Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POWs - The True Story, 18 Nov 2009
By 
J. Filmer (Chatham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitler's British Slaves (Paperback)
This book is a must for all those people who have seen 'The Great Escape' and 'The Colditz Story' and believed that was the true POW experience in WW2. Read this and realise how most POWs were employed as slave labourers, often working down mines for 12 hours a day. The book is a harrowing account of the abuse they suffered.
The subject deserves to be more widely known, to help people understand the realities of what these brave men endured. Some were prisoners in Germany for 5 years! I doubt if any have been able to forget their experiences.
Once again, Mr Longden has told a forgotten story of WW2 - and told it brilliantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitler's British Slaves - A Cracking Read, 18 Dec 2005
By 
Graeme Simson (Irthlingborough, Northamptonshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
You've seen the Great Escape and the Wooden Horse - now read the truth. Who knew British and Commonwealth POWs worked at Auschwitz or were forced to work without wages and starvation rations in German armament factories.
It's all there These were the blokes who could just walk out the camp gates but chose to come back as they didn't know where they were. Can't wait for his next book. I'm not usually into military history but its scholarly and entertaining -a cracking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitlers British Slaves, 9 Mar 2012
This review is from: Hitler's British Slaves (Paperback)
My Father was captured at St Valerie, he was 20 years old a Seaforth Highlander. I knew the bare bones about his capture and captivity, any reference was always to the Death March, he and a couple of friends who were captured with him kept in touch and they would joke occasionally about using Dad's socks to boil any rats they caught as they had less holes than theirs. I know one of them passed out on the march (TB) and the two others carried him for the rest of the way, true friendships. A wonderful book, well written and telling those of us who always wanted to know the facts of captivity. One Highlander was a gentle giant well over 6 ft and the guards were afraid of him, They set the dogs on him and the others had to watch as they ate him alive, I was never allowed near Alsatians. Many small questions were answered by this book, my father died aged only 63 his heart weakened by his wartime experiences, and like all the others he never really spoke of his experiences, so this book took the place of the chats we should have had, had he lived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, the true story!, 19 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Hitler's British Slaves (Paperback)
After so many years, finally someone has written a book that goes to the heart of the POW experience in WW2. In this book the only tunnels are those in coal mines! I was shocked to see how much the prisoners suffered in Germany. It makes you realise how they must have been annoyed by those post-war films in which officers try to escape from POW camps.
Obviously the reality (as shown in this book)was far different.
My favourite bits was actually the counterbalance to the suffering: the stories of their sex lives with German and Polish women. It does make you wonder. Also, I liked the way the prisoners did their best to keep up morale: lice catching contests, farting competitions and even measuring certain parts of their anatomy to see who was the largest in the camp (you couldn't make it up!)
Essential reading for anyone who thinks they know the story of WW2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not to be missed, 1 Jun 2009
By 
Jeffrey Hodson (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitler's British Slaves (Paperback)
An excellent and informative read. Whilst most people are aware of the extreme conditions suffered by POW's in the Far East this is the first time I have seen any reference to those who suffered under German "protection". The impression left by numerous post war POW films such as "The Wooden Horse", "The Great Escape" and "Colditz" is completely shattered as this book deals with the conditions suffered by NCO's during the period of their capitivity. The book and personal recollections of those who were there dispels any thoughts that the POW's were living in the luxurious surroundings shown in the popular studio films. The Geneva convention was clearly ignored by many of those who were overseeing the POW's.
There is an element of humour in the book that can only come from those who lived through the experience whilst the bleakness of the conditions suffered in the camps. mines and forced labour groups is never far away.
The help given to the POW's by the local population (in some cases everyday Germans) also comes through in the tales recounted by those who were there.
Having read the book I feel that I can now understand why those that lived through the period of confinement may still have a hatred for some members of the older generation of Germans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jimbo, 26 Sep 2010
By 
Another good book by Sean Longdenwell worth reading to anmyone with an interest who had a relative who was a "Kreigie"in Germany in World War two - very interesting and Sean has researched this book very well.A good companion book to his other book "Dunkirk the men they left behind" which I would recommend as an even more compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all WW2 fans, 18 Jun 2010
By 
This is one of the most genuine books you will ever read about prisoners of war. It is a 'warts and all' version of the mythology of world war 2. There is little space for escape tunnels - instead it focuses on violence and misery. The perfect book for anyone who wants to understand what a family member went through a a POW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a real eye-opener, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I, like many other British people, believed that POW life was as portrayed in films like 'The Great Escape'.
This book, and 'Dunkirk, the men they left behind' has given me a more accurate insight into the atrocities committed by the Nazis. These books are a 'must read' for anyone wanting to have a true reflection on life as a POW under the Nazi regime and the disgusting way in which successive British governments failed to recognise the sacrifices these brave men made as a result of diabolical inefficiency and ignorance by the British ministers and senior staff officers in the run up to WW2 and the debacle of Dunkirk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars slaves, 5 Oct 2013
By 
G. I. Forbes (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
During the second world war nearly 200,000 British and Commonwealth service personel became prisoners of war in Germany.Those under the rank of sergeant were require to work while officers did not leading to the myths portrayed on tv and film that life as a prisoner was easy.
The true picture was oone of starvation,beatings,cold,forced marches and stealing.All this is told in excellent detail by the authur who relied heavily on reminisences.
Well written and researched while the photographs which must have been taken with difficulty add poinancy to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gifts, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitler's British Slaves (Paperback)
Books purchased as gifts, one for gentleman who actually was one of the British slaves, and for my son who has become friends of the ex prisoner of war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitler's British Slaves
Hitler's British Slaves by Sean Longden (Paperback - 30 Aug 2007)
Used & New from: 4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews