Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that lives up to its reputation
The review reproduced below is from a recent edition of FAMILY FRIENDLY WORKING.

Book Review: Mastering Bookkeeping by Dr Peter Marshall

"...this is a genuine attempt to be a complete guide to teaching students how to be skilled in the art of bookkeeping.Within this book which is an accredited textbook of the Institute of Certified Bookkeepers, there...
Published on 30 Nov. 2010 by Hs London Ltd

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mastering book-keeping Marshall
I have a 3rd level education in engineering and having done my own bookkeeping for the last 20 years. I have presented my accountant with my figures for all of that time, including ledgers. This book skims the concept of double entry too quickly for me and charges towards test pages too quickly. Fundamentally the text is sound but as a tool to provide me with a path to an...
Published on 20 Feb. 2012 by Max Cancale


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mastering book-keeping Marshall, 20 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Mastering Book-Keeping 9th Edition: A Complete Guide to the Principles and Practice of Business Accounting (Paperback)
I have a 3rd level education in engineering and having done my own bookkeeping for the last 20 years. I have presented my accountant with my figures for all of that time, including ledgers. This book skims the concept of double entry too quickly for me and charges towards test pages too quickly. Fundamentally the text is sound but as a tool to provide me with a path to an Icb qualification, I find it flawed.
I now feel that I am going to have to pay for an online course, unfortunately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that lives up to its reputation, 30 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Mastering Book-Keeping 9th Edition: A Complete Guide to the Principles and Practice of Business Accounting (Paperback)
The review reproduced below is from a recent edition of FAMILY FRIENDLY WORKING.

Book Review: Mastering Bookkeeping by Dr Peter Marshall

"...this is a genuine attempt to be a complete guide to teaching students how to be skilled in the art of bookkeeping.Within this book which is an accredited textbook of the Institute of Certified Bookkeepers, there are two distinct halves. The first half is the practical teaching - showing the document flow between two businesses that trade together, how and why double entry bookkeeping is done and dealing with such things as bad debt, reconciliation and compiling revenue accounts. This is not the end of the guidance that this book provides, but there are too many sections to describe here. I am a novice when it comes to issues of finance, and I would be confident in this book providing the answers that I need in order to keep the books balanced in any business I was running.

The second, just as valuable section is towards the end of the book. This section is simply a selection of examination papers with sample model answers for the ICB (Institute of Certified Bookkeepers), IAB (International Association of Book-keepers) as well as for OCR (Oxford Cambridge and RSA Examinations UK awarding body) providing GCSE's and AAT (Association of Accounting Technicians) National Vocational Qualifications.

Overall this is a book that needs to be on your shelf if you are serious about becoming qualified in bookkeeping. Even if this is something that you're not interested in, this book will be essential to your business before very long."

Total Marks: 5/5

Book Title: Mastering Bookkeeping by Dr Peter Marshall

Reviewed by: Will Roney

This entry was posted on Wednesday, November 17th, 2010 at 9:00 am and is filed under book reviews, finance. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A dated and uninformative approach, 29 Jan. 2007
By 
C. Thomas "christhomas123" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A typical explanation taken from this book starts "Take a sheet of A4 paper and write the date in one corner. Add a second column and write the persons name. Then add the amount..."

It's not so much an introduction to accounting, as primer for people who need to write detailed accounts without the benefit of a computer. It glosses over important concepts such as balance sheets and double-entry, yet has great detail on the book layout of types of accounts. As such, it's a fairly dated approach, which doesn't offer much of an insight to the principles and practice of business accounting.

Accounts Demystified by Anthony Rice is a much better (and more up to date) book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, 24 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Book-Keeping 9th Edition: A Complete Guide to the Principles and Practice of Business Accounting (Paperback)
I have found this really very helpful, detailed, pretty comprehensive I think, volume of the basics of bookkeeping. For me it has filled in where my distance learning course didn't quite say everything; or at least to provide a very helpful sound book to give a different slant, fill in any gaps, give a bit more detail.A fair chunk is given over to example exam questions from the different boards. These give a taster, but it is only one example examination for each exam. So if you feel that you want more practice than one set of questions.....But for me the value of the text was/is quite sufficient and one can get further example exams from other sources if wanted/needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a book, 17 Mar. 2013
By 
C. Mcilravey "I. Mcilravey" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Book-Keeping 9th Edition: A Complete Guide to the Principles and Practice of Business Accounting (Paperback)
Just started doing a bookkeeping course with the Open University and bought this book to go alongside it - really good book and can I just say when you get it don't get overwhelemed by it just take your time and work through it at your own pace and don't jump chapters. Otherwise recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant study aid, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Book-Keeping 9th Edition: A Complete Guide to the Principles and Practice of Business Accounting (Paperback)
I decided to do a book-keeping course even though I don't work in that field and found this book to be so informative, easy to understand and use. It also has past exam questions in the back so that you can practice which really helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The must have book, 5 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Book-Keeping 9th Edition: A Complete Guide to the Principles and Practice of Business Accounting (Paperback)
If you are learning bookkeeping and want to become a bookkeeper, and need more things explained without any confusing waffle then is your bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK reference book, 12 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Book-Keeping 9th Edition: A Complete Guide to the Principles and Practice of Business Accounting (Paperback)
This book is not that great at explaining the concepts contained within, there is not enough detail. It has the advantage though of having past papers at the back which can cost up to £5 each individually, depending on where you source them. All-in-all an ok reference book and once cost is off-set against the included past paper (with solution) it works out reasonably priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Book-Keeping 9th Edition: A Complete Guide to the Principles and Practice of Business Accounting (Paperback)
I've been studying bookkeeping for a while. Apart from my Kaplan textbook this is the most informative and helpful book so far.And a bonus to have the past exam papers at the back. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK for exams but?, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Book-Keeping 9th Edition: A Complete Guide to the Principles and Practice of Business Accounting (Paperback)
Very much geared to exams rather than someone who wants to master book-keeping. Some of the methods seen rather old-fashioned and not sufficiently in the computer age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews