Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Writing Info
This book provides writing exercises if you want them, but for me the general text makes one or two excellent points. And if nothing else the book was worth buying for thesealone. The most important point: five minutes writing each day is preferable to two hours at the weekend. The brain gets trained to think up creatively at a moments notice. Another is write what you...
Published on 11 May 2009 by BRENDA ROBERTS

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I expected
Not quite as original or innovative as I'd hoped but nevertheless there are some ideas which I will try with my classes, particularly five-minute writing challenges
Published 15 months ago by Dije


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It worked, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Five-Minute Writer 2nd Edition: Exercise and Inspiration in Creative Writing in Five Minutes a Day (Paperback)
Been trying to get my wife to start writing so i ordered this for her. She read the first chapter as soon as it arrived and completed the first exercise straight away...it worked. Giving it four stars for now but if she becomes the next Jk Rowling I will increase it to five.

The End
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Write 5 minutes, every day, 22 Jun. 2012
By 
Asphodelia (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Five-Minute Writer 2nd Edition: Exercise and Inspiration in Creative Writing in Five Minutes a Day (Paperback)
The 5 Minute Writer is a book that promises to stimulate your creative mind and get your inspiration going so that you just sit down and write. Its Unique Selling Point is that it just asks five minutes of your time, no more, no less, although of course, you can always write more. There are plenty of interesting exercises and the real beauty of it is that you don't have to start from the beginning, ploughing through boring, `beginner's' drills before you get to something more demanding; instead, you can just open the book, pluck an exercise at random and just write. This will therefore appeal to anyone who is just beginning to explore creative writing and who is faced with the horror of the blank screen. What to write, how to write? We've all asked ourselves that question, right?

I would definitely recommend The Five Minute Writer to anyone who is starting out. It will definitely get you brain into the right frame of mind, and once you get into the habit it will become easier. Or so they say. Happy writing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Five-Minute Writer :o), 31 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Five-Minute Writer 2nd Edition: Exercise and Inspiration in Creative Writing in Five Minutes a Day (Paperback)
A great tool for when the dreaded block hits. More exercises that you can wiggle a pen at, some that are quite challenging. I can see that this book will become well-thumbed. :) Good value and thought-provoking. Every writer should check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas and very motivating, 24 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Five-Minute Writer 2nd Edition: Exercise and Inspiration in Creative Writing in Five Minutes a Day (Paperback)
I'd been looking for an interesting writing workbook for a while when I came across this book. I've been using it ever since I got it and it's great. The exercises really are 5-minutes but Margret Geraghty presents them in such a way that if you want to do more you have plenty of ideas to do so. I've been finding myself choosing to write more consistently which I'm really pleased about. This book is clearly laid out, easy to understand and very encouraging. I love it and I will be recommending it to other writers. A very worth-while buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth purchasing., 20 Feb. 2010
By 
Mrs Zippy (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Five-Minute Writer 2nd Edition: Exercise and Inspiration in Creative Writing in Five Minutes a Day (Paperback)
It`s a really useful tool for writers of differing abilities. I like the fact that you can dip into it, develop things if you wish or return to previous exercises to get still more out of them. Best of all it encourages original ideas and the avoidance of hackneyed phrases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful and Concise, 23 May 2011
By 
This review is from: The Five-Minute Writer 2nd Edition: Exercise and Inspiration in Creative Writing in Five Minutes a Day (Paperback)
Fantastic book, can't recommend it highly enough. You can literally pick a page at random and you'll find a useful section and accompanying exercise. No need to read from cover to cover in order to make sense of the different sections. The exercise's really help to free up your hand and get your thinking about you writing in novel ways. For the price this is an absolute must have resource for all creative writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great little book, 12 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Five-Minute Writer 2nd Edition: Exercise and Inspiration in Creative Writing in Five Minutes a Day (Paperback)
I noticed this book whilst visiting the new Library of Birmingham and ordered it as soon as I returned home. It came very quickly, and I couldn't wait to start dipping into it. As a member of a local U3A Creative Writing Group, I really appreciate the sound advice - many of the exercises are quite unexpected, but quick and simple and I believe, effective. Recommended to all such aspiring writers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful if you are suffering from writer's block, 28 Jan. 2011
By 
Oye "Oye" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Five-Minute Writer 2nd Edition: Exercise and Inspiration in Creative Writing in Five Minutes a Day (Paperback)
This book has almost 60 writing exercises that are designed to make you think more creatively. The exercises are fun, and they can be done in 5 minutes.

Well, most of them can be done in 5 minutes. Some of the exercises are very challenging, such as, name 101 uses for a newspaper, but they are still very fun.

I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars T he Five Minute Writer Exercise and inspiration, 26 Aug. 2013
By 
iris (west midlands uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Five-Minute Writer 2nd Edition: Exercise and Inspiration in Creative Writing in Five Minutes a Day (Paperback)
I purchased this book more recently and have found it quite useful , there are some good exercise in here along with good advice for creative writing
My best advice I will give is that this book is worth buying I have bought a few really great books on writing and try to write everyday
This books best use is for when you get bad writers block, and need inspiration creative thinking and a push to get writing again ,
Like most books about writing, it wont do the writing for you , you need to put the work in to get the most from your writing !
This book is written in a friendly manner and its great to dip into when you really need too worth the money one for the book shelf !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and challenging, 14 Feb. 2011
This review is from: The Five-Minute Writer 2nd Edition: Exercise and Inspiration in Creative Writing in Five Minutes a Day (Paperback)
The book is inispiring, as I hoped it would be. It also poses questions that are challenging to amateur writers. To be able to write you need to know what you want, and what`s holding you back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews