Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Darkest Hour
Having enjoyed Piece of Cake I read this with great interest knowing full well that this was non-fiction. Robinson seeks to disprove the 1940 Myth whilst going out of his way to smash the theory (however small) that Germany might have landed on our shores. Certainly, this is revisionist. Every chapter disproves the seriousness/ the chance of invasion in a different way...
Published on 29 Jan 2007 by M. P. Crowther

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read the novel - same arguement, more fun
Piece of Cake is one of my all time favourite novels. Towards the end of this story several of the characters are discussing over breakfast the current outcome of the 'Battle' and the impending invasion of England.

Unfortunately Mr Robinson seems to have taken that novels conversation and extended it into a full length text. While Invasion did contain some...
Published on 20 April 2006 by Craig Simms


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Darkest Hour, 29 Jan 2007
By 
M. P. Crowther "Writer-historian-student" (Aylesbury, Bucks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Invasion, 1940: The Truth about the Battle of Britain and What Stopped Hitler (Paperback)
Having enjoyed Piece of Cake I read this with great interest knowing full well that this was non-fiction. Robinson seeks to disprove the 1940 Myth whilst going out of his way to smash the theory (however small) that Germany might have landed on our shores. Certainly, this is revisionist. Every chapter disproves the seriousness/ the chance of invasion in a different way. Yet, I find myself disagreeing over whether it was the RN that actually stopped Hitler.

I finished this concluding that a little myth telling cannot hurt.

Nonetheless, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Never in the field of human conflict"? - not quite, 30 July 2007
By 
A. Johnston (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invasion, 1940: The Truth about the Battle of Britain and What Stopped Hitler (Paperback)
The prevailing view of history, largely based on propaganda from the Churchill government of the time, is that plucky little Britain was only saved from the clutches of Naziism by the valiant, outnumbered, RAF (with assorted other nationalities thrown in).

Rubbish.

Derek Robinson's revisionist history of the invasion scare opens up other areas of investigation, such as the power of the Royal Navy - dwarfing any possible German attack - and the ineptitude of the German running of the war in 1940. While never denigrating the memory of the RAF pilots, he shows very well that had the RAF been wiped from the air in the South East of England in 1940, any invasion fleet would have either been utterly annihilated in the channel or would have landed so few troops that the British Army, despite its desparate shortages, would have been able to contain and destroy them at leisure.

Telling people that there was no threat would not have galvanised the country, so it's entirely understandable that the story of "The Few" became the accepted view for many years.

Robinson is not the first to come up with this alternative point of view, but possibly more well known than others. He also goes slightly overboard with the sarcasm at times for my liking - it is a non-fiction book after all - but is worth 4 stars as an eye opener; an informative and entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invasion, 1940: The Truth about the Battle of Britain and What Stopped Hitler (Paperback)
Don't like the phrase 'must read' but I'll use it. A must-read if you are into this area. It is a excellent and welcome corrective to the 'Few' narrative, not through any complex conspiracy theory/ great new revelation, but using common sense, I found myself thinking "yes that's actually a bit obvious, why didn't I think of that before" quite a lot.

It covers a fairly limited area and one basic question, but does it very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have been researching the Battle of Britain for many years. Derek Robinson has given us the best all round review.., 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invasion, 1940: The Truth about the Battle of Britain and What Stopped Hitler (Paperback)
I have been researching this period since it happened. I was there as a ten year old. Derek Robinson as a trained historian has given us, for the first time, new information and a fully rounded view of the contribution of all the services. He also gives new material on the plans and logistics of Sealion. However I have information and am intending to write a book sometime on the German plan for an encirclement of British forces when the invasion on the Kent coast had been successful.
Although Derek Robinson believes the Royal Navy would have wiped out the invasion fleet I think stuka dive bombers beyond the range of Spitfires would have accounted for a fair number of the Navy ships. I intend writing to him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars said to be great, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invasion, 1940: The Truth about the Battle of Britain and What Stopped Hitler (Paperback)
Thanks for the excellent service. I cannot tell what the book is about as it was a present for my friend who's a great Robinson fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A new view point, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. M. A. Kelly "beano390" (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invasion, 1940: The Truth about the Battle of Britain and What Stopped Hitler (Paperback)
This does not disparage the effort and success of Fighter Command but it does question whether the Nazis could have succeeded in invading even if they had won the Battle of Britain. Well written and thought provoking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good HISTORY book NOT a NOVEL!, 8 Nov 2005
By 
Mr. R. J. Ellis "lokiking" (East London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Invasion, 1940 (Hardcover)
Derek Robinson has used his vast knowledge about the RAF during 1940 to write a book that totally dispels the myth that the RAF was the only thing between the Nazis taking over the U.K.
It was refreshing to read a book that suggests that the Royal Navy posed more of a threat to the German Armed Forces than the RAF did. The German preparation was woefully inadequate, two months, compared to the allies who spent 2-3 years preparing.
We as a country were never in any danger of ever being invaded in 1940, merely due to German incompetence.
This book is not a novel and therefore has little humour, but it is history book, which explains why the Navy should be given a lot more respect. The RAF deserves respect as well - those who gave their lives defending this country. But ultimately German control of the air would not of given it superiority of the sea, that always belonged the elder service - that has always protected this country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pith and sarcasm redux, 10 Jun 2006
By 
Timothy Spence (Yerevan, Armenia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Invasion, 1940 (Hardcover)
Far from stepping back with a historian's objective eyeglasses, DR is at times biting in his criticism and often curmudgeonly in his delivery. His crisp writing makes for a quick, easy read, but I feel that I am diving into one of his novels, replete with pith and sarcasm, and not an historian's assessment of a very important 'what if'. However, it is difficult to argue with his conclusions, and obvious as they are, the Battle of Britain will continue to be cloaked in mystique for eternity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read the novel - same arguement, more fun, 20 April 2006
By 
Craig Simms "MudCrab" (Adelaide, South Oz) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Invasion, 1940 (Hardcover)
Piece of Cake is one of my all time favourite novels. Towards the end of this story several of the characters are discussing over breakfast the current outcome of the 'Battle' and the impending invasion of England.

Unfortunately Mr Robinson seems to have taken that novels conversation and extended it into a full length text. While Invasion did contain some interesting insights into 1938 political views, overall I found the reading a bit lightweight and nothing that I did not already know.

If you know nothing at all about the Sealion invasion then this book may be of interest, but then only in the paperback version. Otherwise spend your money on a copy of Piece of Cake instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, extraordinary and astonishing!, 4 Sep 2010
By 
P. Andrews "khananel" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invasion, 1940: The Truth about the Battle of Britain and What Stopped Hitler (Paperback)
In my experience, there are four books that fundamentally explain why Germany lost the war; David Irving 'Hitler's War', 'Barbarossa: The German Campaign in Russia - Planning and Operations (1940-1942' by R.G. Grant, 'Mechanized Juggernaut or Military Anachronism: Horses and the German Army of World War II' by R.L. DiNardo, and 'Invasion 1940' by Derek Robinson.

Taken together they tell such a story of German incompetence, internal feuding, conflicting egos, its quite astonishing that the war lasted as long as it did. Hitler was forever vacillating, Goering crippled the Luftwaffe before it had even begun, Operation Sealion planning was a mess, etc. etc.

Invasion 1940 delivers far more than it promises. Dereck Robinson did his National Service as a radar plotter in the RAF, then went on to read History at University. He has a mind for the 'real' as opposed to myth, propaganda and the plain fanciful and an historian's eye for detail, objectivity and impartiality. Some of his information is quite astonishing in its significance for the whole war story. And yet he conveys it all with a certain sardonic wit that is well in keeping with his theme. A very readable and enjoyable work.

After reading Invasion 1940 and any of the other above mentioned works, you will begin to wonder how Germans came to have such a fearsome reputation for 'efficiency'. When Germans are angry, fed up and emotionally driven they can be just as mediocre, incompetent and muddle headed as anyone else. No wonder when others call them 'hard working' (fleissig) they sometimes burst out laughing. They are human after all. Invasion 1940 shows this very clearly, and helps to balance up the War Legend with a very welcomed dose of reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Invasion, 1940: The Truth about the Battle of Britain and What Stopped Hitler
9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews