Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for all Amelia fans, 9 Oct 2000
By A Customer
I loved this book. It is the first time that we meet Ramses as an adult and see something of the character that he will become, especially bearing in mind the interaction with the other 'young people'. The story is typically intense, and is a jolly good read. In fact, with the development of her characters first glimpsed in this book, Peters has turned a new page in Amelia's chronicles and they just go on getting better from here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ninth Book in the Series, 23 July 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Seeing a Large Cat (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
Elizabeth Peters was born and brought up in Illinois and earned her Ph.D. in Egyptology from the University of Chicago's famed Oriental Institute. Peters was named Grand Master at the inaugural Anthony Awards in 1986 and Grand Master by the Mystery Writers of America at the Edgar Awards in 1998. She lives in a historic farmhouse in western Maryland.

The Amelia Peabody books may or may not be an acquired taste, personally I love them. They are set in Victorian times when there were still very strict rules of etiquette and polite behaviour was the norm. Although most of the books are set in Egypt, in the desert under very trying conditions and extremely hot weather the `English' way of life was still expected to be adhered to, sometimes with quite hilarious consequences.

Amelia Peabody is Elizabeth Peters' best loved and brilliant creation, a thoroughly Victorian feminist who takes the stuffy world of archaeology by storm with her no nonsense dress sense and forthright opinions.

Once again Amelia Peabody and her family return to their beloved Egypt. They are excited that they have a license to excavate a tomb in the spot that all archaeologists would love to dig, the Valley of the Kings. However they are not working on the exciting find of a new tomb but on clearing one that has already been opened. Emerson is approached by an American, Colonel Bellingham, to come to work for him, but Emerson works only for himself and is not slow in telling the Colonel this. To complicate matters the Colonel's daughter, Dolly needs someone to chaperone her and sets her sights on Ramses (in this book Ramses, Nefret and David are at the young adult stage).

The family is also passed a note warning them to stay away from a tomb that does not exist. Amelia and Emerson realise that there may be a hidden tomb, as the note suggests. Eventually their search brings them to the tomb and it contains a mummy. But this is no ancient Egyptian. This person had died and been mummified in the last decade . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ninth Book in the Amelia Peabody Series, 25 Jun 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Elizabeth Peters was born and brought up in Illinois and earned her Ph.D. in Egyptology from the University of Chicago's famed Oriental Institute. Peters was named Grand Master at the inaugural Anthony Awards in 1986 and Grand Master by the Mystery Writers of America at the Edgar Awards in 1998. She lives in a historic farmhouse in western Maryland.

The Amelia Peabody books may or may not be an acquired taste, personally I love them. They are set in Victorian times when there were still very strict rules of etiquette and polite behaviour was the norm. Although most of the books are set in Egypt, in the desert under very trying conditions and extremely hot weather the `English' way of life was still expected to be adhered to, sometimes with quite hilarious consequences.

Amelia Peabody is Elizabeth Peters' best loved and brilliant creation, a thoroughly Victorian feminist who takes the stuffy world of archaeology by storm with her no nonsense dress sense and forthright opinions.

Once again Amelia Peabody and her family return to their beloved Egypt. They are excited that they have a license to excavate a tomb in the spot that all archaeologists would love to dig, the Valley of the Kings. However they are not working on the exciting find of a new tomb but on clearing one that has already been opened. Emerson is approached by an American, Colonel Bellingham, to come to work for him, but Emerson works only for himself and is not slow in telling the Colonel this. To complicate matters the Colonel's daughter, Dolly needs someone to chaperone her and sets her sights on Ramses (in this book Ramses, Nefret and David are at the young adult stage).

The family is also passed a note warning them to stay away from a tomb that does not exist. Amelia and Emerson realise that there may be a hidden tomb, as the note suggests. Eventually their search brings them to the tomb and it contains a mummy. But this is no ancient Egyptian. This person had died and been mummified in the last decade . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 14 May 2014
By 
Wendy Jones "wjones7423" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This book takes us back to Egypt in 1903, with another cracking Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery. Previously I have reviewed another of Elizabeth Peters books, The Last Camel Died at Noon, in which there was a plethora of rather recalcitrant camels. In contrast, this book is riddled with cats. Now, please don't get the impression that this is a book about cats, as it is not, but they do feature rather heavily. For lovers of these books I have to forewarn you that the cat Bastet has been accompanied by Styx to the other side. Never fear, there is a replacement who is just as full of character.

So preliminaries over, what about the book. Amelia Peabody is an aristocratic Englishwoman who is married to an archeologist. She herself is not only an archeologist, but an amateur sleuth. Wherever, she goes she always manages to trip over a dead body. In this book she, her husband, and a large cast of family members discover a new tomb. Funnily enough there is a body inside. This leads to another jolly good jape, full of murder, intrigue and mysterious characters. All the characters are well represented and, of course, given the time and place, exotic. I could picture them perfectly. In many ways the characters are caricatures and larger than life, yet somehow realistic. A difficult trick to pull of but Elizabeth Peter's manages it.

The plot is excellent with a number of red herrings and side turns. This kept me reading, and turning just one more page. The sign of a good murder mystery. This is top notch book which I can highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say?, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't stop reading Amelia and Emerson. I get so engrossed that I hear nobody talking to me. So enthralling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amelia & family are back in Egypt excavating lesser known tombs but, as usual, their path is strewn with crime. This is a fun read with the children having more prominence than before and an easy way to pass a few hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 14 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am mad about Egypt and its history and to have such wonderful characters and animals just makes its perfect. I have them all on my Kindle and woud now like tohave the actual books as I would read them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful read as always.This book transported me away to Eygpt a really lovely way to spend a rainy day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My rating, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seeing a Large Cat (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
One of my favourite authors and a very good read. I do not want to write any more words I have said enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seeing a Large Cat (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
I always enjoy books written by this author and this book
is no exception. Once you have read one of her books
You have to read them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seeing a Large Cat (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery)
Seeing a Large Cat (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery) by Elizabeth Peters (Paperback - 26 April 2007)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews