Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As great as ever
Another absorbing and brilliantly written whodunnit from Saylor's pen. This is a bit more straightforward than the preceding Catalina's Riddle, but still has plenty of twists, colourful characters, spellbinding oratory and dialogue and some horrific moments. Splendid stuff.
Published on 26 July 2007 by John Hopper

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can be a bit slow at times
This is the 3rd of Saylor's Gordianus' stories I've read, and I found it patchy. It really only warms up about half way through.
Buit that's worth knowing, 'cause the usual intrigue kicks in and it's worth the wait.
I've read all of Linsay Davis' Falco novels, and find Saylors darker and grittier, but they feel more real for that
Published on 27 Jun. 2002 by Parthianshot


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As great as ever, 26 July 2007
By 
John Hopper (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Another absorbing and brilliantly written whodunnit from Saylor's pen. This is a bit more straightforward than the preceding Catalina's Riddle, but still has plenty of twists, colourful characters, spellbinding oratory and dialogue and some horrific moments. Splendid stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another fine book, 1 Jan. 2006
By 
Didier (Ghent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Venus Throw (Roma Sub Rosa) (Paperback)
Part four in the Roma sub rosa series, Gordianus is now back in Rome and hired to investigate the murder of an Egyptian ambassador by the infamous Clodia (wouldn't you just love to meet her in the flesh? I know I would!).
As in the previous novels there's a captivating mix of fictional and historical characters (Cicero again, Marcus Caelius, Catullus!), all based on solid research and brought to us in Saylor's thoroughly enjoyable style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seeing through disguises in Rome, 26 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
Gordianus meets a figure from his past; an Alexandrian philosopher accompanied by a eunuch and disguised as a woman. From this bizarre starting point Saylor leads us though murder, conspiracy, disillusionment and deceit. By letting Gordianus keep his head with Clodia Saylor lets us keep ours as well; we are neither as bitter as the witty debauched poet Catullus nor as cynical as the brilliant Cicero, whose demolition of Clodia makes a fitting climax before the final twist. After being carried in Clodia's litter, after spending a night with a drunk Catullus in the Salacious Tavern, after pitying a weeping Trygonion at Clodia's party we can return to the bosom of Gordianus' unconventional family, where all is finally resolved in this most colourful of the Gordianus stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Future pleasures to enjoy., 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've given the book five stars as so far I've loved all the Gordianus books I've read. Other than that I can't comment as I haven't read this book yet. I've been catching up on reading since Christmas and New Year and both the Gordianus books are sitting on my special bookshelf. They are under the heading of, 'future pleasures to enjoy'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best in the series, 13 April 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Venus Throw (Roma Sub Rosa) (Paperback)
The review above is very harsh. For me this is one of the best, particularly for brilliant evocation of late-Republican life and society.

As to Cicero, yes of course the main parts of the speech are lifted from the original - but so what! The speech is compelling and Saylor makes it available outside the world of classical scholarship to thousands of people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Venus Throw (Roma Sub Rosa) (Paperback)
Very well written. Entertaining and at the same time highly informative about classical Rome. A rating of four stars is from me a high rating. Five stars often implies special interest. This book is for everybody, who likes mysteries and or history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saylor has no peer. He does not need one., 8 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
What Steven Saylor does for fiction is remarkable, and to such an utterly high standard that it is difficult to consider it as fiction; rather the factual accounts of the blindingly gritty muggy underworld of the last great civilization on Earth, the city of Rome, grandest of all empires. In steps one of the most amiable, intelligible, modest and bitingly cynical protagonists that has ever interfaced the realities of a novel--Gordianus the Finder, the extremist view of the human coctail, possessing characteristics of hardboiled P.I.s and the infintestimal and unequivocal knowledge of such brilliant detectives such as Sherlock Holmes. Gordianus in the truest sense, cannot be considered a cynic, more a pragmatist--one of those who believes that a cynic is just something an idealist calls a realist. Yet at times Gordianus's strengths are put to strain; yet Saylor's erudite hero always manages to pull through, even in his mid-life. "The Venus Throw" surrounds the vague tactical plot to murder Gordianus's humble philosophical mentor Dio of Alexandria. As the premise expands so does the credibility of Dio's entire innocence, and with this goes Gordianus's trust of all things ineffably Roman. Such scintillating ripostes throughout this novel(that of Eco, the once-mute son of Gordianus, and Gordianus himself) are not dry and groanworthy, but actually quite playful, and the entire novel increases into the farcically ironic region when such scintillating and witty characters such as Trygonian the little gallus and Catullus (the novel's best protagonist, besides that of Gordianus) enter the ancient, gladiator-sprawled buttress-pocked arena. Cicero provides the reader with some intricately devious methods of how to fundamentally backstab and insult whilst still insinuating his rhetoric in such a way for people to consider it as a complement; and Marcus Caelius, the so-called 'most curious figure in History' gives the audience an acute view of a prebubescent genius's mind. Gordianus is still as sharp as a constantly whetted scythe, just as ever, and albeit he can be lead slightly off the track (just as the reader can) it just ensures the audience will desire to find out more about the complexities of Dio's esoteric murder, which is steeped in colour as black as death... And yet, despite the equilibrium between the utter hilarity of Catullus's crass doggerel, and the insipid plots of Caelius, we find Gordianus juxtaposed between a rock and a hard place--should he trust his beloved family, or Clodia, the most erotic woman in Rome? Or should he stick to his own gut instincts? Superb Saylor, almost impeccable, and forsooth: something with an intrinsic moral.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant series, 9 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I brought the books in paperback version initially, now I've got them on my kindle. Great story lines and a rip roaring read, you feel you're part of Roman history. Love the diverse family and the plots woven around historical events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Saylor triumph, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saylor's research enables him to mix history and fiction in an innovative and entertaining manner. Truth is stranger than fiction and the author succeeds in brilliantly and seamlessly merging his fictitious finder into the history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can be a bit slow at times, 27 Jun. 2002
This is the 3rd of Saylor's Gordianus' stories I've read, and I found it patchy. It really only warms up about half way through.
Buit that's worth knowing, 'cause the usual intrigue kicks in and it's worth the wait.
I've read all of Linsay Davis' Falco novels, and find Saylors darker and grittier, but they feel more real for that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Venus Throw (Roma Sub Rosa)
The Venus Throw (Roma Sub Rosa) by Steven Saylor (Paperback - 25 Aug. 2005)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews