Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS SERIES JUST GETS BETTTER & BETTER !
Having already read the three previous titles in the Joe Sandilands series, I was very much looking forward to this, the latest installment.Ms.Cleverly has come up with another winner, the sense of time and place is magical, with a plot that twists and turns like a corkscrew.
Do yourself a favour - go back to the beginning and start with 'Last Kashmiri Rose'- then...
Published on 12 Dec. 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing
Set in the last era of the Raj the atmosphere is well established. Joe Sandilands is a believable and likeable protagonist and while the 'adventure' is less credible, it is nevertheless a good read
Published on 24 Mar. 2013 by Cath Catt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS SERIES JUST GETS BETTTER & BETTER !, 12 Dec. 2004
By A Customer
Having already read the three previous titles in the Joe Sandilands series, I was very much looking forward to this, the latest installment.Ms.Cleverly has come up with another winner, the sense of time and place is magical, with a plot that twists and turns like a corkscrew.
Do yourself a favour - go back to the beginning and start with 'Last Kashmiri Rose'- then read them all. You'll be hooked too. Roll on the next one in the series !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Palace Tiger by Barbara Cleverly, 2 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an avowed Indiaphile, I loved this! The story is set in a palace, during the final days of British rule, and the story rollocks along at a good pace with interesting twists and turns --- full of surprises and dark deeds...
Barbara Cleverly has a gift for setting the scene in period - and this little story is full of details true to the times.
For someone who enjoys the exotic side of Indian history - no question! Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a treat, 28 Nov. 2005
By 
This review is from: The Palace Tiger (Joe Sandilands 4) (Joe Sandilands Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
i enjoyed this book very much. it kept me guessing 'til the end, and maybe i missed the clues but i hadn't sussed whodunnit, but didn't feel cheated that i hadn't suspected the guilty party as i found it quite plausible. i've enjoyed the books being set in india as it's a peek into another world and time. i'm disappointed the next is set in the uk, but no doubt once i find the time to start it will be as hooked as i have been by cleverly's writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enya, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This story held a special interest for me as my mother was born in India and my grandfather served there during this period. The plot was somewhat complicated and with the Indian names one had to concentrate on who did what. An intriguing story with details of the lifestyle in India during the 1920s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indian mystery, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a five star read. The descriptions of India and the period setting conjour up images and aromas to take you into the world of Joe Sandilands and his investigations. The way of life of the Raj and the British diplomats and their wives abroad are beautifully portrayed and intrigue abounds in both quarters to keep Joe on his guard. The characters dance before your eyes, some vivacious, others sad and still more with their secrets, and yet sometimes so subtly introduced you feel you know them intimately from the briefest of meetings. The plot unfolds with pace but is not rushed and allows you to assimilate the information that Joe is acquiring and form your own judgements. I find the series intriguing am always left with the need for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Atmospheric Who-Dunnit, 2 Mar. 2013
By 
Elizabeth Westray "liz-westray" (Middle England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Where have these books been? I'd never come across Barbara Cleverly before and now am hooked! Why hasn't Joe Sandilands made it onto the screen? Great characters, well paced, and, in this case, a superb insight into the politics of the Raj - other books in the series are set in other countries - and has all the timeless elegance of Agatha Christie with a bit more depth and bite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid read, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author of this book appears to be intimately acquainted with India during the latter part of the Raj and has crafted a believable narrative containing a miscellany of believable characters. At first the narrative seemed too detailed and ponderous but the story soon gripped me and I found the book difficult to put down. This is a good solid and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite interesting view into Indian customs..., 22 Mar. 2013
In addition to the agreeable presence of Sandilands, and his sleuthing, this novel gave a very interesting glimpse into Northern Indian culture & habits till after the Great War...specially those related to "royalty", the "guiding" hands of the British Empire, and of course, palace intrigue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very clever plot. Keeps you guessing right to the end!, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great descriptions of the Raj and colonial Times. You feel the smells and sights of India. The book is very subtle and easy to read but keeps you hooked right to the end. Brilliant read! Can't wait to read the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great tale of India, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The intrigue of Indian royalty and courtiers amidst sumptuous wealth and the machinations of British politics are all contained in this murder mystery, which is once again solved with the help of our hero, Joe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Palace Tiger (Joe Sandilands 4) (Joe Sandilands Murder Mystery)
The Palace Tiger (Joe Sandilands 4) (Joe Sandilands Murder Mystery) by Barbara Cleverly (Paperback - 23 Jun. 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews