Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cracking Read, 29 Oct 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden One (Paperback)
The Emersons are back in Egypt, the First World War is raging elsewhere and there is a dead body in a tomb ... typical Amelia Peabody territory.
If you've read the others you will love this one. All the usual characters are with us from Gargery the strange and unusual butler to Sethos the embarrassing illegitimate brother. Ramses and Nefret rejoice in married bliss (although it is very interesting to re-read the earlier books and see the changes in Ramses' character to make him a more useful, all round hero)and Amelia is still having dreams of Abdullah.
The villain in this novel is not the usual master criminal but the British Army and their attempts to involve Ramses in what they are doing. This is one plot line, the discovery of a new tomb replete with treasure is the other.
Maybe Amelia and Emerson are becoming unbelievable at times, but, what the hell .... this novel is funny, well written and enjoyable ... not one of the best in the series but head and shoulders above much else that is written these days !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amelia Peabody, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just love the whole series, can't stop reading them, I love the setting of Egypt. I do love books with a bit of history in them too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loving the series, 16 May 2014
By 
A. O'Loughlin (NIreland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am sad getting near the end of this series of books . We meet the third generation of the family and , needless to say , they are as colourful as the rest . I have never been to Egypt , but feel as if I have seen the pyramids through Ms Peters eyes . The mystery murder and general mayhem continue to enthral .... enjoy xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden One (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
I always enjoy books written by this author and this book
is no exception. Once you have read one of her books
You have to read them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love all of Amelia Peabody. Can never put them down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spies and hidden treasure, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another ripping yarn or as Abdullah says another year, another body. Ms Peters has managed another tall tale of mayhem. The Emersons and Vandergelts are on the hunt for hidden treasure when Ramses is not undertaking more work for the Intelligence (sic) services. It is all very good clean fun and a joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful series, 14 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am mad about Egypt and its history and to have such wonderful characters and animals just makes its perfect. I have them all on my Kindle and woud now like tohave the actual books as I would read them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What fun, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have now read the whole series. I enjoyed every one. Some are better than others but I felt a sense of great loss when there were no more. This is not great literature but it is great fun. I have been one of the irritating tourists in Egypt and loved recognising events and sites I had seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 25 Nov 2012
By 
Margaret (Roydon, Diss, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Elizabeth Peters never fails to satisfy. The ongoing saga of the Emerson family is always entertaining. I look forward to more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD FOR PEABODY FANS, 21 Feb 2011
By 
S. A. Jones "BOOKAHOLIC" (HAMPSHIRE, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden One (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
IF YOU HAVE ENJOYED OTHER PEABODY BOOKS AND ARE INTERESTED IN EGYPTIAN ARCHAEOLOGY IN THE 19TH CENTURY, TRY THIS BOOK. IT HAS A WITTY AURA TO IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Golden One (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery)
The Golden One (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery) by Elizabeth Peters (Paperback - 7 Jun 2007)
£6.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews