Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cracking ripper book
This is probably my favourite book on the ripper murders. It has all the facts you ever need to know about the case, loads of essays from various ripperologists on the case and has a good section on other obscure suspects thought at one time or another to have been the ripper. its a good read.
Just one thing though - the authors also have a book out called the a to z...
Published on 7 Nov. 2008 by Sauniere

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the cover!
How much if these essays and how much are fact Is impossible to decipher. This book is a collection of essays from people reputed to bracelets in their field. I used it mostly as inside view into the degradation of the Whitechapel area of London in the latter half of the 1800 s.

I found a wealth of knowledge, and very convincing arguments from ripper...
Published on 19 Mar. 2013 by Shân Ellis Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cracking ripper book, 7 Nov. 2008
By 
Sauniere (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Jack the Ripper (Paperback)
This is probably my favourite book on the ripper murders. It has all the facts you ever need to know about the case, loads of essays from various ripperologists on the case and has a good section on other obscure suspects thought at one time or another to have been the ripper. its a good read.
Just one thing though - the authors also have a book out called the a to z of jack the ripper - this is in fact the same book as this one - as i found out when i bought both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 31 July 2010
Ripperology moves quickly. It makes the microchip development seem slow. Leave the country for a while and you'll come back to a new paperback being serialised in the Daily Mail and a body being exhumed from some Suburban cemetery. By its nature therefore any "Mammoth Book" on the subject is likely to become obsolete (to a certain extent) quicker than your last Apple product. Taking this all into account, The Mammoth Book of Jack the Ripper is a value-for-money starting point on the subject. I love it, and will keep it as a reference book until such point as the suspect merry-go-round has probably went round full circle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Introduction to Ripperology, 30 Nov. 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent introduction to Ripperology for the uninitiated; likewise, it is very useful for someone, like myself, who has read about Jack the Ripper fairly extensively in the past and just needed a good brush-up before taking up the mantle of amateur detective again. Don't worry--I'm not going to name a suspect here in this review (partly because I certainly do not know the true identity of Jack the Ripper). I leave the theorizing to the writers who contributed to this book. These contributors come from different walks of life, and their proffered theories range from the ludicrous to the seemingly substantive. Thankfully, no chapters are given to Stephen Knight's wild "royal conspiracy," although it is mentioned on occasion for the purpose of repeating how ridiculous such ideas are. The subject of the Maybrick diary is broached, with a good balance of positive and negative reactions to it (personally, I think it is a fake). There is one chapter that did annoy me somewhat, even though I can understand the point of it. Basically, and I won't identify him here, the contributor argues that X was the Ripper, presents evidence (circumstantial, of course, which is really the best that any theorist can offer in this case) of why this person was the Ripper, then ends the section with a Gotcha!. See how easy it is to build a case around any "suspect," he says--while that is a valid point, anyone who has read anything about this case knows the fragility and circumstantial nature of virtually every piece of evidence extant in the field, and I for one would not have chosen to waste my time reading a chapter that, in the end, was essentially nonsense.
The first section of the book , I should point out, consists of a very useful timeline and summation of the events and evidence, what the editors call the "undisputed facts." While no single piece of evidence is truly "undisputed" among Ripperologists, this section does provide an objective look at the subject matter. It is followed by sections specifically addressing the witness statements (many of which are of course contradictory and/or unreliable, which the editors point out), autopsy reports, the controversial "Ripper letters," police views, and disputed texts. Anyone who reads through that introductory session will have a useful foundation of knowledge to draw upon when interpreting the competing theories that make up the bulk of the book. That being said, any reader would really benefit from having another source of an encyclopedic nature handy (and there are such books out there) because it can be confusing to keep all of the names straight when there are so many suspects that the contributors ask us to consider.
All in all, this is an excellent source of information on Jack the Ripper. The background information provided by the editors is quite objective and fact-oriented, which is a rare find in books on this subject. In most cases, someone decides who the Ripper surely was and then goes about finding "facts" to fit his/her theory. That is certainly what some of the contributors to this book have done. The editors, commendably, have not done that; they do not even offer any "views" on the individual theories presented here. Their "just the facts, ma'am" approach is much appreciated and welcome. While this is not the "best" book on the subject, it may well be the best introduction available to the history and myth of the Whitechapel murderer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mammoth Book of Jack the Ripper, 22 Nov. 2002
This detailed and fascinating book contains all the information you will ever need to know about 'Jack the Ripper.' A useful resource for all 'Ripperologists', it examines all the theories and evidence including the recently discovered '17 September' letter, the 'Diary of Jack the Ripper', Walter Sickert et al. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to the world of Jack, 9 Sept. 2013
By 
G. Heywood (Northamptonshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For those who are already familiar with the leading (and perhaps not so leading) suspects, and the facts behind the case, this probably isn't for you. For those who are not so well versed, this is a great book.

It starts with an timeline of events (some definitely Ripper related, some less obviously so), and then covers the facts around the murders and the main people definitely associated with the events. After that, the book provides a series of essays from different authors where they express their viewpoint on who was or wasn't the Ripper. This is the meat of the book for most people as many suspects are covered (some twice) and the selections and suspicions are explained and justified. No doubt some will seem ludicrous to you, and some will strike a chord. Overall, I found the quality of the essays somewhat of a mixed bag, but generally interesting.

Finally, there is information about the weather on the day of each murders, as well as a catalogue of TV shows, films, and books about the Ripper.

Do we find out who the real Jack the Ripper is? No, but that isn't really the point of the book (or perhaps even possible now). But it will probably inspire you to further reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not my usual reading material but nevertheless I was engrossed in the book, 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this on a whim, it was deal of the day a couple of weeks back. I was fimiliar with the story of the murders to know it's an unsolved who dunnit with a lot of potential rippers in the frame. This book brings together the prime suspects, motives, evidence and likelihood for each case. I was convinced by at least three of the suspects and by three seperate authors. A lack of pictures has made me give the book only 4 stars, if pictures were included I would boost it up to a 5 star. There is a book called The London of Jack The Ripper Then and Now by Robert Clark and Phillip Hutchinson which is affordable and is an ideal companion to this book. My last thought is on the various authors who contribute the chapters in support of their suspects, some seem to have a camaraderie others seem to be daggers drawn bent on disproving or junking the theories of others, it all adds extra spice to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the cover!, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How much if these essays and how much are fact Is impossible to decipher. This book is a collection of essays from people reputed to bracelets in their field. I used it mostly as inside view into the degradation of the Whitechapel area of London in the latter half of the 1800 s.

I found a wealth of knowledge, and very convincing arguments from ripper enthusiasts as to who dunnit. Personality I think it's far too late to point fingers, but I enjoyed each of the arguments, and the passion with which some are written.

As I downloaded the book very cheaply from Amazon I can say it had definite value for money but it isn't one of those reference books I'd pick up again just for enjoyment. It is detailed, gory and speculative, but an enjoyable enough read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The enigma lives on....., 10 May 2013
By 
Inquisio (East Anglia. Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Jack the Ripper (Paperback)
I must have read dozens of books on the subject of the 'Whitehall Murders' and, like many, the answer still proves furtively impossible to attain..... Maybe after about 40/45 years, I would have learnt my lesson as so many authors have totally plausible reasons for their take on the matter. At least this book has virtually everything known except, courtroom transcripts verbatim, plus, it does not attempt to name the culprit, just simple factual evidence in so many theories.
I just had to buy this book for the reference ability, being all together in one place at last rather than picking one book for each idea and then forgetting which one I was seeking..... is there any hope for me and others ???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!!, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been fascinated in the Jack the ripper story for many years and I've watched films,documentaries and read lots of books. This book as to be one of the best I've ever read, it mentions a lot of good suspects. James kelly and Joseph Barnett do seem good suspects. It's a shame they never caught him, but maybe they did catch him and had to release him for lack of evidence!? No forensics like DNA in those days. Tumblety was another good suspect, a woman hating uteri collector that was in whitechapel at the time of the killings!!!! A fab book I can recommend to anyone fascinated in the Jack the ripper story!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good For The Price., 6 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good Price! Good Buy! Covers Many Aspects Of The History Of This Period In History! I would Recommend This To People Who Have A General Interest In Jack The Ripper Rather Than Those Looking More Deeply Into The Facts Pertaining To These Crimes! Due To The Price, I Don't Think You Can Go Far Wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mammoth Book of Jack the Ripper
The Mammoth Book of Jack the Ripper by Maxim Jakubowski (Paperback - 24 April 2008)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews