Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last a book for the truly ambitious in the music industry
I have this book to thank for inspiring my cousin, who after leaving school had no idea what steps to take to get into the music industry. The problem was that he only had a vague idea of what exactly he wanted to do. Curious, I flicked a multitude of books and was dismayed at the number of them that offered quick fixes, or perfect paths for would-be singers. That just...
Published on 9 Jun. 2009 by Moriarty

versus
3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
This book is good but if you have read book like this before then you won't find anything new it all says the same thing in the end. If you want something controversial and different I recommend `the essential guide for serious singers and musicians.' Why? It is rare for writers to be honest and frank about what really goes on inside the music industry and bold enough...
Published on 3 July 2008 by Diamonds67


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last a book for the truly ambitious in the music industry, 9 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Working In The Music Industry 3rd Edition: How to Find an Exciting and Varied Career in the World of Music (Paperback)
I have this book to thank for inspiring my cousin, who after leaving school had no idea what steps to take to get into the music industry. The problem was that he only had a vague idea of what exactly he wanted to do. Curious, I flicked a multitude of books and was dismayed at the number of them that offered quick fixes, or perfect paths for would-be singers. That just wasn't him. So I was impressed by the depth and sincerity of the research in this book immediately, as well as the clarity of the advice. I knew that it would actually connect with him. I actually read it from cover to cover before I handed it over, really thrilled to find a reference book that did not try and patronise or give false expectations of overnight fame. Now he knows that music marketing or PR would make best use of his talents and he is eager to make the journey to follow that dream.

I would recommend this book for anyone with a teenager just about to set out into the difficult and confusing world of work. Or even for graduates to buy themselves, as the information is just as relevant. I now know what A & R is and the importance of various roles such as production, the qualifications and aptitudes needed to succeed.

This definitely isn't aimed at anyone wanting tips to win talent shows or anyone who has vague ambitions of 'maybe being in a band.' It has got a lot more going for it than that. It won't delude the young into thinking that five minutes of fame is better than a solid, rewarding and well paid career. Anyone who follows the advice in this book could be one of the next mover and shaker in the industry, rather than a five minute wonder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars upbeat and practical insider's view, 9 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Working In The Music Industry 3rd Edition: How to Find an Exciting and Varied Career in the World of Music (Paperback)
'Working In the Music Industry' is not a book about making it as a musician, but is divided into chapters exploring the jobs and people in the BACKGROUND of every pop star, rock band or world-famous conductor. This is not a how-to guide for would-be pop stars. (Phew.) Instead, it's a no-nonsense insider's view on the real work in the real industry. A great read for anyone who loves, loves, loves music and wishes to explore a career here...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Must be read!, 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working In The Music Industry 3rd Edition: How to Find an Exciting and Varied Career in the World of Music (Paperback)
Really good and easy book to read. Perfect for someone like me who isn't really sure how to get there foot in the door in the music industry. recommend to anyone who is going through the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent insight into the wonderful world of music, 12 Oct. 2004
By A Customer
Thinking about a career path is very difficult for us youngsters especially when all you want to be is the next Noel Gallagher. I learnt so much about the structure of the music industry and what options were available to me. This book really did help me - a must read for anyone considering any role in the music industry, whatever your age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music Industry, 1 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working In The Music Industry 3rd Edition: How to Find an Exciting and Varied Career in the World of Music (Paperback)
This was a present for a young man who is very much "into" muisc - he was thrilled with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Working In The Music Industry 3rd Edition: How to Find an Exciting and Varied Career in the World of Music (Paperback)
A good book for ideas/advise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable industry surface skimmer, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book, especially for music industry students needing a broad understanding of industry roles. The roles cover are varied enough however, obviously greater depths exist as do case studies. The case studies in the book aren't really case studies although they do give some insight into how an individual got a particular job.
An invaluable resource for students, a good refresher for industry workers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music Industry, 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working In The Music Industry 3rd Edition: How to Find an Exciting and Varied Career in the World of Music (Paperback)
Packed with information. Good read. Well laid out. Liked how the book was divided into sections. Would recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 3 July 2008
This book is good but if you have read book like this before then you won't find anything new it all says the same thing in the end. If you want something controversial and different I recommend `the essential guide for serious singers and musicians.' Why? It is rare for writers to be honest and frank about what really goes on inside the music industry and bold enough to speak out against it. It also points out that you can make it big time without the music industry and most books don't tell you this! I don't think that I can find any book anywhere that really starts from the fundamental leading to progressive knowledge of the inside workings of the music industry regarding its control and unfair monopoly over bands. Okay this book is good for loads of information but if falls short of what I think is required i.e. the fuller picture of the music world. This book you cal also get on Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews