Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Eye Opener, Whatever Your Prior Interest
Although I've long been interested in strange goings-on, the whole subject of UFOs has never really piqued my interest - it's all so...confusing. Then I read this and after about 20 pages could see what all the fuss is about; the difference between this and other such writings on the subject is that this is wonderfully lucid and intersperses the author's own involvement...
Published on 8 Aug 2010 by Mark Hayward

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pilkington the hoaxer gets conned by the mirage men
Some wit once observed: "The trouble with confirmation bias is that once you know about it, you begin to see it everywhere." This is the fundamental fallacy which Mark Pilkington falls for in this widely-publicised and well-written book. Whilst `Mirage Men' is not without merit and contains a few small nuggets of interest, its governing premise - that most reported UFO...
Published on 5 Mar 2011 by The Guardian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Eye Opener, Whatever Your Prior Interest, 8 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Mirage Men: A Journey into Disinformation, Paranoia and UFOs: The Weird Truth Behind UFOs (Paperback)
Although I've long been interested in strange goings-on, the whole subject of UFOs has never really piqued my interest - it's all so...confusing. Then I read this and after about 20 pages could see what all the fuss is about; the difference between this and other such writings on the subject is that this is wonderfully lucid and intersperses the author's own involvement in the world of UFOlogy with a terrific history of the whole history of UFO encounters and the US Govt's role in them (or not!). Unlike a lot of writers about UFO/conspiracy theories in general, Pilkington doesn't come across as a gullible nutter - the odd occasions when he realises he might be getting "in too deep" are both reassuring and hilarious. Any subject can be compelling if it's approached with genuine enthusiasm, inquisitiveness and a decent amount of research, and Pilkington has all of these in spades. He's read all those nutty books so you don't have to.

Apart from the historical aspect, the story of his and his film-making partner John Lundberg's week at a UFO conference is genuinely gripping, as much as a good detective/spy novel, and he scores some real coups getting to spend considerable time with various bizarre, shadowy figures and major players. You also get a really good idea of why people devote their whole lives to chasing UFOs and the people who may or may not be piloting them.

With all the disinformation and paranoia surrounding it, this whole UFO thing may be complex and downright baffling at times, but Pilkington makes for a charming, enthusiastic and clear-headed guide.

But then I would say that; I work for the CIA. (Only joking.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UFOs are interesting again, 6 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. R. C. Molyneux "Richard M" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mirage Men: A Journey into Disinformation, Paranoia and UFOs: The Weird Truth Behind UFOs (Paperback)
I lost interest in the UFO scene many years ago. The crazy theories were becoming the norm, logic had left the building. Along comes Mark Pilkington's 'Mirage Men', a book that has blown a hole through the disinformation and stitched together a coherent analysis of UFO history that makes sense. incredibly dense in parts but never overwhelming (Okay I did put the book down now and them to exclaim WOW!!!!) the book at times reminded me of Hunter S Thompson's writings (but without the drug use and a stable mind).

I loved this book and would recommend it to anyone with the slightest interest in UFO's. A very, very important book that really entertains and actually does answer some important questions.

Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epistemological Pretzel, 26 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mirage Men: A Journey into Disinformation, Paranoia and UFOs: The Weird Truth Behind UFOs (Paperback)
Mirage Men tackles at least in part, the sticky, controversial and exceptionally complex history of UFOs and government cover-ups. Among the rain forest of books out there purporting to explain what UFOs are (often arguing their particular case with religious zeal), anyone wanting to attempt to maintain cool objectivity while trying to root out the truth has a long hard task ahead of them. It's a task that, like those attempting to translate The Voynich Manuscript, has led some quite literally into madness.

Mark Pilkington has a long history of trying to look at the UFO phenomenon objectively; from running and speaking at UFO groups and conferences, editing the wonderful Strange Attractor Journal, to his contributions to The Anomalist and the Fortean Times, he seems like someone particularly well-placed to deal with everyone from skeptic to fundamentalist saucer-head.

"Mirage Men" is written partly as a broad history of the UFO phenomenon and partly as a philosophical and anthropological journey into the minds of those involved in it, on both sides of the security fence.

The book looks at the various secretive projects run by America's defence organisations over the years from the 1940s to the present day, including projects that were adapted upon and used (such as near-soundless helicopters and stealth bombers) and projects that were abandoned, scrapped, or vanished into further darkness (e.g. saucer-shaped craft developed from Nazi prototypes after WWII).

It reveals the various agencies' own paranoias regarding the perceived Soviet threat of the time, and exposes the furiously bitter rivalries between the numerous organisations which led to them spying on, and generating disinformation about, each other. (One example mentioned was the aerospace funding taken from the U S Air Force and handed to NASA, who an angry Air Force them blamed using disinformants for UFO cover-ups generating NASA a huge headache fielding off thousands of excitable enquiries, many of which still persist).

Most sinister however is the book's close look at the CIA's "grooming" of targeted individuals within the sprawling community of UFO and paranormal researchers, believers, conspiracy theorists and conference goers. Of particular note in the book is CIA disinformation operative Richard Doty, who the author manages to track down for an interview. Doty was responsible, at least in part, for a number of disinformation campaigns, repeatedly feeding people false CIA-generated "government insider" information to steer UFOlogists (physically and psychologically) away from genuine secret operations to have them running elsewhere to look for ET. (The author visits a mountain facility in the desert, a facade made out of scrap army materials, once used to convince the overly-nosey of a secret alien base). The CIA convinced some much respected researchers so well that they had exchange programmes going with aliens but "couldn't tell anyone", that one of the researchers eventually lost his mind and was committed to hospital.

Doty is real and showed off his credentials by getting the author and his cameraman in to US military bases to show them around, but it isn't long before the author begins to wonder if he is also being fed disinformation by the CIA.

It's a great story of UFO fanatics and who's-bluffing-who disinformation agents, one that is all the more crazy because it's a true story; the author was even contacted by his CIA contact after the interview to be informed that aliens really were here, after which he was then accused of being an MI6 agent!

Occasionally jumbled but mostly coherent (although an exception might be a few quaint pseudo-academic phrases such as "epistemological pretzel") it's a book that has a lot of territory to cover and does so without pretending it can explain everything. I get the impression that Pilkington, despite his hairy encounters with the CIA, remains open-minded about what's really going on. He also seemed to like Richard Doty much more than I did by the end of the book. But it certainly gives a clear indication of some of the things that were going on the the US military when and where flying saucers were being sighted, and suggests an explanation for the various government agencies' badly-co-ordinated, ever-changing and often conflicting public responses to questions about UFOs.

Excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mirage or a Hall of Mirrors?, 2 Jun 2013
By 
Simon (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mirage Men (Kindle Edition)
I don't trust grown men who get their kicks running around at night making crop circles (or claiming to, which is less effort ), and that flavoured my reading of this book. I don't believe that UFOs are a heat haze thrown up by intelligence services to hide stealth aircraft, it's more the other way around. Neither do I believe that intelligence operatives ever retire and 'speak out' - they never retire, just disappear up their own mirages.. The truth is that the 'reality' we think we live in - history, science, genetics, economics, religion, politics and technology is the mirage - we, like he author, are the Mirage Men. This book is a very entertaining light read but essentially just gossip designed to blow more smoke in your eyes. Perhaps Pilkington is more suited to running round with Ricky Gervais?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 23 Nov 2010
This review is from: Mirage Men: A Journey into Disinformation, Paranoia and UFOs: The Weird Truth Behind UFOs (Paperback)
The other reviewers on this site have given more than enough information about the contents of Mark Pilkington's book, Mirage Men, so I will desist from reiterating.

All I will say is that this book is essential reading for anyone who presumes to call him/herself a ufologist. It may burst bubbles and close down entrenched ideas, but will certainly open minds.

All sensible researchers in this field, right from its inception in 1947, have wondered about how much of the UFO narrative was real, and how much........well, not real. You'll get plenty of clues in this book, some evidence and some intelligent extrapolation and speculation.

It's beautifully written in faultless English unlike many UFO and paranormal titles. For the author, it was a journey of discovery, a journey I suspect that is far from completed.

Smoke and mirrors - yes. Hot air - definitely not. If you want to treat yourself to just one UFO title, this is definitely it. Read it if you dare - not for the faint-hearted believers.

Judith Jaafar
(ex-BUFORA chair)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes you think, 19 Nov 2010
This review is from: Mirage Men: A Journey into Disinformation, Paranoia and UFOs: The Weird Truth Behind UFOs (Paperback)
This has been the first book I have read which tries to explain many of the famous documented UFO cases of the world as government test flights of secret new aircraft and malicious covert agency tinkering of foreign state radars. After finishing the book I felt entertained and also reasonably willing to accept the premise that most if not all UFOs are of human origin. Decide for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UFOs just got a whole lot dodgier, 28 Aug 2010
By 
Roderigo (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mirage Men: A Journey into Disinformation, Paranoia and UFOs: The Weird Truth Behind UFOs (Paperback)
I bought a copy of Mirage Men after reading a positive review in Fortean Times. Being a fan of fortean weirdness generally but not really UFOs I wasn't too sure how much I'd like it. But I wasn't disappointed, it's a great book, detailing how the US government has obscured various covert military projects by encouraging beliefs in UFOs. The closest thing I can think of is Jim Schnabel's Round in Circles from back in the early 1990s (one of my all-time favourites). No doubt the book is going to rile the 'nuts and bolts' UFO scene like that book did the crop circle scene!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mirage Men, 10 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. S. J. Westcott (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mirage Men: A Journey into Disinformation, Paranoia and UFOs: The Weird Truth Behind UFOs (Paperback)
The Mirage Men by Mark Pilkington is probably one of the most important books on the UFO phenomenon ever written. Not only an indepth field investigation into the role played by the Intelligence Agencies in the development of the UFO Mythos from 1950 till the present time, but also a complete alternative history of the evolution of the phenomenon.

The revelations, often from the horses mouth, are stunning, a catalogue of disinfomation organised by Air Force Intelligence (AFOSI), the CIA, NSA and the FBI, sometimes in coordination but often in parallel, autonomous operations with diverse, and still mysterious motives. The immediate shared aim being the popular dissemination of stories of UFO 'crashes', alien contact and the reverse engineering of extraterrestrial technology. The main purpose of which appears to include the generation of cover stories for accidently observed secret technology or covert intelligence operations, as well as utilisation of the international UFO research community for psychological experiments / operations (and sometimes as a front for plain, old fashioned spying). The mythos appears to have become a general off the peg mirage for a variety of purposes, not surprisingly one aviation researcher at the infamous Area 51 refers to its 'UFO projects' as 'UnFunded Opportunities'. But there are stranger motives too, ranging from Cold War propaganda about captured alien technology (the Soviets always took the possibility of ET visitation seriously), through the infiltration of alternative and countercultural subcultures (deemed as 'subversive'), to bizarre plots by unknown inner groups (the Illuminati??) to influence global culture and politics through a new mythology. And of course to hide the 'real truth about the alien presence', whether we interprete that literally or just as a more sophisticated lie within a lie (it being a claim often made by the spooks themselves in moments of 'private whistle blowing'). There are some odd facts here too, such as the absurd aspects of the basic Disinfo, much of which is lifted straight from Hollywood, with plot elements from CE3, ET and the Day the Earth Stood Still plagiarised unashamedly. On the other hand many of the inside Intelligence sources seem totally convinced of an Extraterrestrial presence, even when admitting much of what is written about UFOs was fictional (though these men are of course trained liars, if not chosen for their 'paraphrenia', and info layering an established ploy). Perhaps most startling of all the deception being the fabrication of an 'alien base' in the New Mexico desert to reveal to the projects dupes. Along the way we are treated to a complete history of the American UAV Drone program and the USAF's attempts to build 'Flying Saucers', tales of Ed Lansdale's CIA backed project to create fake 'vampires' in SE Asia to terrify native insurgents (even killing a few fake 'victims' in the process), the secret behind 'cattle mutilation', and some possibly fabricated 'alien abductions'. Much mystery and high strangeness remains amongst all these revelations though, for instance the rivalry between different Agencies (particularly the spooks of the Air Force and Navy) which extends to an apparent conflict of agendas (sometimes even apparent between factions within each Service itself), something which may even have led to actual or attempted murder in the case of the Maury Island affair. The oddest element for me being the fact that the OSI agents in the latter case always refused to use the Air Force's base phones, prefering pay phones! Even wierder is the apparent emergence of 'real' UFO phenomena amid all the faking.

My only reservation with the book is despite the author's sensible position between scepticism and open mindedness (even revealing one of his own mysterious UFO encounters, predictably explained by a high ranking spook as 'one of ours') he none the less by the end of the book has swung into a sceptical stance regarding the entire UFO Phenomena. Though not surprisingly as it seems the vast majority of the classic UFO encounters may have been hyped, if not faked, by the spooks. Unfortunately this may be exactly what his informants wanted. One classic ploy in Intelligence operations is the 'Double Bubble', where an inner core of truth that needs to be hidden is surrounded by a bubble of Disinfo, which gets increasingly implausible as times goes by, or has obvious falsehoods planted within it, until the outer bubble 'bursts', and with it deflates the inner bubble of truth, discredited by association. Many commentators on both sides of the fence believe the UFO Phenomena is genuinely 'culturally destabilising' (for good or ill) and burying the whole thing would greatly please many frightened people in the Establishment. Given the end of the Cold War, and the scaling down of secret research and covert operations (to some extent), and the gradual exposure of this kind of Disinfo, we may be moving into the final phase of the fabricated UFO Myth, its use as such a 'double bubble' to terminate both the project and the unnerving phenomena behind it. While myself a committed sceptic regarding the ET hypothesis (and especially the ludicrous 'crash and contact' stories) my own experiences have led me to believe in an intelligence behind the phenomena that appears to be operating a policy of cognitive dissonance amongst us. Thus the author may have unwittingly been drawn into this operation. Though to his credit he does briefly hint in this direction, even if only to preserve his agnostic credentials and an atmosphere of mystery.

In conclusion this book is a must read for anyone who wants to understand the UFO phenomenon and its history in all its many dimensions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a *must read* !, 13 Oct 2011
This review is from: Mirage Men: A Journey into Disinformation, Paranoia and UFOs: The Weird Truth Behind UFOs (Paperback)
I bought this book a while ago and had it sitting on my shelf while I worked through some other books on my reading list (none of which I would I have given a 5 star review for). If I had realised what a fantastic read it was going to be I would have bumped it straight up the reading list.

This isn't just a good book about the genuinely mysterious subject of unexplained things seen in the sky, it's actually a really funny and gripping read, at times I wasn't sure if I was reading a book about UFO's or some sort of fictional spy thriller, except that Mark and John's trip to the US to attend a UFO conference and also meet the infamous government agent Rick Doty - is no piece of fiction.

Mark manages to navigate the difficult path between open mindedness and scepticism better than any other author I have ever read on this subject matter.

If you are interested in UFO's for any reason, and regardless of which side of the sceptical divide that you currently sit on - this book is a *must read*.

I don't know whether the theories laid out in Mirage Men about the extent of the intelligence community involvement in the UFO phenomena is close to truth or not but for those of us that don't feel comfortable with dismissing the subject, this is a welcome addition to the debate.

Make no mistake, this is not a debunking exercise - the heart of this mystery is as elusive and unexplained as ever but it does bring the debate back to a more rational place.

Well done Mark Pilkington, another well deserved 5 stars for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who Knows, You Might Learn Something!, 18 Aug 2010
By 
Brian Parks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mirage Men: A Journey into Disinformation, Paranoia and UFOs: The Weird Truth Behind UFOs (Paperback)
Let me begin by explaining that I am skeptical of most UFO claims. I am not looking for what "I want to believe." I have been researching the UFO subject for over 30 years, some of which involves a close association with subject matter and persons in this book. And I have concluded that "Mirage Men" is a very important book to read, with a note of caution. It involves people and events that most Ufologist carefully avoid at all costs. Sure the Government Covers-Up UFOs and Alien Visitations, but "Disinformation" is what the other guy believes and I do not! No need to look further.

Mark Pilkington was willing to look. Not without considerable bias as a self confessed Crop Circle Hoaxer. Where he wants to lead the reader becomes self evident in the first few chapters in the book. And that is his privilege as the author. My contention is that one can learn a great deal from this book without confusing an important part of the picture with the whole, as I think this author clearly does. This is an important read for Ufologists who wish to deal with the historical and government involvement with the subject.

The first flaw in the book are factual errors. If I am aware of a good number upon casual reading no doubt it has many more. Not entirely the authors fault, because they tend to be repeated and spread in Ufology without question as long as they fit certain viewpoints. For example, a single altered AFOSI document that Bill Moore was encouraged to pass on to Paul Bennewitz becomes "false documents." There were a number of documents, but they did not involve the activities against Bennewitz. Later the same document is said to have been "retouched" by Moore and given to Bennewitz. Moore did not alter this document as given to Bennewitz, and only passed it along after much hesitation and a note of caution that it might be fake. To his credit Bennewitz kept it to himself. Such false remarks might seem innocent enough, until they are repeated and spread to form conclusions about activities and people that fit certain agendas. Another example is when the author speculates that Bill Moore was "inclined" to take the NASA involvement Bait because of the astronaut sighting in the original Roswell Book. Those were added by co-author Berlitz as filler. But the misconception has it's real origin in a 1987 MUFON paper that reveals more about a certain individuals 20 year vendetta against Bill Moore personally than it does about the truth of the MJ-12 matter. A paper filled with absurd speculations based on very limited and often second hand information. And while pointing so many fingers at US Intelligence Pilkington parrots the CIA's 1997 Historical UFO explanations. Well researched Critiques of this article are not mentioned or sighted. Considerable research on the MJ-12 Documents is also missing.

Then there is the often fantastical speculation in order to get you hooked on the authors way of thinking about the UFO and Roswell "Myth." The book would have been better if the author stuck to what he knows and was told rather than drift in order to fit so much UFO history in a neat little box. The author confuses what is sometimes the intelligence communities ability at subtle manipulation of belief in place, into incredible powers of deception!

The author displays at attitude often expressed during a change in Ufology away from the ETH in the 1970's. Personally I am very open minded about alternative explanations to UFO events. One explanation for the best cases need not fit "all" when the subject is about something unidentified in multiple incidents. However, the trend at the time produced some anti-extraterrestrial attitudes that became fixed. Writers like John Keel dismissed Roswell out of hand, while at the same time repeating cases that are far more likely to be outlandish hoaxes rather than evidence of a Paranormal Haunted Planet! To this day Jacques Vallee stretches scientific sounding anti-ETH arguments to extreme limits. But if it's from another "dimension" I guess anything is possible?

If it fits your ideas then it is evidence, if not be very skeptical. You end up with the same kind of bias that such people accuse many UFO researchers of having, including this author. And indeed many of them do. The problem is these researchers obviously suffer from the same problem of blanketed explanations and trying to force fit their own perspective.

After all this, why am I telling you to buy this book? Because this rather dark area of UFO research needs to be discussed. People with strong held beliefs are indeed easily manipulated. And characters like Rick Doty do have something important to say, even if you don't believe much of what they are telling you. We also have Dr. Christopher Green who has some very remarkable insights. He also knows his way around the Intelligence Community and how government operates. Imagine if Bill Moore, Rick Doty, ect.....never talked? How much would we be capable of suspecting today concerning UFO "disinformation?"

Perhaps the author is correct, and there is little to cover-up than the government own high tech toys. But if they did have something outside of their control with very serious implications to hide, you can bet they would take active counter-intelligence measures to protect it! They might also manipulate belief in what they can't control to test the Public's Reaction. Good enough reason to give this book some serious consideration. You can put information aside until something else comes along to confirm or refute it. And study that with caution as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mirage Men: A Journey into Disinformation, Paranoia and UFOs: The Weird Truth Behind UFOs
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews