Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Spectacular Treasure Brings a Dark Afrit to the Emersons
As the war years recede, Elizabeth Peters is able to bring the Amelia Peabody and her family back to familiar territory and plots . . . except with everyone older and wiser.
Set in 1922, you won't find many contemporary references. In a way that's good because this book could have occurred in virtually any year from 1860 through to 1935.
Magda Petherick is the...
Published on 27 May 2005 by Donald Mitchell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a peabody let-down
I am trying to finish this book but finding it hard going, and I am a great amelia fan! I think the series has really run out of steam - as with the Tomb of the Golden Bird, all the storylines and romances of consequence have played themselves out. I would skip these two and re-read an earlier, classic Peabody (the best in the series, in my opinion, is the Falcon at the...
Published on 20 Sep 2007 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Spectacular Treasure Brings a Dark Afrit to the Emersons, 27 May 2005
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
As the war years recede, Elizabeth Peters is able to bring the Amelia Peabody and her family back to familiar territory and plots . . . except with everyone older and wiser.
Set in 1922, you won't find many contemporary references. In a way that's good because this book could have occurred in virtually any year from 1860 through to 1935.
Magda Petherick is the first of several people to barge in on Amelia Peabody and her family as the story opens. Mrs. Petherick is the recent widow of Pringle Petherick who has assembled a renowned collection of Egyptian antiquities. Mrs. Petherick reveals one of his last purchases, an unbelievably gorgeous golden head that is supposed to be cursed. She asks that Emerson take charge of putting the head back where it came from in order to avoid the curse. She says she has seen a dark spirit twice and fears that the third time will cost her life.
But Mrs. Petherick is also a famous vampire novelist, and it seems too convenient to be a true story. Could it be simply a publicity stunt?
Those concerns begin to draft away when Mrs. Petherick disappears and Amelia's household is disrupted by regular intrusions that seem aimed at capturing the head.
In the meantime, Amelia persuades Emerson to let Ramses pursue his translation work rather than toiling constantly in excavation work.
Before long, the attacks become more serious . . . and threaten the whole family!
While no single aspect of this story is outstanding, there is considerable balance in the tale. The narration alternates between Amelia and Ramses. About a dozen characters have decent development in the story. I found that the book built momentum as it went on, and I enjoyed the second half more than the first.
Elizabeth Peters does an unusually good job of foreshadowing future stories in the series through Amelia's dreams and little hints of character development to come. For example, Ramses finds that he has made conflicting promises to his wife, Nefret, and to another woman. Which promise will he honor? How will Nefret react in the future if Ramses doesn't keep his word to her? The twins have become four-year-old wunderkinds. You can get a sense of their potential to be like the young Ramses and Nefret in the future. With Emerson and Amelia showing no signs of slowing down, things could become livelier.
One of the problems with recent novels in the series has been that the extended family has become so large that involving them often makes the stories unwieldy. I felt that that problem was greatly reduced in The Serpent on the Crown.
The book's main weakness is that the suspense is pretty modest because the probable villains and their likely motives are too transparent for the book's own good. But in the same way that you can enjoy a pleasant cruise that takes you where you've been before, the journey can still be rewarding . . . and it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Archaeology in Victorian Times, 18 Jun 2005
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Serpent on the Crown (Hardcover)
Anyone expecting a new plot in an Elizabeth Peters Peabody book is in for a nasty surprise and why should there be a new plot. This is a tried and tested formula from the author.
Amelia Peabody and her famous Egyptologist husband Emerson are back in Egypt for the start of the excavation season. Their son Ramses and his wife and the twins are of course with them.
They are called upon by a lady who gives Emmerson a golden statuette, saying that it is cursed and was the cause of her husbands' death. She was Emmerson to lift the curse from the statue and of course this is where all the skulduggery and mayhem begin.
I was a little taken aback by several attacks on the character of Howard Carter, the man who found the tomb of Tutankhamun, although in recent years his "behaviour" has been brought into question.
Some people may find the authors style of writing tedious, but most people myself included find it amusing and easy reading. This is reflected in the number of books the author has sold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tutankhamen Appears, 4 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. David W. Legg (Ashford, Middlesex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Other reviewers have summarised the plot, so I won't do that again.
This novel is the 17th in the series and is exactly what you would expect from Elizabeth Peters. It has all the wit and charm to which one is accustomed. The plot has plenty of twists and turns. In short, no Peabody fan will be disappointed.

An interesting development that appears in this book is appearance of the rumoured tomb of Tutankhamen. This features in the very latest books, and one's excitement grows with vicariously with Emerson's ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a peabody let-down, 20 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Serpent on the Crown (Amelia Peabody 17) (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
I am trying to finish this book but finding it hard going, and I am a great amelia fan! I think the series has really run out of steam - as with the Tomb of the Golden Bird, all the storylines and romances of consequence have played themselves out. I would skip these two and re-read an earlier, classic Peabody (the best in the series, in my opinion, is the Falcon at the Portal)...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars delicious tale, 29 April 2014
By 
A. O'Loughlin (NIreland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am reading my way through the series , this one is as good as the rest , I will be sorry to finish the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fodder for the active mind, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Elizabeth Peters characters are enchanting 2warts and all2. Her plots are involved and fun to follow. I read her books a number of times and always find something new while enjoying meeting old friends again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Afrits and treasure, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amelia and co. are once more caught up in murder and mayhem in post-war Luxor. With multiple suspects and fabulous treasure tempting said suspects it is up to Amelia to sort it out. This is another amusing addition to the series and an easy way to spend a few hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 14 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am mad about Egypt and its history and to have such wonderful characters and animals just makes its perfect. I have them all on my Kindle and woud now like tohave the actual books as I would read them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always enjoy books written by this author and this book
is no exception. Once you have read one of her books
You have to read them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 5 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Serpent on the Crown (Amelia Peabody 17) (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
Great book in a wonderful, funny series. I recommend them for long cold winter nights.....or hot sunny days! Read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Serpent on the Crown (Amelia Peabody 17) (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews