as far as I can tell the author appears to be neutral on if UFOs actually exist but he does not think much about people who believe in them. The author describes the people in his UFO club as loonies that fired him from being president for not believing in UFOs, there is also a quote from somebody saying people who believe in UFO are suffering from a type of mental illness called paraphrenia.
The author used to fake crop circles and saw UFO believers swear his faked crop circles were proof of UFOs. I am surprised this book has not got more bad reviews from UFO believers upset at being called loonies.

If you don't know much about the CIA and the role of disinformation in modern culture this book will be a surprise to you.

This book is quite hard to follow at times, and the author lightly skims over major UFO events such as Roswell, so don't expect to become a expert about UFOs from reading this book.

I feel this book is OK but incomplete, we cannot blame the black projects for UFOs when we don't know what the black projects are but the involvement of the American government is spreading disinformation to the UFO community is a worthwhile contribution to skeptical UFO understanding.

Also I should point out that it's quite possible for UFOs to be true and the author's claims can still be correct.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 23 November 2010
The other reviewers on this site have given more than enough information about the contents of Mark Pilkington's book, Mirage Men, so I will desist from reiterating.

All I will say is that this book is essential reading for anyone who presumes to call him/herself a ufologist. It may burst bubbles and close down entrenched ideas, but will certainly open minds.

All sensible researchers in this field, right from its inception in 1947, have wondered about how much of the UFO narrative was real, and how much........well, not real. You'll get plenty of clues in this book, some evidence and some intelligent extrapolation and speculation.

It's beautifully written in faultless English unlike many UFO and paranormal titles. For the author, it was a journey of discovery, a journey I suspect that is far from completed.

Smoke and mirrors - yes. Hot air - definitely not. If you want to treat yourself to just one UFO title, this is definitely it. Read it if you dare - not for the faint-hearted believers.

Judith Jaafar
(ex-BUFORA chair)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 10 August 2015
I had merely a casual interest in the subject of UFO's, as nearly everyone has at some point, until I saw the documentary this book is based on. The complex and bizarre folklore around the reports we've had filtered down to us are thoroughly examined and rationally discussed in this fascinating document. The major events are recalled and, with access to some of the major players in UFO history, Mark opens up a colossal can of worms. The US security forces, in a confuddling variety of names and guises, are shown to both confirm and deny at the same time that these strange visions are ET visitors. The excellent film is complex in itself, but this book really tells the story in full. Essential.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 28 August 2010
I bought a copy of Mirage Men after reading a positive review in Fortean Times. Being a fan of fortean weirdness generally but not really UFOs I wasn't too sure how much I'd like it. But I wasn't disappointed, it's a great book, detailing how the US government has obscured various covert military projects by encouraging beliefs in UFOs. The closest thing I can think of is Jim Schnabel's Round in Circles from back in the early 1990s (one of my all-time favourites). No doubt the book is going to rile the 'nuts and bolts' UFO scene like that book did the crop circle scene!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 13 October 2011
I bought this book a while ago and had it sitting on my shelf while I worked through some other books on my reading list (none of which I would I have given a 5 star review for). If I had realised what a fantastic read it was going to be I would have bumped it straight up the reading list.

This isn't just a good book about the genuinely mysterious subject of unexplained things seen in the sky, it's actually a really funny and gripping read, at times I wasn't sure if I was reading a book about UFO's or some sort of fictional spy thriller, except that Mark and John's trip to the US to attend a UFO conference and also meet the infamous government agent Rick Doty - is no piece of fiction.

Mark manages to navigate the difficult path between open mindedness and scepticism better than any other author I have ever read on this subject matter.

If you are interested in UFO's for any reason, and regardless of which side of the sceptical divide that you currently sit on - this book is a *must read*.

I don't know whether the theories laid out in Mirage Men about the extent of the intelligence community involvement in the UFO phenomena is close to truth or not but for those of us that don't feel comfortable with dismissing the subject, this is a welcome addition to the debate.

Make no mistake, this is not a debunking exercise - the heart of this mystery is as elusive and unexplained as ever but it does bring the debate back to a more rational place.

Well done Mark Pilkington, another well deserved 5 stars for you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on 10 August 2010
The Mirage Men by Mark Pilkington is probably one of the most important books on the UFO phenomenon ever written. Not only an indepth field investigation into the role played by the Intelligence Agencies in the development of the UFO Mythos from 1950 till the present time, but also a complete alternative history of the evolution of the phenomenon.

The revelations, often from the horses mouth, are stunning, a catalogue of disinfomation organised by Air Force Intelligence (AFOSI), the CIA, NSA and the FBI, sometimes in coordination but often in parallel, autonomous operations with diverse, and still mysterious motives. The immediate shared aim being the popular dissemination of stories of UFO 'crashes', alien contact and the reverse engineering of extraterrestrial technology. The main purpose of which appears to include the generation of cover stories for accidently observed secret technology or covert intelligence operations, as well as utilisation of the international UFO research community for psychological experiments / operations (and sometimes as a front for plain, old fashioned spying). The mythos appears to have become a general off the peg mirage for a variety of purposes, not surprisingly one aviation researcher at the infamous Area 51 refers to its 'UFO projects' as 'UnFunded Opportunities'. But there are stranger motives too, ranging from Cold War propaganda about captured alien technology (the Soviets always took the possibility of ET visitation seriously), through the infiltration of alternative and countercultural subcultures (deemed as 'subversive'), to bizarre plots by unknown inner groups (the Illuminati??) to influence global culture and politics through a new mythology. And of course to hide the 'real truth about the alien presence', whether we interprete that literally or just as a more sophisticated lie within a lie (it being a claim often made by the spooks themselves in moments of 'private whistle blowing'). There are some odd facts here too, such as the absurd aspects of the basic Disinfo, much of which is lifted straight from Hollywood, with plot elements from CE3, ET and the Day the Earth Stood Still plagiarised unashamedly. On the other hand many of the inside Intelligence sources seem totally convinced of an Extraterrestrial presence, even when admitting much of what is written about UFOs was fictional (though these men are of course trained liars, if not chosen for their 'paraphrenia', and info layering an established ploy). Perhaps most startling of all the deception being the fabrication of an 'alien base' in the New Mexico desert to reveal to the projects dupes. Along the way we are treated to a complete history of the American UAV Drone program and the USAF's attempts to build 'Flying Saucers', tales of Ed Lansdale's CIA backed project to create fake 'vampires' in SE Asia to terrify native insurgents (even killing a few fake 'victims' in the process), the secret behind 'cattle mutilation', and some possibly fabricated 'alien abductions'. Much mystery and high strangeness remains amongst all these revelations though, for instance the rivalry between different Agencies (particularly the spooks of the Air Force and Navy) which extends to an apparent conflict of agendas (sometimes even apparent between factions within each Service itself), something which may even have led to actual or attempted murder in the case of the Maury Island affair. The oddest element for me being the fact that the OSI agents in the latter case always refused to use the Air Force's base phones, prefering pay phones! Even wierder is the apparent emergence of 'real' UFO phenomena amid all the faking.

My only reservation with the book is despite the author's sensible position between scepticism and open mindedness (even revealing one of his own mysterious UFO encounters, predictably explained by a high ranking spook as 'one of ours') he none the less by the end of the book has swung into a sceptical stance regarding the entire UFO Phenomena. Though not surprisingly as it seems the vast majority of the classic UFO encounters may have been hyped, if not faked, by the spooks. Unfortunately this may be exactly what his informants wanted. One classic ploy in Intelligence operations is the 'Double Bubble', where an inner core of truth that needs to be hidden is surrounded by a bubble of Disinfo, which gets increasingly implausible as times goes by, or has obvious falsehoods planted within it, until the outer bubble 'bursts', and with it deflates the inner bubble of truth, discredited by association. Many commentators on both sides of the fence believe the UFO Phenomena is genuinely 'culturally destabilising' (for good or ill) and burying the whole thing would greatly please many frightened people in the Establishment. Given the end of the Cold War, and the scaling down of secret research and covert operations (to some extent), and the gradual exposure of this kind of Disinfo, we may be moving into the final phase of the fabricated UFO Myth, its use as such a 'double bubble' to terminate both the project and the unnerving phenomena behind it. While myself a committed sceptic regarding the ET hypothesis (and especially the ludicrous 'crash and contact' stories) my own experiences have led me to believe in an intelligence behind the phenomena that appears to be operating a policy of cognitive dissonance amongst us. Thus the author may have unwittingly been drawn into this operation. Though to his credit he does briefly hint in this direction, even if only to preserve his agnostic credentials and an atmosphere of mystery.

In conclusion this book is a must read for anyone who wants to understand the UFO phenomenon and its history in all its many dimensions.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


How UFOs Conquered the World: The History of a Modern Myth
How UFOs Conquered the World: The History of a Modern Myth by David Clarke (Hardcover - 14 May 2015)
£15.90
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.