Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful, well-written book
As a beginner at the game, I enjoyed No-limit Texas Hold'em For Winners and found it very enlightening and helpful. Of course, as a beginner, it's also apparent that I can't be certain whether the advice given is excellent, ruinous or where it falls in between those extremes, but I get a strong feeling that it leans heavily towards the former. The language used is lucid...
Published on 30 Jun 2009 by A. P. Derham

versus
23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars looks a lot like many bogus reviews
Just wanted to draw everybody attention to the fact that every reviewer have only 2 review, that those 2 reviews are always of the author 2 books and that reviews of both books are identical to the word for each reviewer

I think anyone should take that in consideration
Published on 5 Jun 2009 by Renaud Nicolas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful, well-written book, 30 Jun 2009
By 
A. P. Derham (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a beginner at the game, I enjoyed No-limit Texas Hold'em For Winners and found it very enlightening and helpful. Of course, as a beginner, it's also apparent that I can't be certain whether the advice given is excellent, ruinous or where it falls in between those extremes, but I get a strong feeling that it leans heavily towards the former. The language used is lucid and the teaching is logically and clearly structured; the authors have talent in these respects and are fine communicators. Strategies for all four betting rounds are proposed. Crucially, the logic behind those strategies and for approaches towards other aspects of the game is well explained so that the reader doesn't merely follow a blueprint but becomes versed in the reasoning behind the advice given. Other facets of the game are discussed such as deception, playing styles, stacks and blinds. There is a splendid piece about the role of luck in the game which is useful to all of us who believe we don't get our fair share of it. Although the book is comprehensive, it would have been helpful to squeeze in a few more pages about tournament and internet play and there are a few slips in the text, a tad disappointing in a second edition. The book seems to be of considerable value to beginners who are serious about improving and, I suspect, to better and more experienced players, too. It does demand the reader works hard to get the best from it. I'm very glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars looks a lot like many bogus reviews, 5 Jun 2009
By 
Renaud Nicolas "crunchh" (france) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just wanted to draw everybody attention to the fact that every reviewer have only 2 review, that those 2 reviews are always of the author 2 books and that reviews of both books are identical to the word for each reviewer

I think anyone should take that in consideration
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the only book you'll ever need, 5 July 2013
By 
Andrew (East Kilbride, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a broad-based introduction to the Hold 'Em game, and literally starts with some basics about where to buy cards, etiquette and the basic rules. It advances nicely through to more advanced concepts, but doesn't quite hit the nail on the head for playing deeper and more aggressive play, and . I loved reading it through though, and got a few extra pointers that other books missed. There are some sloppy mistakes too, for example the table of possible hands talks about kickers for 3-of-a-kind and 4-of-a-kind and "the next best pair" if two full houses have the same 3-of-a-kind. Ouch! A beginner might get baffled by this. Some of the odds seem a bit off too (I think another reviewer mentioned this), but it's not going to hurt your game unless you eat maths and never come up against a loose aggressive player who tries to dominate a table! And you will.

Overall superb though, and anyone starting out with little knowledge of the game will quickly progress to a reasonable level of competence if they read this through from beginning to end. The little quizzes, the laid back writing style, and the tables with probabilities are a really useful reference when playing slower online games too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 30 July 2009
By 
Rob Collins "Bobby C" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has massively improved my poker skills. I can't really compare it to others as it's my first poker book. I did find it pretty simple to understand and the exercises helped to consolidate my knowledge and undertand the principles in action. One area it's lacking is related to tournaments, but they really require their own specialist books. Highly recommended introduction to cash games that I think would help make most small-stakes cash game poker players profitable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLE BUT COMPLETE, 16 Sep 2009
By 
SERGIO VIEIRA "riskolas" (braga, portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've 3 or 4 Poker books but this one is just like I needed a poker book to be.

I've read only 25% of it but so far so perfect!

I've decided to return to online play only after reading it all so I can't evaluate it correctly.

But as a book it is awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written, Thorough, Entertaining, 19 May 2009
By 
Mr. B. H. Carver "HC" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've seen a few different books claiming to teach you how to play poker like the pros but this is the only one that keeps its promise. You start with a thorough introduction to the rules of the game and the procedure of play, explaining the hands, the positions around the table and the way play unfolds. This comes with "spot the hand" examples that would be useful to beginners.

What then follows is a very clear, lucid mathematical explanation of how to win - you'll learn how to quickly estimate the odds of winning a given hand and then how to work out whether a bet is likely to be profitable or not. This is explained fully with maths and examples, and is backed up by an appendix of probability tables that you can use for reference. After setting out the basics of how to work out whether a bet is good or bad, you're shown in detail how to apply the theory to every stage of the game - how position around the table should affect your betting, what effect other players should have on you, when to take risks, what is a 'good' hand, when to decide if calling is too expensive. Again, all of this is backed up by simple maths with some example poker dilemmas at the end of each chapter so you can test your progress and check the model answer to see what you should have done in those circumstances.

The book also covers styles of play - how to read another player, and get to know their style and betting patterns. This gives you a simple system for classifying your opponents, and explains how to play against each. Even better, it goes on to tell you how to deceive your opponents and remain unpredictable.

What really stands out about this book is the passion it communicates for the game alongside a fascination with both the mathematical and psychological aspects of playing it to win. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well structured, but not well written, misleading errors in calculations, 6 May 2009
By 
M. Bullock (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In my opinion the "friendly" tone this book adopts is a bit irritating although some of the concepts are made very clear and the book is structured well.

I am unimpressed by the glaring errors on page 57 and 58, in which it is claimed the odds of hitting an open-ended straight draw on the turn or river are 5-to-1 when they are actually closer to 2-to-1. Good job I have a degree in maths! Will be selling this book and getting a proper one. You get what you pay for I imagine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly comprehensive guide to No-Limit Holdem, 16 Oct 2008
By 
As almost a complete novice at poker, particularly Hold'em, I wasn't quite sure what to look for in this book. However, I found it all. Whatever aspect of the game interests you, there's an excellent primer on it here.
Naturally, most of the book focuses on the strategy of the game. It's quite an intensive trip for a beginner; there are a lot of new ideas to take in. However, in my view that's a good thing - you really feel like you're getting your money's worth. Every concept is explained clearly, with helpful examples, and there are test questions throughout which help both for practice and to clarify more intricate uses of the techniques. The cartoons are a little distracting, but there aren't too many and the rest of the book is very sound, written in a style that's clear and precise, but still easy to absorb.
I was also impressed by the amount of consideration given to other aspects of the game. A section on online play reveals the differences between this (the reason for the game's sudden overwhelming popularity) and standard "live" play. There's a chapter on cheating (not how to do it, but how to avoid being suckered by it), a section on poker psychology, a discussion of other poker games, and - most helpful of all - a chapter on money management and how to use it to keep track of your progress as a player.

The book dispels the fog of mystery almost harshly, but in doing so reveals that the game is, after all, learnable. It doesn't rely on gut feelings or some innate psychic ability. To start winning games, all you need is an understanding of some concrete, provable ideas - and this book shows you how.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for beginners and experts, 17 Oct 2008
I've read a few books by the likes of Sklansky, Brunson, Harrington etc. which have helped me improve but they are either on Fixed-Limit (popular in America I understand) or are aimed at tournaments or complete beginners. This book is different in that it contains everything about No Limit Hold'em cash games (and a bit on tournaments) that you could possibly want to know. It is by far the most comprehensive and well structured book I have come across with the author taking you through each stage of the learning process with clear explanations along the way as to why certain actions are preferable to others. Just reading the 10 pages on bluffing would turn most unprofitable players into profitable ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more poker books like this please, 23 Oct 2008
If you think poker is hard to learn, try writing about it. To be honest, you don't even need to put finger to keyboard to determine how hard it is. Just look at the volume of poker books out there and compare with the number of true classics - you can probably count the latter on the fingers of one hand.

Shorten your search to "introductory books about no limit hold em", and I'd say only this one is left. It's well written, and an impressive compendium of all the things a player should be looking out for in their first year or two of playing poker: the rules, psychology, maths, playing styles, money management, and so on. There are a good few percentage tables and hand quizzes to boot.

Not only a pretender to becoming the industry standard introductory book, it's also a tonic for those readers tired of publications purporting to be "expert advice", but turning out to be no more than transcripts of the ramblings of a high-profile player. Note to publishers: this is how a poker book should be written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf2bb84c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews