Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review by Surrey psychologist.
Excellent book. User friendly and easy to follow. Helps to frame suspicious/ paranoid thoughts as the "understandable" consequence of a number of factors that come together. Really useful guide for those experiencing such distressing thoughts and for also for professionals working in this area. Another 1st class book from the "Overcoming" series.
Published on 19 July 2007 by G.P.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost helpful
I bought this book because of what it said on the front cover, but as I started reading through the sections of the book. I found the first few chapters helpful to my problem but reading further, I found it wasn't what I was looking for. Self help advice was useful.
Published 15 months ago by craftlady


Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review by Surrey psychologist., 19 July 2007
This review is from: Overcoming Paranoid and Suspicious Thoughts (Paperback)
Excellent book. User friendly and easy to follow. Helps to frame suspicious/ paranoid thoughts as the "understandable" consequence of a number of factors that come together. Really useful guide for those experiencing such distressing thoughts and for also for professionals working in this area. Another 1st class book from the "Overcoming" series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fighting against paranioa, 30 Nov 2010
This review is from: Overcoming Paranoid and Suspicious Thoughts (Paperback)
I like this book it makes you sit back and realise that you are not on your own, that there are other people out there that feel the same way as you.
It goes through why you are having paranoid thoughts and the reasons you do actually sit and think about it.
This book for me was an eye opener the excersies through out this book are great I go through them nearly everyday and it really helps, since reading this book i have become alot calmer. Still along way to go but I think this book is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read and focuses on self help and understanding, 11 Jan 2010
This review is from: Overcoming Paranoid and Suspicious Thoughts (Paperback)
There is not much out there for sufferers or carers. This book fills a big gap. It is easy to read and focuses on self help and understanding. It is not judgemental and backs up statements made by pointing examples and to research. My experience is that it has helped to soften damaging thought processes that have become hardened with time and use. I hope that it will provide some of the tools to sustain a hard won recovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars overcoming paranoid and suspicious thoughts, 12 Sep 2011
This review is from: Overcoming Paranoid and Suspicious Thoughts (Paperback)
a very good read for the self helper who wishes to get to grips with their problems. Working through the set exercises would be helpful for anyone with anxieties or worrying thoughts. A good read and not too theoretical.Overcoming Paranoid and Suspicious Thoughts: A Self-Help Guide Using Cognitive Behavioral Techniques
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very useful book to read and work through. It tackles a topic not much talked about elsewhere and is the only book i have found which described a feeling I have had in the past of "not existing" or "not being here" and explains what this is and how it may have arisen. For that alone I am grateful. However there is more to this book than this and anyone who has suffered from insecurity in themselves or paranoia would in my opinion find it a useful read in that process of self healing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars really worth a read, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Paranoid and Suspicious Thoughts (Paperback)
This book has helped me look at my depression from a different perspective and it has worked for me.very glad I bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Almost helpful, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book because of what it said on the front cover, but as I started reading through the sections of the book. I found the first few chapters helpful to my problem but reading further, I found it wasn't what I was looking for. Self help advice was useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but I have some doubts, 24 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. J. Griffiths "Jonny Griffiths" (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Overcoming Paranoid and Suspicious Thoughts (Paperback)
I would like to thank the authors for writing this book, but I must confess I have a lot of problems with it. I write as someone who has been hospitalized with medical paranoia, so I know what it is like to entertain fallacious suspicious thoughts. However, I also write as someone who has submitted a serious harassment complaint to his managers at work, a complaint that was not resolved either way. You will appreciate that I am currently not in a powerful enough situation to ascertain how justified my complaint was, a common situation for those suffering from paranoia, I would guess.

The authors say: "This book doesn't focus on unjustified anxieties about others, but rather on unfounded fears." This is to duck the million dollar question. What about anxieties where you cannot tell whether they are justified or not? This book reads as though it is written by doctors for the benefit of their patients, advice from high status people for the benefit of low status people. The assumption is that readers will have low self-esteem, and that the vast majority of their suspicions will be false ones. What about those who have paranoid thoughts who possess high self-esteem? From my experience of the 21st century workplace, my guess is that for these people, the vast majority of their suspicious thoughts will be partly justified. What should they do next? This book says absolutely nothing about this situation.

The modern workplace consists of a hierarchy. Suppose a lowly member of the hierarchy challenges a loftier member. Immediately a mini-conspiracy, a deliberate mistake, a misspelled email ensues to restore the hierarchy. It really is nave to pretend this doesn't happen. For many bosses, instilling paranoia is a management technique. That's why there is a terrible danger that this book turns into a Harasser's Charter. If I was a manager planning to give a difficult employee a hard time, I would certainly have a copy of this book to hand, so that when the harassment complaint came in, I could say, "Are sure you are - feeling alright? Can I recommend this?"

Let me be more positive about what I agree with in this book. Certainly paranoid feelings need to be tested out against reality, although I would say that the testing needs to be a great deal more indirect and ingenious than the examples given here. I agree too about the value of creative writing in externalizing one's suspicions. Certainly this is an important topic, and I am glad this book has addressed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Distinguishing between Healthy Suspicions and Paranoia, 24 July 2012
This review is from: Overcoming Paranoid and Suspicious Thoughts (Paperback)
This book unfortunately does not the address what is the elephant in the room in relation to paranoia and suspicions.

The fact is that the practice of psychologically intimidating and undermining others is an unfortunate but very real human trait. In fact it could be said that every human interaction is to some extent a psychological contest. Suspicions and paranoia have their functional basis in intelligent appraisal of stimuli but sometimes, yes, you are being picked on.

The goal should be to learn to separate the wheat from the chaff i.e. where to draw the line between psychological vigilance and natural awareness and unwarranted suspicions which lead to paranoia. Rather than 'Overcoming Paranoid and Suspicious Thoughts' it might be worthwhile to refocus the book as 'Distinguishing between Healthy Suspicions and Paranoia'.

The point is that sometimes it is correct to conclude that others are trying to undermine you indirectly - such as a boss unjustifiably harshly criticizing your work. Their ulterior motive could be that they don't like you for some reason or are simply being malevolent or bullying. Another example could be someone making pointed use of words in conversation which they know carry a loaded meaning for the other person or another person within earshot i.e. such as emphasizing 'fat/ugly/mental/mad/gay' or related words when a targeted person is present.

This dynamic is also a major factor in behaviors such as racism, mental illness stigma and other types of discrimination. As well as deliberate uses it is actually an intrinsic part of human nature to call to mind negative as well as positive words and ideas which relate to other people in present company and to verbalize some of them.

Additionally much of the humor in life is through ridiculing others. TV shows such as 'Mock the Week' specialize in this. But the point is missed that psychologically dominating others is part of human nature and takes place everywhere 24/7 to a greater or lesser extent. Often this is motivated by simple spite or through seeking an advantage over others - life is competitive. The vast majority of verbal bullying is done covertly and indirectly in the form of innuendos and plays on words. It takes the form of messing with the victims mind - 'mind games' some people call this.

The main point is that life and phenomena such as paranoia are more nuanced than books such as this acknowledge. Mental Illness accords to the natural law of cause and effect i.e. it arises because something causes it. There is a strong latent level of psychological pressure or tension in all social situations. Nobody is a saint and no interactions are neutral of affect.

Suspicions are a normal part of life, sometimes paranoia has a basis. The key is to see the wood from the trees and not let the flack destabilize you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Used in therapeutic setting, 22 April 2012
By 
Ian Robinson "Ian" (Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Paranoid and Suspicious Thoughts (Paperback)
I have used this range of material in therapeutic settings, good responses from clients - Also, They know you bought this book, as they are watching you, they are watching you everywhere - they are all out to get you !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb110a804)

This product

Overcoming Paranoid and Suspicious Thoughts
Overcoming Paranoid and Suspicious Thoughts by Philippa A. Garety (Paperback - 29 Jun 2006)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews