Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars22
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2006
I had wondered whether, having returned from India, the colour might have faded but - no. Cleverly is a master when it comes to distilling the essence of a place and time and she confidently takes the reader back into 1920s London with its dark as well as its limelit side. From the Ritz to the backstreets of Soho, Joe's London is convincing, fresh and beguiling. And in this book there are welcome flashes of humour - Joe's light-heartedness breaks through. Perhaps he's more relaxed now he's back on his own patch? The plot goes at the usual Cleverly gallop and - though I hung on! - again, I didn't guess!
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 15 October 2005
I always enjoy Cleverly's writing. Her characters are interesting; she provides an excellent sense of place and very good dialogue. Joe is romantic, confident, and dogged in searching for the answers. I enjoyed the story moving from a basic crime, the complexity of the characters and the way the mystery turned to something else, yet their still being a basic crimes at the end. Very well done.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2007
Before I read this I was a bit disappointed that Joe was no longer in India as I found the settings of the previous books fascinating. However, the backdrop of 1920s Jazz and General Strike were equally absorbing. The murder mystery element was excellent, I didn't guess the ending.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
Set in the 1920's this Crime novel, set in England, is a good enjoyable read. The characters are believable and well formed; each contributing to the story in different ways. When a well known, but universally disliked, grand-dame is murdered at a party not many people mourn her passing. It's up to Commander Joe to tease out a reason and weed out the perpetrator from many likely suspects. Occasionally cliches appertaining to peripheral characters and locations are obvious but these do not detract from the story and I look forward to reading more books by this author.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
Another great story by, I think, a most entertaining, author. Good plot, good characters and a great read. I love her books.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
Superb detective fiction on a classic framework. I can't understand why these haven't made it to the screen. Obviously well researched and full of authentic detail, the plots contain many twists and reversals, pushed on by characters that are well rounded and act within the framework and social conventions of the time (1920's - 1930's). I'm not your typical Detective reader either, but found all the books in this series completely absorbing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
This book, and indeed the series, is good for a light read. The policeman is an English 'bobby' but stationed in India in the 1920's so a bit of a mixture. If you like learning a bit of history but in a general easy way, with a detective story as well, then I would recommend this and others in the series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2008
This began as an entertaining read, there was an excellent feeling of period which worked well.
The plot carried me along, gradually laying down layer after layer of detail and promising me a clever and carefully crafted ending, but suddenly there was a complete change of direction.
The police investigation is ended and there are hints of espionage and the presence of heavies from Special Branch and the then infant Secret Services.
The reason was eventually shown, but I'm afraid I found that part very unsatisfying.
The characters were all very good and very well drawn, but I thought the young WPC was wasted, I'd have liked more of her and her fate at the very end was out of character with the girl we'd been shown before.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
After four Indian adventures it was nice to have Sandilands back in England. A great sense of time and place plus a good adventure. The characters were well defined. I look forward to reading the next book
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
I just love these books. Have already started the next one as they are so good. The plots are great, twists and turns to the end and always a great ending.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.