Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Joe Sandilands series gets stronger with each book.
I had wondered whether, having returned from India, the colour might have faded but - no. Cleverly is a master when it comes to distilling the essence of a place and time and she confidently takes the reader back into 1920s London with its dark as well as its limelit side. From the Ritz to the backstreets of Soho, Joe's London is convincing, fresh and beguiling. And in...
Published on 26 July 2006 by James North

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the Bee's Kiss
It is a well written book with a good plot. Somewhat reminiscent of Enid Blyton's 'Secret Seven' but for grown-ups. I am sure If you enjoy historic who has done it, it is a very good read. I found all the gushing language and class structure a little bit dated and boring. Set after the war it seemed to lack authenticity, too rosy by far. However I would still recommend...
Published 13 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Joe Sandilands series gets stronger with each book., 26 July 2006
By 
James North (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bee's Kiss (Joe Sandilands Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
I had wondered whether, having returned from India, the colour might have faded but - no. Cleverly is a master when it comes to distilling the essence of a place and time and she confidently takes the reader back into 1920s London with its dark as well as its limelit side. From the Ritz to the backstreets of Soho, Joe's London is convincing, fresh and beguiling. And in this book there are welcome flashes of humour - Joe's light-heartedness breaks through. Perhaps he's more relaxed now he's back on his own patch? The plot goes at the usual Cleverly gallop and - though I hung on! - again, I didn't guess!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done!, 15 Oct 2005
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I always enjoy Cleverly's writing. Her characters are interesting; she provides an excellent sense of place and very good dialogue. Joe is romantic, confident, and dogged in searching for the answers. I enjoyed the story moving from a basic crime, the complexity of the characters and the way the mystery turned to something else, yet their still being a basic crimes at the end. Very well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sandilands is back from India, 12 May 2007
By 
Fren (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bee's Kiss (Joe Sandilands Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
Before I read this I was a bit disappointed that Joe was no longer in India as I found the settings of the previous books fascinating. However, the backdrop of 1920s Jazz and General Strike were equally absorbing. The murder mystery element was excellent, I didn't guess the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Bee's Kiss, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great story by, I think, a most entertaining, author. Good plot, good characters and a great read. I love her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Set in the 1920's this Crime novel, set in England, is a good enjoyable read. The characters are believable and well formed; each contributing to the story in different ways. When a well known, but universally disliked, grand-dame is murdered at a party not many people mourn her passing. It's up to Commander Joe to tease out a reason and weed out the perpetrator from many likely suspects. Occasionally cliches appertaining to peripheral characters and locations are obvious but these do not detract from the story and I look forward to reading more books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like all the Joe Sandilands books I've read so far in this series, this one included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clever Cleverly, 9 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the Sandilands Series and am working through the series. book 6 next when I have diverifsied to other good authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great story!, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just love these books. Have already started the next one as they are so good. The plots are great, twists and turns to the end and always a great ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars london between the wars, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Set in London between the wars. Well written mix of intrigue, politics and murder. I have also enjoyed Joe Sandilands cases in India and elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great read, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i have read other titles by this author, very good story with an unexpected end to the story, really enjoyed this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bee's Kiss (Joe Sandilands Murder Mystery)
The Bee's Kiss (Joe Sandilands Murder Mystery) by Barbara Cleverly (Paperback - 29 Jun 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews