Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peters has created a plethora of comical zany characters.
In TROJAN GOLD Peters has nearly outdone herself with a whole roster of eccentric zany characters who are all competing with each other to find some of the ancient gold of Troy that has been hidden by an earlier archeologist. They've been mailed mysterious clues, and Vicky's is blood-soaked. They all lie, cheat and backstab their way to an interesting and unexpected...
Published on 13 Dec. 2001

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad effort
Having read and enjoyed Elizabeth Peter's Amelia Peabody series I jumped at the chance to explore another heroine and her dealings with the shady archeological world. Ms Bliss lacks Ms Peabody's wit and acumen but the story itself gallops along at a cracking pace and the characters are funny and believable. Vicky has been mailed a photo of a woman wearing the famous...
Published on 18 Jun. 2003 by Magicmoon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad effort, 18 Jun. 2003
Having read and enjoyed Elizabeth Peter's Amelia Peabody series I jumped at the chance to explore another heroine and her dealings with the shady archeological world. Ms Bliss lacks Ms Peabody's wit and acumen but the story itself gallops along at a cracking pace and the characters are funny and believable. Vicky has been mailed a photo of a woman wearing the famous jewels of Helen of Troy which have been missing since the end of the 2nd World War. However the wearer is not Mrs Schliemann but an unknown. Can Vicky find the clues to her identity and thwart the help/hinderance of her colleagues who have been sent the photo also? Will the enigmatic John Smythe help Vicky out or be unable to resist claiming the gold for himself? Several deaths later and a snowy mountain Christmas Eve showdown provides the setting for unmasking the culprit. I have given the book 3 stars as I think that the ending is rather brief and unsatisfactory, still I am hooked enough to give the rest of the series a shot. In short, good but could have been so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peters has created a plethora of comical zany characters., 13 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
In TROJAN GOLD Peters has nearly outdone herself with a whole roster of eccentric zany characters who are all competing with each other to find some of the ancient gold of Troy that has been hidden by an earlier archeologist. They've been mailed mysterious clues, and Vicky's is blood-soaked. They all lie, cheat and backstab their way to an interesting and unexpected denouement. The happiest ending goes to Clara, the kitty-cat. This is a must read for Peters fans. ---trystan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kathleen Turner IS Vicky Bliss, 21 Jan. 1999
By A Customer
This is the best audio book I have heard in several years. Kathleen Turner becomes Vicky Bliss in this wonderful interpretation of the novel. Her characters are consistent, and her dialect is excellent. Add that to the already wonderful text of the Peters novel, and you have a terrific companion for car trips or long walks.
Elizabeth Peters (Barbara Michaels/Barbara Mertz) has long been one of my favorite authors, and this unabridged audio book takes her work to an even higher level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable series, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cannot remember the details, despite reading it quite recently, but I do know the housework suffered until I finished all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read., 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly entertaining. Interesting characters and events keep the story rolling along. An excellent read . If you enjoy the Amelia Peabody mysteries you will like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pyramids intrigue plus murder, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Vicky Bliss is a reluctant heroine and a bit slow for a clever person.
I really enjoyed all the twists and the action in a historic setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars first of the vicky bliss series, 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book probably the best in the vicky bliss series, I love vicky and all her friends , mildly ott as all elizabeth peters books are but lots of fun and excitement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 23 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Gold (Vicky Bliss) (Paperback)
I always enjoy books written by this author and this book
is no exception. Once you have read one of her books
You have to read them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant fast paced, 11 Sept. 2010
By 
A. maxwell "ABM" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trojan Gold (Vicky Bliss) (Paperback)
This is part of a series of books which combines romance, humour and adventure. They will make you laugh out loud in parts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So Different, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Gold (Vicky Bliss) (Paperback)
The book is in excellent condition, this writer mystery! is so different but enjoyable too. Do give her a try
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trojan Gold (Vicky Bliss)
Trojan Gold (Vicky Bliss) by Elizabeth Peters (Paperback - 30 Aug. 2007)
£6.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews