Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Will Stop the Show
The Honorable Daisy Dalrymple and Chief Inspector Alec Fletcher are hoping to enjoy a nice quiet afternoon at a performance of Verdi’s Requiem. The first half goes well, but after the intermission, Daisy’s neighbor, raising mezzo Bettina Westlea, takes a sip from her bottle on stage and drops dead. Alec is upset that Daisy has once again gotten involved in...
Published on 7 Jan 2004 by Mark Baker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Books
If you want a light holiday read that doesn't require any thinking then is for you. The language is all a bit twee though - spiffing and top ho gets on your nerves if you read a couple back to back.
Published 14 months ago by DJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Will Stop the Show, 7 Jan 2004
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Honorable Daisy Dalrymple and Chief Inspector Alec Fletcher are hoping to enjoy a nice quiet afternoon at a performance of Verdi’s Requiem. The first half goes well, but after the intermission, Daisy’s neighbor, raising mezzo Bettina Westlea, takes a sip from her bottle on stage and drops dead. Alec is upset that Daisy has once again gotten involved in one of his cases, but he must accept her help when suspects start telling her things they refuse to tell the police. Each of them has a different chief suspect in mind, but Bettina has made enough enemies that there are plenty of lesser suspects. Will they find the killer?
This book brings 1923 London to vivid life and fills it with interesting characters. The plot does seem to get bogged down a few times with a little too much recap, but it includes a couple of nice twists and kept me guessing. My biggest complain was the ending. It felt rushed, and therefore I felt cheated.
If you enjoy mysteries with a historic setting and interesting characters, this series is certainly for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Requiem for a Mezzo (Daisy Dalrymple Mysteries), 4 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was another pleasant,'easy read'. I love the Daisy Dalrymple Mysteries, and pass them along to my daughter when I've read them.
I now own most of the series, and would recommend them to anyone who wants a book that's quite well written, but without endless pages of 'nothing' but boredom.
Daisy does it for me every time!!!!!!
Well done Carola - keep them coming, please!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 13 Jun 2003
What an insight into the artistic world. It is really rare that the Mezzo gets killed, so there are additional points for that, as it's usually the soprano. Very inventive, good background work, and who could resist the sleuthing damsel. Am definitely going to read more of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What ho?, 31 July 2010
This review is from: Requiem for a Mezzo (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
As a murder mystery fan I enjoyed this. Very light and quick to read but keeps you guessing to the last pages. Great for holiday reading and fans of Agatha Christie, Poirot, Miss Marple who enjoy mysteries set in the 1920's. On a picky note the publishers could do with a better proof reader - as a spelling bore I found it frustrating but hey that's just me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply Spiffing, 24 July 2010
By 
L. A. Hardy (Newcastle Upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Requiem for a Mezzo (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
An excellent lightweight read for fans of period mysteries. The twenties are invoked with a delicate touch, which keeps the characters entertaining and approachable. Well worth picking up for an evening's escapism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wise change of setting, 28 Jun 2010
By 
Graham R. Hill (Ilkley) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Requiem for a Mezzo (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
After the first two books in the series it rather seemed as if our heroine was set to discover a dead body in one country house that she was photographing after another. Thankfully the auther seems to have realised that not only was this going to start to feel a bit samey, but that it would become increasingly difficult to shoehorn in Daisy's two competing suitors. The action in this therefore switches to London - and an artistic milieu described as effectively as the country houses had been - and ends with a development in the Hon. Miss Dalrymple's working life that looks likely to make that the location of future books as well.

In other respects the book is essentially more of the same, but none the worse for that. Even if she doesn't push any boundaries, there is no doubt that Carola Dunn can write very nicely and the book carries one along as well as one could wish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death and Verdi, 21 Oct 2011
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Daisy Dalrymple and DCI Alec Fisher attend a concert performance of Verdi's Requiem. Unfortunately the mezzo soprano drops dead after drinking from the glass beside her. Alec immediately takes charge of the case and stops everyone leaving the Albert Hall.

The dead singer was Daisy's next door neighbour though Daisy hardly knew her. It soon become clear to both Alec and Daisy that just about all the late singer's acquaintance as well as her downtrodden sister and hen pecked husband could have had means motive and opportunity for lacing Bettina's drink with poison.

Naturally Alec wants to keep Daisy out of the case as much as possible but he soon finds that she can be very useful as people talk to her where they might not be willing to talk to the police. The large and flamboyant Sergeant Tring features in this story and he is one of my favourite characters with his hearty appetite and loud check suits. The relationship between Daisy and Alec is developing well though Daisy has yet to meet his daughter Belinda.

I really enjoy this series. It is well written with very likeable characters. All the characters, even the minor ones, are well drawn and really come to life on the page. The plot is complex and keeps the reader guessing until very close to the end because of the multiplicity of suspects and plenty of red herrings. When I looked back I could see exactly how the ending was foreshadowed though I did not see it at the time I was reading. One of the best I've read in this series so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good plot, 4 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Requiem for a Mezzo (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
Just another good read. Always enjoy carola dunn's books. Wish some more of my favourite authors would get down to writing more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The main character Daisy is one you can't help but get involved with. The books are easy to read and very entertaining. Ideal for holiday or light reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful bit of whimsy, 28 Feb 2014
By 
L. M. Bott (U,K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst Daisy Dalrymple may not be the ideal detective for the crime affcionado I find the crimes she is involved in lighthearted and whimsical and perfect for the era they are set in. Daisy solves her crimes in an unorthodox way to the frustration of the real detective she has a burgeoning romance with. I have read several of the books now and intend to read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Requiem for a Mezzo (Daisy Dalrymple)
Requiem for a Mezzo (Daisy Dalrymple) by Carola Dunn (Paperback - 27 Aug 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews