Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful practical introduction to CBT for depression
I have found this very useful to listen to in the car to and from work. The overall tone is very calm, balanced and engenders a sense of kindness to oneself which is easy to overlook in todays rushed world.

It can't replace structured CBT sessions but in my life there isn't time or the money for CBT and this is a useful halfway house, especially as prof Gilbert...
Published on 3 Mar 2009 by bigflat

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little dissapointing
I work within a CBT framework and am always looking for tools that I can give to my patients to aid their self-knowledge.

I bought this and listened to it in the car before recommending it to others.

Broadly I think the style is not great. Paul is someone who I respect (the Compassionate Mind is very useful) as an author and thinking in CBT. I found...
Published on 21 Jan 2011 by Mr. Robert Fletcher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful practical introduction to CBT for depression, 3 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Depression: Talks with Your Therapist (Audio CD)
I have found this very useful to listen to in the car to and from work. The overall tone is very calm, balanced and engenders a sense of kindness to oneself which is easy to overlook in todays rushed world.

It can't replace structured CBT sessions but in my life there isn't time or the money for CBT and this is a useful halfway house, especially as prof Gilbert possesses a rather sagacious mind.

CD1 is pretty generic depression information but CD2 is where this package really shines, and is useful to listen to several times when you need a calming practical voice.

I would also strongly recommend his self-help book on depression and his book aimed at trainees in CBT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good self help cd, 14 Jan 2011
By 
D. Johnston "D,J," (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Depression: Talks with Your Therapist (Audio CD)
Have listened to this many times.Drive for a living and listen nearly everyday.Makes a lot of sense and puts things into perspective.If you follow the methods set out i have found a change in mood.The brain is a powerfull tool and this cd offers some usefull tips on control of thought which in turn helps your mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little dissapointing, 21 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Overcoming Depression: Talks with Your Therapist (Audio CD)
I work within a CBT framework and am always looking for tools that I can give to my patients to aid their self-knowledge.

I bought this and listened to it in the car before recommending it to others.

Broadly I think the style is not great. Paul is someone who I respect (the Compassionate Mind is very useful) as an author and thinking in CBT. I found his style somewhat uninspiring, with audio books it is easy to drift off and not really hear what is being said. I found this happening to me a great deal.

On that, I would certainly set aside a 20 minute slot each day to listen to each section rather than just listening to it all in 1 or 2 sittings.

He talks you through the nature of depression and some broad ideas about the brain and lifestyle and then focuses on his ideas of kindness towards the self. He then uses lots of Mindfulness ideas. All of this is good. But, by the time I had got on to the second CD I had mostly lost my focus.

Hmmmm, I think I might just work differently to Mr Gilbert. I wouldn't focus on the Psychoeducational aspects so much and more on the maintaining cycles of Depression.

Overall, not as good as I was hoping but still useful in parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 13 Mar 2012
This review is from: Overcoming Depression: Talks with Your Therapist (Audio CD)
I found this very good and it helped me with my depression and anything that helps is good well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OVERCOMING DEPRESSION, 20 April 2011
This review is from: Overcoming Depression: Talks with Your Therapist (Audio CD)
I think this is very good reading. I personally haven't found it to work for me. However I shall read and re-read it in the hope that I can put everything that is written into practice.
It is quite possible that others will find it to be of great help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Audio Book, 15 Jun 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Depression: Talks with Your Therapist (Audio CD)
Great audio book, makes a lot of sense. The relaxation part I found very helpful and I use it often to get to sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I don't like it!, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Depression: Talks with Your Therapist (Audio CD)
It wasn't helpfull and didn't answer my questions. I don't recommend it. Also too many irrelevant informations. I don't recommed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Overcoming Depression: Talks with Your Therapist
Overcoming Depression: Talks with Your Therapist by Paul Gilbert (Audio CD - 25 Oct 2007)
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews