Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up-to-date with online tools, easy to read, ideal for beginners
The enormous amount of historical data and records now available online have changed the approach and rapidly reduced the amount of time and cost required to research your family tree.

Some family history research books now seem quite dated and don't reflect the latest techniques available. Other books about online research seem to be simple directories of...
Published on 4 Jan. 2010 by David Chambers

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 100% satisfied.
Quick delivery and well packed, 100% satisfied.
Published 9 months ago by M. Weller


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up-to-date with online tools, easy to read, ideal for beginners, 4 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Your Family Tree Online: How to Trace Your Ancestry From Your Own Computer (Paperback)
The enormous amount of historical data and records now available online have changed the approach and rapidly reduced the amount of time and cost required to research your family tree.

Some family history research books now seem quite dated and don't reflect the latest techniques available. Other books about online research seem to be simple directories of relevant websites. Family tree programs often include manuals on how to use the program, but not how to do the research itself.

I found this book very easy to read and well presented. It walked through the process of how to use the various online databases to build your tree. Not everything can be done online of course, and the book explained where to draw the line. To me this would be a good, straightforward introductory book ideal as a gift (or for yourself) for someone about to start on their research.

Specifically appropriate for UK readers, although references to other countries records is included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The internet was made for genealogy, 26 Feb. 2010
By 
Russ. M (Coventry, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Family Tree Online: How to Trace Your Ancestry From Your Own Computer (Paperback)
If you're setting out to research your family then you will need to know your way around the internet and this book is a good place to start. It covers many subjects that you may not have considered and for the price it is worth having on the book shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!, 3 Sept. 2011
By 
P. Varley "Phil" (Cirencester Glos UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Family Tree Online: How to Trace Your Ancestry From Your Own Computer (Paperback)
This is a very useful book. perfect for Family Historians who primarily use the internet for their research. I would thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where to look for records at the click of a mouse, 12 Aug. 2011
By 
This review is from: Your Family Tree Online: How to Trace Your Ancestry From Your Own Computer (Paperback)
This book demonstrates how the internet has transformed family history from the preserve of learned genealogists to one of the world's most popular amateur hobbies. No more draughty churchyards or dusty records offices, it shows you where to look at the click of a mouse from the comfort of your living room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty good, 10 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Family Tree Online: How to Trace Your Ancestry From Your Own Computer (Paperback)
I got this for my mother as she is doing our family tree she says it was helpful, we hit alot of brick walls and have exhusted everyother root, this lays things out clearly and give you new ways to approach trying to find missing relatives.
Mum was happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am tracing my family tree and this book helps me with websites that have info. Living in Scotland it is hard to get information without going to Register House, so any help I can get is great. I haven't read it all but as a reference book its great, thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family tree, 16 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Family Tree Online: How to Trace Your Ancestry From Your Own Computer (Paperback)
I think it is one of the best books on the subject for beginners.

Your Family Tree Online - Graeme Davis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Research Aid, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and informative ,a great aid in research outside the normal use of the available censuses a excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple approach, 30 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Family Tree Online: How to Trace Your Ancestry From Your Own Computer (Paperback)
Nothing really different to any other book on the subject. large print and not a great deal per page, ptobably could have bee printed with half the amount of paper. Not bad for the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FULL OF HELPFUL TIPS AND ADVICE, 12 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Family Tree Online: How to Trace Your Ancestry From Your Own Computer (Paperback)
Not really started using it as yet but it seems to be a very useful guide and whilst flicking through it I found useful tips and advice on family research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Your Family Tree Online: How to Trace Your Ancestry From Your Own Computer
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews