Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Inspiring Read
This is an absolutely brilliant book. I sell a few items on e-bay anyway however after reading this book it has inspired me to try a bit harder and I'm sure will have the same effect on many more people. It is great that the author has given a step by step guide on setting up your account and lots of helpful tips.

I would definitely recommend this book to...
Published 5 months ago by robert myles muirend

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only if you're a real beginner!!!
Having seen an article about the author in the press recently, I thought I'd have a read of this to see if I can learn anything, especially as it is relatively cheap. Can be read in a day; it's not difficult to understand - no jargon. Despite having a 2014 publish date in my copy, parts are out of date! It still has the 'old' *(i.e. pre April 2013) royal mail parcel...
Published 5 months ago by Blebby


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only if you're a real beginner!!!, 31 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Easy eBay Business Guide: The story of one person's success and a step-by-step guide to doing it yourself (Paperback)
Having seen an article about the author in the press recently, I thought I'd have a read of this to see if I can learn anything, especially as it is relatively cheap. Can be read in a day; it's not difficult to understand - no jargon. Despite having a 2014 publish date in my copy, parts are out of date! It still has the 'old' *(i.e. pre April 2013) royal mail parcel services listed (no 'small parcel') so this section is nearly useless! Also surprised that only 'turbo lister' was detailed as a listing tool; I gave up on this years ago as it kept on corrupting the locally stored database with all my listings in! I didn't realise serious sellers still used it. Pages are devoted to step-by-step how to use Turbo-lister. In fact the second half of the book is full of step-by-step instructions which, apart from for a complete novice, seem a waste of space. Having read the book, I don't understand how the author makes any real money, after taking into account ALL the costs involved in running a business in the way detailed (e.g. employing 2 picker/packers, book-keeper, accountant, and all the time involved); how can this pay more than the minimum wage after VAT, Tax etc? Ah yes, VAT. Despite turning over more than the VAT threshold limit in their fist year, no mention of VAT at all. Nor paying Tax on profit (or anything Inland-Revenue-y). I didn't learn anything really; all that they learnt, I learnt too by doing it, as it's not rocket science - just common sense really if you're trying to make money. If you're just starting out then it might be useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not bother!, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Easy eBay Business Guide: The story of one person's success and a step-by-step guide to doing it yourself (Paperback)
Firstly I should say that I have been selling and buying on ebay for years and have enough practical experience to consider whether this book succeeds as a guide.

There is some useful information, a lot of the writers advice is common sense and it is good to follow a new ebayer through her teething problems. However, I found that large and important areas are not covered well and in the depth that they should have been and others not at all. As a result it would be wrong to slavishly follow her recommendations and working practices. She throws stats of her increased sales around but we know little of her actual profitability. If book buyers are to follow her edicts they need to know that what she advocates actually work. The overall impression I have is that she is still naive and frankly not competent to write a guide.

The book is aimed at people who want to seriously TRADE on ebay. If you are looking for guidance on getting started on ebay with a view to selling personal items or those sourced through sales this book is not for you. Actually if you are thinking of trading it is not for you either!
Many pages are devoted to leading you by the hand through the listing procedures. In practice it is self evident as you go along. I cannot see that anybody would proceed following the many steps set out in the book. And using Turbocharger is not a good way to go.
One of the most important areas that troubles new ebayers concerns setting a starting price and deciding on the selling format, auction or buy it now. There is no help and guidance about this in this book. The writer, with her experience, is ideally placed to offer advice but avoids it altogether.
Another troublesome area for new ebayers is postage. This trader buy stock, lists it and then packs it after the sale has concluded. How does she know what P & P to charge in the listing, she does not say. This is serious and misleading. By guessing postage costs a seller will undercharge which is not a good business practice or overcharge which will lead to bad feedback ultimately affecting the profitability of the business.
There is no mention of buying postage through ebay which prints the label doing away with the time consuming process of writing labels by hand. It costs no more, and the funds are taken from the PayPal account. Nor does she cover buying postage through the PO website. Perhaps the writer considered and rejected these avenues but she does not say so.
Much is made of the success of reducing postage costs thereby increasing profit. I do follow this at all as postage is paid by the buyer. If she means that she sells everything with free P&P and does not include the postage in the selling price then this is poor business practice. If not, and she actually congratulates herself on bringing down “our postage costs” from 35 to 17%, then it looks very much as if the writer has profited on postage which is against ebay rules.
And be aware that the PO has changed criteria so a lot of what is written is out of date.
Selling on ebay reaches buyers all over the World but the writer does not even cover selling abroad, as if she has never considered it. She only mentions how to deal with International postage.
There is one tool that the writer has apparently not come across. As she clearly worked on streamlining her business I am surprised she did not find it. Garagesale is just one of several APPs for creating and maintaining listings. It is far more compact and far less time consuming than listing directly to ebay. They also offer a large selection of templates to help present your listing in a tempting way free.
I could go on picking the book apart but will end by saying that it is a failure as a guide for anybody who wants to start selling on ebay. It does not contain enough sound advice on the very basic points like setting a starting price, choosing a format, dealing with P & P and selling abroad. And there is sketchy, out of date and muddled information on postage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Inspiring Read, 21 Feb 2014
This is an absolutely brilliant book. I sell a few items on e-bay anyway however after reading this book it has inspired me to try a bit harder and I'm sure will have the same effect on many more people. It is great that the author has given a step by step guide on setting up your account and lots of helpful tips.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone and everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Easy eBay Business Guide: The story of one person's success and a step-by-step guide to doing it yourself (Paperback)
Have yet to study
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Easy eBay Business Guide: The story of one person's success and a step-by-step guide to doing it yourself (Paperback)
Great advice for setting up an ebay business
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal book to discover the joys and the pitfalls of ebay, 26 April 2014
By 
A. M. Alexander "action stations" (Glasgow Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Easy eBay Business Guide: The story of one person's success and a step-by-step guide to doing it yourself (Paperback)
A very useful handbook in which the Author has set out clearly how to become an active participant in the Great Ebay Game . Enjoy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy EBay Business Guide, 6 April 2014
By 
Mrs. Maureen E. Schafer (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Easy eBay Business Guide: The story of one person's success and a step-by-step guide to doing it yourself (Paperback)
Excellent So easy to read and understand. I would recommend everyone who hasn,t sold yet on EBay to buy it.Promp delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 14 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Easy eBay Business Guide: The story of one person's success and a step-by-step guide to doing it yourself (Paperback)
Found this book very helpful for setting up an ebay shop, gave lots of helpful tips. well worth the money, would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Easy eBay Business Guide: The story of one person's success and a step-by-step guide to doing it yourself (Paperback)
What a really inspiring and useful book. I can't wait to put the advice into practice. Just waiting for good weather to get out into the garage to empty it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars saved me making lots of mistakes, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Easy eBay Business Guide: The story of one person's success and a step-by-step guide to doing it yourself (Paperback)
have just glossed through it so far as I am typically impatient. am not the type to do masses of research but the insight and expertise shown by the author has saved me time and money. Definitely worth the small investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews