Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insightful and inspiring read...
I recently borrowed this book from the library but after reading the first two chapters i rushed out to buy my own copy! The book is an essential read for anyone starting out as a freelancer within the publishing field. It covers a range of topics, from equipping yourself for home working, to creating a successful website and marketing yourself to potential clients. The...
Published on 4 Mar 2012 by Phillippa

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not much of an index for this book
I judge books by their index. I wonder if this book has any mention of professional freelance indexers. If so, why hasn't the book been indexed by one? The index is just one page long. Can't be much to look up in the book then. So I won't be buying a copy.
Published on 23 May 2012 by Sophisticated


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insightful and inspiring read..., 4 Mar 2012
This review is from: How to succeed as a Freelancer in Publishing: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
I recently borrowed this book from the library but after reading the first two chapters i rushed out to buy my own copy! The book is an essential read for anyone starting out as a freelancer within the publishing field. It covers a range of topics, from equipping yourself for home working, to creating a successful website and marketing yourself to potential clients. The chapter on working with 'frenemies' is particularly insightful and there is a useful chapter focusing on the different freelance roles available within the publishing sector The book is clear, well written and funny, and the authors share stories of their own freelance experiences which i found encouraging. If, like me, you're looking to branch out as a freelancer but haven't a clue where to start, make buying this book your first step!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A practical guide that's ideal for freelancing newbies, 26 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to succeed as a Freelancer in Publishing: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
This is a straightforward, earnest guide to getting started in the world of freelancing. As another reviewer points out, many of the tips are useful to anyone who's interested in becoming a freelance, so the appeal of the book is broader than the title suggests.

The authors focus on the need for professionalism, but, thankfully, that doesn't make the content stuffy or staid; in fact, the humour helps to make this a refreshing read.

I was heartened to learn about the mistakes the authors made when starting their fledgling businesses. Kudos for the candour, I say!

I have been working freelance as an editor and technical writer for about a year, and so I've already faced and overcome a number of the challenges mentioned in the book, but I'm certain that I would have found matters far simpler had I gained access to this information when I was starting out. On that basis, I have no hesitation in recommending this guide to anyone who is thinking about grasping the nettle and becoming a freelance; undoubtedly, this book will help you along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for freelancers in the media field, 2 Dec 2010
By 
M. Coombs (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to succeed as a Freelancer in Publishing: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
I'm in the process of setting up my own communication business and, although this book is specifically targetted at publishing, most of the advice is also highly relevant to setting up in a related field.

Well written and divided into sections that you can either dip in to or read in full, this book also contains lots of examples to highlight the dos and don'ts of freelancing, taken from the personal experience of the authors. Definitely a recommended read for anyone considering going solo in this, or a related, field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book useful and entertaining, 31 May 2011
This review is from: How to succeed as a Freelancer in Publishing: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
I have recently started a business as a proof reader and copy editor but long to get into ghostwriting. This book was great help. It layed it all out clearly, from even thinking about starting out to getting going. It also includes advice from other experts in related fields as well as superb clear advice from the authors. Very well written, easy to read and informative. I loved it and would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who'd be a freelancer?, 7 Nov 2012
By 
Jubacca (East Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to succeed as a Freelancer in Publishing: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
A very useful book containing information that could be sensibly applied to any freelance business, not necessarily just in publishing. It's refreshing to find a book written by British people, aimed at the British industry/market. So many similar books these days are aimed at either the US or Global markets.

The book is full of common sense tips and friendly anecdotes. Rather than offering any groundbreaking new ideas, it does offer a certain amount of support and confidence building. It shows that launching a business can be done, whatever your circumstances. Those who are wavering on the point of 'should I? / shouldn't I?' could use this book to help them decide whether or not the business is right for them. It demonstrates the good and bad side of freelancing.

All in all, a good read, and something to keep on the shelf to dip in and out of in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A freelancer's bible!, 2 Mar 2011
By 
L. C. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to succeed as a Freelancer in Publishing: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
Saw this book featured in The Bookseller under 'The best books on publishing' and thought I'd give it a read as I am thinking about a career in freelancing. It is smart, funny, practical and insightful. Buy it, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for freelancers in publishing, 14 Dec 2010
This review is from: How to succeed as a Freelancer in Publishing: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
This book is essential reading for anyone embarking on a freelance career in publishing or a related field! Highly accessible, the book is divided into bite sized chunks that cover each of the essential areas of freelance publishing. It includes information and insights on client management, marketing and finance as well as lots insideer knowledge on how to succeed. This book addresses the business of freelance writing in a way that is informative, insightful, engaging and funny. I would highly recommend this book to anyone considering or planning a career in freelance publishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Warmly recomended!, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to succeed as a Freelancer in Publishing: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
This was one of the first books I bought when setting up as a freelance proofreader and copy-editor. I would consider it an essential part of anyone's booklist when considering a startup or even when working in the industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read book!, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to succeed as a Freelancer in Publishing: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
A well-written, up to date, succinct book on the subject, full of useful advice from people who have been there, seen it, done it! I thoroughly recommend it for those setting out on a freelance career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know in one empowering book, 2 Mar 2012
By 
R. (Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to succeed as a Freelancer in Publishing: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
A delightful read, this book gathers everything you need to know on the subject - from taxes to technology - and is filled with useful testimonials from experienced professionals.
I congratulate the authors for not having been afraid of sharing these precious tips and I recommend this book to everyone who is serious about freelancing in publishing (even if you are not in the UK).

I used to work in a Portuguese publishing group and I was fantasizing about going freelance when suddenly I received news I was being let go. Being a practical person I took action right away, using this book as a lighthouse. A few months later, I feel better than ever, business is growing and my website is already up and running. Thank you Emma Murray and Charlie Wilson for being such an inspiration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to succeed as a Freelancer in Publishing: The Complete Guide
How to succeed as a Freelancer in Publishing: The Complete Guide by Charlie Wilson (Paperback - 29 Oct 2010)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews