Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death of a Pope
Albino Luciani was elected Pope and chose to be Pope John Paul the First. Not only becoming the first double name in the history, but also appended the first to it. He was known as the "Smiling Pope" and though his reign was the second shortest in history, only 33 days, he was loved the world over. This wonderful Pastor would have taken the Church back to its Gospel roots...
Published on 7 Oct. 2007 by M. A. Ramos

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Can't really follow the whole thing - complex.
Maybe more background required before you start this?
Published 2 months ago by Rockola43


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death of a Pope, 7 Oct. 2007
By 
M. A. Ramos (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In God's Name: An Investigation into the Murder of Pope John Paul I (Paperback)
Albino Luciani was elected Pope and chose to be Pope John Paul the First. Not only becoming the first double name in the history, but also appended the first to it. He was known as the "Smiling Pope" and though his reign was the second shortest in history, only 33 days, he was loved the world over. This wonderful Pastor would have taken the Church back to its Gospel roots where it belongs. He was truly a Man of God. And you could see from his 33 days as Pope that he would have been the greatest Pope ever in the eyes the world.

This book builds a very good case showing that Pope John Paul I was murdered, as many has always thought. It also exposes the corruption both within the Vatican and in the Diocese of Chicago during the years covered. All his research show ties between the Vatican, the Mafia and the Freemasons tied to financial corruption. Documented proof is uncovered and other governments have tired to act on them, but they are blocked by the Curia according to the book.

The author names those involved in the illegal and immoral acts and their motives and opportunity to have Pope John Paul I killed. The author leads the reader to see that it is no coincidence that the Pope was killed the evening before he was going to clean house. Though I was surprised by how obvious the cover-up and lies were according to what we read here. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History of the investigation into the murder of John Paul I, 30 Jan. 2014
This review is from: In God's Name: An Investigation into the Murder of Pope John Paul I (Paperback)
Having followed Albino Luciani for thirty years of his ministry and for as many years after his death, I thought it might be helpful to set forth the historical record of investigations into the unwitnessed death of a man whose physical exam just three months earlier had declared him to be in exceptional health.

On the heels of the sudden and unwitnessed death of the youngest pope to die in four hundred years, Zottola & Pena published `They Have Murdered the Pope: Operation Pigeon' driven by what was at the time the most obvious motive for murder: John Paul's threat of economic movement toward Marxism in the west and liberal reformation within the Church. The book--a novel--came remarkably close to the truth in its fictional creation of `Operation Pigeon'--a blend of curia cardinals and capitalistic powers and the disappearance of Vatican Bank money in Central America.

In 1984, Yallop made the case for murder. In `In God's Name' he offers the hypothesis: three archbishops--Marcinkus, Cody and Villot--conspired in the Vatican bank scandal to the benefit of three Mafia types--Calvi, Sindona and Gelli. John Paul was murdered because an audit he ordered of the Vatican bank would have exposed transactions which exploded in the press four years later as the `Great Vatican Bank Scandal'--the Vatican transferred hundreds of millions of dollars to Nicaragua (believed to have gone to the Contras to overthrow the communist Sandinistas government). Much to his credit, Yallop revived the liberal identity of the 33-day Pope particularly as it concerned itself with contraception; something the Vatican had gone out of its way to annihilate.

In 1985, the Vatican fabricated a `bio-brief' and distributed it through anonymous clergy in Catholic countries to dispel Yallop's claim of murder. To support death due to natural causes, the `fraud' claimed he had lived his life in such poor health as if a respirator was required to keep him alive from day to day. Conversely, he was an accomplished mountaineer requiring a powerful respiratory system; the six mounds in his coat-of-arms represent the six peaks for which holds the speed record. Nevertheless, this `fraud' has served as the framework for a flood of `biographies' written by various clergy since.

In 1988, Avro Manhattan wrote `The Dollar and the Vatican' in which he presents the hypothesis: The conspiracy that planned the Great Vatican Bank Scandal was the same conspiracy that plotted the Murder of John Paul I. Unfortunately, Manhattan died before tribunal and other investigations into the surreptitious goings-on in the Vatican 1978-1981 proved his case. Manhattan wrote the all-time Vatican-bestseller The Vatican and World Politics.

In 1989, John Paul II commissioned John Cornwell to write 'A Thief in the Night: Life and Death in the Vatican' to dispel rumors caused by Yallop and Manhattan. In exchange for access to Vatican witnesses, Cornwell would conclude John Paul died of pulmonary embolism; heart attack having been roundly ruled out by the medical community. Whereas Cornwell fails to prove embolism, he does poke a hole in Yallop's motive. He cites the testimony of courts that tried the Great Vatican Bank Scandal that proved the first transaction in the bank scandal took place under the reign of John Paul II--a month after the death of the 33-day Pope. The audit could not have uncovered transactions which had not yet occurred.

In 2013, Lucien Gregoire The Vatican Murders: The Life and Death of John Paul I --employing a barrage of testimony of the courts together with medical and criminology advancements not available to the others when they wrote their books--proves Avro Manhattan's thesis: The conspiracy that planned the Great Vatican Bank Scandal was the same conspiracy that plotted the Murder of Pope John Paul I.

This makes sense. Early in his papacy John Paul I announced his support for the revolution of the poor in Central America against the ruthless coalition of the United States and ruling Juntas going so far as to announce that he himself would lead the upcoming Puebla Conference in Mexico. Too, it was clear he was on rapid path to change doctrine in those cases it imposes unfair restrictions of the lives of innocent people: women, homosexuals, illegitimate children, etc. As he so profoundly put it in his acceptance speech: "...for God-given human life is infinitely more precious than is man-made doctrine."

John Paul II was just the opposite. Shortly after his election, the Polish Pope raised the first $383 million from unsuspecting investors in the Great Vatican Bank Scandal and transferred it to Nicaragua to finance the rising of the Contras to crush the revolution of the poor in Central America. What's more, he toured Central America telling the people to stop supporting the revolutionaries and defrocked priests who had led the revolution. Too, for the 27 years of his papacy he kept women, homosexuals and other oppressed peoples in their place.

By a remarkable turn of events, all this has come back to the first thing that came to mind on the heels of his assassination: John Paul's threat of economic movement toward Marxism in the west and liberal reformation within the Church.

Except for the Vatican fraud, these are all good books. Gregoire--a one-time acquaintance of the 33-day Pope--includes a complete biography of this pope in his book consistent with the bio-briefs in `In God's Name' and `A Thief in the Night.' The reason it is a much bigger book--two books in one book. Out-of-print Zottola-Pena novel is in Spanish only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In God's Name: An Investigation into the Murder of Pope John Paul I (Paperback)
received the book in excellent condition and quite prompt also.
thank you for an absolutely brilliantly shocking read. a fantastic insight into corruption
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great piece of investigative writing, 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In God's Name: An Investigation into the Murder of Pope John Paul I (Paperback)
This is my 4th copy having given previous 3 away to others to read! it is detailed, credible, and disturbing. Yallop writes with an engaging style and leads you by the hand through the arcane world of the Vatican on a mystery as convoluted as any fiction might conjure up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where there's smoke there's (Hell) fire!, 22 Mar. 2014
By 
Ivor Faulkner (Republic of Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In God's Name (Kindle Edition)
Yallop has authoritivelly marshalled all the relevant acts to support his prosecution of his case against Marcinkus,Gelli,Cali etc.for their complicity in the murder of the Pope.And he is not anti-Catholic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten mystery., 9 Sept. 2014
By 
J. C. Drake "j.c.d." (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In God's Name: An Investigation into the Murder of Pope John Paul I (Paperback)
A wonderful story of a surprise choice for the papacy who never got the chance to set the church on a course to redemption.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frightening if true, 11 Mar. 2007
By 
J. Mellor "stayleyvegas" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In God's Name: An Investigation into the Murder of Pope John Paul I (Paperback)
true story about corruption within the Vatican. A book I have read several times and each time I pick up on something different.

The accusations he makes against the Vatican are frightening and unbelieveable: corruption, money laundering & murder amongst other things. He started the book at the request of an unnamed source within the Vatican to investigate the murder of Pope John Paul I, Albino Luciano, known as "The Smiling Pope" who was found dead 33 days after his election in 1978.

It was the author's conclusion that the Pope was murdered and the evidence for this is presented in this book.

This book is frightening, fascinating and disturbing. At times it is very detailed but this is a measure of the research that has gone into it.

Originally released in 1984 and to date not one singular accusation by the author has been disproved. All accusations he has made remain undisputed. Is this because the evidence he presents points to the truth??

Whatever your views on the Vatican before reading this book then there is a strong chance your views will change afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good in places, 10 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In God's Name (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book and it made a very compelling case for the claim that Pope John Paul 1 was murdered. However some of it was quite heavy-going, in particular the chapter that dealt with all the financial information, as I'm not a very financially-minded person. Also there were a lot of names to deal with (and remember) for future reference later on in the book.

I felt that it could have been a bit shorter as some of the parts after the Pope's death seemed to repeat a lot of information already covered.

Overall a very interesting and thought-provoking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute power corrupts absolutely, 26 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In God's Name (Kindle Edition)
Albino Luciani was doomed the moment he became Pope. It was a job he did not want, in fact he prayed to God that someone else would be elected rather than him. Albino was a scholar, a linguist, a family man and a man of great humility. As Patriach of Venice he was expected to embrace some of the rituals and monied splendour of the Roman Catholic church. He set them aside and went about his life as a normal working priest. When he became Pope he was faced with the Vatican involvement of the Mafia, the Freemason movement and International Banking. And that opened a very large can of worms.

David Yallop describes unemotionally, in great detail and with great clarity the events leading up to Albino Luciani's death and the events which took place during the following years. It is mindblowing stuff. There are photographs in the book of the bodies of men who met with violent deaths. David has written about horrifying events which were never meant to come to the public eye. I think he has been very brave to do so.

Once again I say 'Absolute power corrupts absolutely'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Vatican is a miniature version of the world, same crap - smaller scale, 10 Mar. 2015
By 
Mr. Wayland J. G. Sothcott (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In God's Name: An Investigation into the Murder of Pope John Paul I (Paperback)
You can probably guess whats in this book if you think really really cynically. Poor John Paul the first was a really good bloke and he would have sorted out the Vatican....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In God's Name: An Investigation into the Murder of Pope John Paul I
In God's Name: An Investigation into the Murder of Pope John Paul I by David A. Yallop (Paperback - 5 April 2007)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews