Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Will Stop the Show
The Honorable Daisy Dalrymple and Chief Inspector Alec Fletcher are hoping to enjoy a nice quiet afternoon at a performance of Verdi’s Requiem. The first half goes well, but after the intermission, Daisy’s neighbor, raising mezzo Bettina Westlea, takes a sip from her bottle on stage and drops dead. Alec is upset that Daisy has once again gotten involved in...
Published on 7 Jan 2004 by Mark Baker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Books
If you want a light holiday read that doesn't require any thinking then is for you. The language is all a bit twee though - spiffing and top ho gets on your nerves if you read a couple back to back.
Published 18 months ago by DJ


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful bit of whimsy, 28 Feb 2014
By 
L. M. Bott (U,K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst Daisy Dalrymple may not be the ideal detective for the crime affcionado I find the crimes she is involved in lighthearted and whimsical and perfect for the era they are set in. Daisy solves her crimes in an unorthodox way to the frustration of the real detective she has a burgeoning romance with. I have read several of the books now and intend to read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Poison flows like Champagne, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once more Daisy is in at the kill. For someone who does not care for country sports she is more often in at the kill than a Master of Foxhounds. A good yarn and the reader is kept reasonable guessing. The sort of book that amuses as much as it holds in suspense.

Once again there are too many typos and misspellings. Someone is not proof reading! That is bad and does a disservice to the author as well as the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 20's crime, 28 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would love to see how this could be transferred to the TV. Lots of different characters and keeps you guessing until almost the end to discover 'who did it' and why. Easy reading and not too much effort needed to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Books, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Requiem for a Mezzo (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
If you want a light holiday read that doesn't require any thinking then is for you. The language is all a bit twee though - spiffing and top ho gets on your nerves if you read a couple back to back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars music and passions, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Requiem for a Mezzo (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
this novel set in a musical household showed passions developing in a family and Daisy's part in them and again, the development of her feelings for Alex
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Delightful Little Novel, 1 Aug 2012
By 
Shouna Falconer (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Requiem for a Mezzo (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
The first thing I should say to anyone who hasn't read any Daisy Dalrymple books is that I think some people who have criticised them harshly have missed the point. I don't think they are supposed to be realistic portrayals either of life in the 1920s or of the police force of the period. Instead they are comical, well paced mysteries with a hint of surrealism.
All three books I've read so far have had cleverly devised settings but their plots, while interesting, have been fairly weak and improbable. So if you're looking for a prize winning crime novel, this is not for you. Nor are these books in any way literary or even well written. In fact the writing is clumsy in places and occasionally incomprehensible. And there are some simple things that the author gets wrong, such as making a welshman talk about "a wee dram".

It's the character of Daisy who makes these books good. She's such a good creation that it's hard to believe she isn't real. She's compassionate without being a pushover, smart without being arrogant and has the grace and breeding of the upper classes of the time with none of the snobbery. Her stubborn nature, as well as being essential to the plots, stops her from being too perfect. Real though Daisy is, she's surrounded by a cast of slightly unreal characters. Some of them are regulars while others make appearances in individual books, but together they make for a slightly out of focus world and it's as if Daisy herself has stepped into an alternative reality. The character interplay between the regulars is well done, as are the development of the characters and the relationships between them.

The most significant relationship is between Daisy and a Scotland Yard Detective that she meets in the first book. In this third book signficant development takes place as regards the situation between the two of them. I've already mentioned the ingenious settings. The basic premise of the books is that Daisy, a young aristocratic women, is earning her own living as a journalist. As a member of the aristocracy she gains entrance to society houses barred to most reporters, and the first two books are set in country houses where she lodges while writing articles. In this book we have a welcome change, and the murder takes place during a concert, to which Daisy and her friend Detective Fletcher have gone in their leisure time. What follows is a gentle and irresistible tale which, like the first two books, is just the right length for its content. Here is a writer who knows when to stop. Since he was on the spot at the time, Alec Fletcher takes charge, and is soon officially gifted the case, but it must be with an inward sigh on two counts. Firstly, Daisy is there and, helpful though she has been in two earlier cases, he would really rather not have her any more involved than he chooses. Secondly, almost everyone seems to have disliked the victim with an intensity. How in the world is he going to sort it out? Actually, there is a fairly obvious clue dropped, so there are no prizes for getting it right. But as I've said, it's not really an ingenious "who-dunnit" book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing Daisy, 7 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have loved the several Daisy Dalrymple books I have already read but this was oh so very disappointing. The many characters had no depth therefore I constantly forgot who was who. I'm still not sure about some of the people and worse still I didn't care about them! The plot was all very contrived. I think the end was decided at the beginning then the story written to arrive there. However the author seemed to have so many different ideas as she was writing it that she wasn't sure which was best so threw them all in. The ending was poor as "who done it" was signposted all the way. I shall read more about Daisy and Alec and hope this was a "blip" as the others I have read have been so good

I love Kindle with search, highlights and ease of download that I will put up with the odd mistake but this Kindle edition was extremely badly transcribed with very many errors, poor grammar and strange typos etc ie re view; com plain etc so much so that they really put me off the thread of the story. Must do better Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cosy, warm and familiar, 18 Mar 2012
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Daisy invites Alec Fletcher to a concert where her next door neighbour is singing - and so when murder happens on stage Daisy is, once again, in the thick of things.

This is another easy, comforting read. I like that this happens in London rather than in a country house, but all the familiar elements are here including the rather wonderful Tom Tring.

This won't challenge your brain cells in the slightest but, like the others in the series, it's gently funny, light and uncomplicated.

Ps. The Kindle edition has some irritating breaks in the words where the software seems to have had a bit of a meltdown: `are view' instead of `a review' for example, something the publishers really need to sort out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another easy read from Carola Dunn, 20 Feb 2012
By 
The Good Daughter (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Requiem for a Mezzo (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
This is the third or fourth I've read in the series and it was nice that this is one of the earlier ones - before Daisy and Alex become a proper couple. It was nice to see the early relationship between them and I shall now make a point of reading the first one. The story isn't all that strong with a host of characters that it took me a while to remember but for a light read with not too much violence it's good value for money. Maybe it's the era in which it is set but it's a gentle read full of good manners and with an often gentle reminder how things were before the advent of some of the gadgetry that we take for granted today - sweet! Of the ones I've read this is one I probably won't re-read but I enjoyed it nonetheless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Staged Death?, 20 Oct 2011
By 
Jo D'Arcy (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Requiem for a Mezzo (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
Daisy and Alec get the opportunity to go to see a performance of Verdi's Requiem at the Albert Hall and what more could a couple with a burgeoning relationship wish for on a pleasant Sunday afternoon. Pleasant it is not when one of the leading female singers stands up and gives her final performance as she sings her last breath as she collapses to the stage and dies in front of a packed Albert Hall.

Conveniently for those around, Alec is in factor Alec Fletcher of Scotland Yard. Inconveniently for him is that Daisy is the Honourable Daisy Dalrymple who seems to have had a knack lately of turning up where murders have happened. Daisy with her journalistic nose, twitching wants to help. Even more so when it is in fact Daisy's neighbour Muriel Westlea who is closely related to the dead singer. Alec is less than keen, but he knows somehow Daisy seems to be able to get people to talk to her and reveal facts without actually trying. Despite Alec's best intentions, Daisy seems determined to help in any way that she can. But she has not forgotten that her afternoon out with him has been ruined and hopes that they will be able to make up for it soon.

Family tensions are brought out in the open and enemies seem to be coming from everywhere who has something to say about the dead singer. All readers of mystery crime novels know the smell of one particular poison, but is the smell to obvious and is there perhaps more to this death than is first thought.

The third in the Daisy Dalrymple series and the perfect escapism, although it did take me a while to get into as within the first few pages a number of characters are thrown in and I was unsure of who was who and their relation with each other. That aside, a good book and I look forward to reading the next along in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Requiem for a Mezzo (Daisy Dalrymple)
Requiem for a Mezzo (Daisy Dalrymple) by Carola Dunn (Paperback - 27 Aug 2009)
£6.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews