Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An indispensible book for anyone studying British Archaeolog, 8 Oct 2000
By A Customer
As a latecomer to archaeology and what one now calls a 'mature student' I can think of no better book to have at ones side than The Handbook of British Archaeology by Lesley and Roy Adkins. Over the past five years, from an A level in Archaeology through Certificate and Diploma courses to an MA in Archaeology and Heritage, whenever I needed a 'kickstart' or guidance in a particular subject or period the Adkins book never let me down. It is the one book that I have found totally indespensible and I cannot recommend it highly enough to anyone who needs an everyday thesaurus on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff!, 1 Aug 2004
By A Customer
I bought this book because a colleague of mine had it. The content is very easy to read, easy to understand, but not incredibly in-depth, although it is a great reference book to have with you at University AND on site too. I took it to work and everyone has leafed through it.
Its one of those really good handbooks that come in useful, so if you're about to start excavating something you haven't done before, you can find it in here to have more of an idea as to what you're digging up!
Archaeologists and Archaeologists-to-be : Go buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Overdue, 19 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Handbook of British Archaeology (Paperback)
This is a long overdue update to the standard reference book for British archaeology, covering all periods from the Palaeolithic right up to the post-Medieval. It is written as an easily accessible, glossary style work that enables the reader to quickly obtain descriptive and detailed information. This book can be read in bite-sized pieces as a good quality textbook or dipped into as an authoritative reference work.
The long history of human inhabitation of mainland Britain is divided conventionally into time periods and addressed chapter by chapter. The specialist terms used by archaeologists to describe artefacts, practices, theories and interpretations are explained in a clear and concise fashion. A large number of helpful illustrations are included to inform the reader and clarify the descriptions where appropriate.
Additional chapters are included on archaeological techniques, material remains, and the organisational and legal frameworks of the modern archaeological discipline. Consequently, this book is essential reading for all amateur archaeologists, undergraduate students and metaldetectorists working in Britain today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book, 15 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This book is incredibly useful for anyone interested in archaeology, especially in Britain, because it explains all the different terms and jargon that are not always easy to find in other books. If that wasn't enough, it's also tremendous value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A splendid book!, 6 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This book covers in detail some of the finer points of British Archaeology. I recommend it to anyone wishing to dive in tho the depths of the history of Britan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended., 8 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. R. W. J. Camps (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Handbook of British Archaeology (Paperback)
I am an amateur archaeologist and this is a fantastically useful and readable book. It covers pre-historic to post-Medieval archaeology with useful basic information on history, settlement, housing, burial and material culture for each period. But more especially it is a great field guide with amazingly clear and attractive illustrations for recognizing important artifacts, building types etc. So very useful not just for archaeologists on site but in museums as well. Since this book has been updated recently by a group of young academics it also includes all the latest thinking on the different periods. Although probably not detailed enough for serious students, there is an extensive bibliography to point any one wishing to go further in the right direction, and for the illustrations alone it is worth anyone remotely interested in British archaeology getting their hands on a copy. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handbook of British Archaeology (Paperback)
This is one of the very few references books relating to British archaelogical artifacts, but is quite simply the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 18 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handbook of British Archaeology (Paperback)
I was looking for a gift for someone who is very keen on archaeology and chose this from the reviews. My friend's eyes lit up when he opened the wrapping paper and saw this, so good result.
Before I wrapped it, I had a look through it, and kept going back to have another dip and then another. I found it easy to read, but think there is enough detail and content to suit many levels of study and experience. Impressive thick book and to be honest I am thinking of getting another copy for myself just because it was so interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handbook?, 29 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handbook of British Archaeology (Paperback)
Having read this book cover to cover, I think it should be retitled.

It mentions all the finds and techniques used in the history of archaeology in the UK, but it really is just a list of them, and brief at that. I found the general style of the subject presentation to be very basic, and in some cases down-right out-dated. Some of the theories of how and why some artefacts were placed as and where they were uncovered have been superseded in just the last few years.

Rather than a handbook, this an introduction and to the subject. To be a handbook, it would have to be way more detailed and at least have more up to date content. Maybe make this volume one and lead into a more detailed series of targeted handbooks to cover the different periods and subjects.

Just an idea. More research needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Handbook of British Archaeology
The Handbook of British Archaeology by Victoria Leitch (Paperback - 25 Sep 2008)
£22.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews