Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast-paced and funny
The Victorianesque language slips from time to time, but this is grand rollicking adventure, full of in-jokes for those with a knowledge of Egyptology or of the history and literature of the period it deals with.
The blurb has got one of these wrong: it's not Sir Henry Baskerville who has died, but Lord Baskerville "of the Norfolk Baskervilles, not the Devonshire...
Published on 11 Jun 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read.
I'm not a reader of murder mystery books usually, but I found this one captivating due to its very strong and real characters - along with the immense humour and wit in which it is written.

A good read!
Published on 31 May 2006 by FAMOUS NAME


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast-paced and funny, 11 Jun 2003
By A Customer
The Victorianesque language slips from time to time, but this is grand rollicking adventure, full of in-jokes for those with a knowledge of Egyptology or of the history and literature of the period it deals with.
The blurb has got one of these wrong: it's not Sir Henry Baskerville who has died, but Lord Baskerville "of the Norfolk Baskervilles, not the Devonshire branch of the family" - that is, a distant cousin of Doyle's Sir Henry. He's not the only Sherlock Holmes character to be referenced - there's a Von Bork here, and a Charles Milverton, both very different people from their villainous namesakes but a joy for a Holmes fan to read about.
Anyway, these people inhabit a gloriously silly plot which has been uncharitably but not altogether unjustifiably compared to a Victorian-era Scooby Doo, with fake ghosts, a mummy's curse and a long-lost heir. Melodramatic? Yes. Implausible? Certainly. Tremendous fun? Undoubtedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd in the amelia peabody series, 7 Jan 2007
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Curse of the Pharaohs (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
Married to Emerson (very happily!) and with a young baby, Amelia thinks her excavating days are over. But when the widow of a dead archaeologist pleads with Emerson to come out to Egypt and investigate the 'curse' which is killing off the entire expedition team, Amelia is quick to leave the baby with Walter and Evelyn and get herself and her husband out of London.

Humourous pastiche, this will remind you of Agatha Christie at her most camp, but the wit of Amelia and the fascinating chemistry between her and Emerson is a winning formula. Great escapist read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peters 2nd novel of Amelia 's adventures is a riot !!!!!, 10 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Peters brings back Amelia & Emerson in the second volume of their adventures...again we are privileged to watch the Emersons in action...they abandon domesticity and young "Ramses" to rush to Egypt to help a damsel in distress...explain numerous unexplained deaths...debunk "the curse of the pharaohs"...and have a wonderful time doing it!!Amelia's passion for antiquities and pyramids as well as excavations puts us in the midst of a bizarre as well as entertaining cast of characters including a bluff rich american,a lord in disguise,a german with a formidable moustache,a veiled "woman in white" and much much more...as ever tombs and treasures muddy the waters...but Amelia's "detectival" instincts and ever-present parasol lead the way through an amazing maze of eygptology and good old human greed...Peters gift for creating lively multi-faceted characters is as ever entertaining as well as compulsive...of course Peters ability to follow the Emersons and their fascinating lives through Victorian England and Egypt including a pithy political history of the times is what makes this series of books so unlike run of the mill mysteries...for true fans following the chronological series is a MUST !!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 23 Feb 2002
By A Customer
After reading "Crocodile on the Sandbank" I was concerned that I wouldn't enjoy this as much, but it's great fun. It whizzes through at a great pace, taking in the sights and sounds of Luxor, Egypt. Amelia remains unchanged after her marriage to Emerson and the birth of Rameses, and still insists on being flung head first into every crisis. The characters are well written and the whole story is a delight. Despite being able to work out who-dunnit early on I wanted to read on and theres a satisfactory conclusion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Emersons are perfectly splendid!, 14 April 2007
By 
Patricia A. Mclaughlin (northern england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Curse of the Pharaohs (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
This is the second in the peabody series and I loved it. Its so lovely to see the character of amelia develop after all she hasnt described herself to us as much as she has described everyone else! Good thing is that even if you havent read the first, you can still get really into this storyline. And to think that there is another 16 after this! OH GOODY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 14 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. Priscilla S. Dicketts "Pris" (Kent, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curse of the Pharaohs (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
I am mad about Egypt and its history and to have such wonderful characters and animals just makes its perfect. I have them all on my Kindle and would now like to have the actual books as I would read them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's not many books I can enjoy reading again, but the Amelia Peabody mysteries are always enjoyable with memorable characters and well paced story lines. Happy reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 17 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curse of the Pharaohs (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
Brilliantly written, well researched - the author is an Egyptologist herself - and absolutely hilarious. Expect whisky and soda (for medicinal purposes,) villains, heroes and one very handsome archaeologist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curse of the Pharaohs (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
I always enjoy books written by this author and this book
is no exception. Once you have read one of her books
You have to read them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The great explorer, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curse of the Pharaohs (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
Amelia Peabody is equal to Indiana jones I have been surprised that the film industry has not made this series of books into films as i'm sure women would have found them as good as the Indiana jones films because they are just as exciting and appear to be historically based due to Elizabeth Peters archeological experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Curse of the Pharaohs (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery)
The Curse of the Pharaohs (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery) by Elizabeth Peters (Paperback - 29 Jun 2006)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews