Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding work, 20 July 2010
This review is from: Arras: The Spring 1917 Offensive in Panoramas Including Vimy Ridge and Bullecourt (Hardcover)
This book is a quite remarkable piece of work. Not only is in the best in-depth study around of this slightly less well known Great War battle - the Battle of Arras - but the shear quality of the images and the variety of the testimony is outstanding. This is the third on their books and Barton and Banning have never failed to deliver top-notch work. However, this one has to be the best of them all. The detailed maps will guide the reader through the various stages of the battle, and for the seasoned battlefield visitor this book will become an Indispensable asset in France. Really well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arras - Peter Barton/Jeremy Banning/IWM, 23 Sep 2010
This review is from: Arras: The Spring 1917 Offensive in Panoramas Including Vimy Ridge and Bullecourt (Hardcover)
When this book was published, I already had Peter Barton's other panorama-based WWI battlefield works, all produced in collaboration with the IWM ('Battlefields of the First World War', 'the Somme' and 'Passchendaele'). All have greatly impressed me, not only because of the quality of writing and research but through the rich and helpful illustration (superb maps, diagrams, photographs etc., as well as the panoramas themselves). Also worthy of mention are what seems to me to be an ideal landscape format; the solid, weighty feel of each book; and the sheer quality of the publication. Electronic books have their place but this series proves, at least to me, that a 'real' book has a pleasure and satisfaction all its own. I had not expected that coverage of the infamously 'forgotten' battle of Arras would follow the first three, despite its horrendous butcher's bill - worse even than those of the Somme or Third Ypres (Passchendaele). So I was especially delighted when 'Arras' hit the shelves (or, in my case, Amazon's post room). On the strength of the first three books, I ordered it sight unseen - partly because of a particular family interest in the battle and partly because of entirely separate research for a written war memorial. My pleasure, and my confidence in the quality of Peter Barton's work, have been entirely justified. The opportunity to take this book (along with, in my case, Paul Reed's 'Walking Arras') to the area of the battle made a visit vastly more productive. Thus, the ability to refer to Barton's greater detail in the car or hotel room, in support of the pocket-sized battlefield guide, made a better understanding of the complexities of a massively important battle far more accessible - along with some slight appreciation of the courage and sacrifice that it generated. I recommend an excellent piece of work - and the rest of the set to which it belongs. They will remain close to hand by my desk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fine work in an excellent series, 4 Nov 2010
By 
Michael Buck "mike b" (wisconsin, usa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arras: The Spring 1917 Offensive in Panoramas Including Vimy Ridge and Bullecourt (Hardcover)
Having previously purchased the three previous volumes of panorama campaigns I was thrilled to see that another volume was forthcoming and this one on Arras. Passchendaele, and the Somme were both magisterial works, while the panoramas of the western front incorporated some of the finest photography of the western front i had ever seen. Therefore when the much less known Battle of Arras was published i was thrilled to see it indeed, and snatched one up when it became available immediately.

I was not disappointed. This volume fills a gap in one of the truly horrific battles of the Great War. There were very few previous volumes written about the spring 1917 campaign and this fine work has completely redressed this situation. Although some previous works have been written about Vimy Ridge and the tremendous triumph of the Canadian Corps, or from the Australian perspective of the brutal battles of Bullecourt, the only previous work to discuss the entire campaign as a whole was Jonathan Phillips "Cheerful Sacrifice" Although his work was well done, Mr. Barton's and Mr. Banning's work IS the definitive general history of this campaign. Although little heard of, certainly outside of England, this 40 day battle produced casualty figures 25 percent higher then that on the Somme and nearly double those of Passchendaele on a day to day basis. The battles here are covered in detail, the triumph initially at Vimy, the indecision and inaction which followed, the blunders of leadership and lost opportunities, the degeneration into bloody stalemate, the few meager gains, stiffening German resistance, and the daunting Hindenburg Line. The eventual cessation of the campaign after bloody losses and shattered gains of ground, and all in support of the French Nivelle offensive which in itself was a catastrophe for French arms and should never have been undertaken. All this, more or less, as a sacrifice to an ally, in France, whose own offensive never stood a chance. And all the while as Sir Douglas Haig had his real eyes on Flanders and the North Sea ports. In the end it is the tragic suffering of the men themselves, the brutality of the fighting, the heroic efforts of support and medical men to do the best they could for their comrades, this is the enduring strength of this book. All for a campaign viewed as only a diversion. A diversion which cost 160,000 British and Commonwealth casualties, and was then shunted aside for another go at Ypres. But it was, in its own right a brutal savage battle indeed and it deserved this quality of a book written about it, largely forgotten tho it may be. A fine job by Mr. Barton and Mr. Banning in retelling this fascinating, brutal, and tragic tale. And fine work in emphasizing the sacrifice and triumph of the human spirit by the men involved. Keep up the good work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arras, covered as never before., 15 Nov 2010
This review is from: Arras: The Spring 1917 Offensive in Panoramas Including Vimy Ridge and Bullecourt (Hardcover)
I very rarely feel the urge to write reviews for the books I read, I normally leave it for others to articulate their views, but however this new work by Peter Barton and Jeremy Banning is so good that I just couldn't resist making my opinions known.
Quite simply, this book is by far the finest study of the Battle of Arras to-date. The intensive research and preparation required to produce such an in-depth volume shines through in the sheer quality of the text, the outstanding maps and stunning images used, a great deal of which I have never seen before.
Unlike other books on the subject, this book also covers the early engagements between the French and Germans in 1914/15, before moving on to the British involvement when they took over responsibility for the sector. Included are the preparations for the offensive before chapters covering each stage of the battle itself, starting on the 9/4/17 up to mid May when the offensive was effectively closed down.
As with the authors previous works, this book is very difficult down and will be an indispensable guide for anyone interested in this battle.
I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completing the set, 16 Dec 2010
By 
Tom S (Stafford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Arras: The Spring 1917 Offensive in Panoramas Including Vimy Ridge and Bullecourt (Hardcover)
Just bought this book, to go alongside the two similar Peter Barton books on the Somme and Passchedaele that I already own. All three are marvellous works, combining "big picture" and local detail and of course with their wonderful use of contemporary maps, panoramic pictures, etc. Well done to Peter and Jeremy on another triumph. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WW1, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arras: The Spring 1917 Offensive in Panoramas Including Vimy Ridge and Bullecourt (Hardcover)
Good condition and delivery fine. My father-in-law was wounded at the battle and this provided an excellent addition to my research into the two battles in 1917.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arras., 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arras: The Spring 1917 Offensive in Panoramas Including Vimy Ridge and Bullecourt (Hardcover)
This is a truly amazing collection of panoramic pictures taken of a pivotal battle of the WW1. I already have Peter Barton's books covering The Somme and Passchendaele, which are very informative and well put together. This edition continues this high level of journalism and insightful recording of this conflict that started off so well but then began to fall apart just like The Somme and Passchendaele. It's a tribute to those men who lived, fought and died in atrocious conditions hampered by failings behind the lines. A must read for all students of WW1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive tome., 23 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs. P. M. A. Walker (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arras: The Spring 1917 Offensive in Panoramas Including Vimy Ridge and Bullecourt (Hardcover)
An indepth analysis of this First World War Theatre of War in Northern France. It seems to me to be the sort of coffee table book for those prepared and sufficiently motivated to read about this subject in well-researched detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great present for my husband, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arras: The Spring 1917 Offensive in Panoramas Including Vimy Ridge and Bullecourt (Hardcover)
I ordered this for my husbands Christmas present - I haven't read it myself so can't comment on the depth of material. But he is passionate about photography and the war and seems very happy with it! It is a great looking book - a coffee table style book which looks great on our book shelf next to the others from the series published by the IWM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In my library., 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arras: The Spring 1917 Offensive in Panoramas Including Vimy Ridge and Bullecourt (Hardcover)
Peter Barton at his best. Can no longer drink. What better way to spend the savings. Still have shelf space for this caliber of book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arras: The Spring 1917 Offensive in Panoramas Including Vimy Ridge and Bullecourt
30.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews