Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring can-do guide
This book's clear, concise advice is an inspiration. The author's can-do attitude makes the reader confident that they can give their script the best possible chance of getting into production.

The layout is really helpful -- the information is presented in bitesize pieces, with headings and sub heads, so it's easy to find a particular detail when you refer to...
Published on 11 Jun 2009 by B. Clare Grant

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but not great
It's an okay book, with many helpful tips for beginning writers.
Yet I've read many books on the subject and I must say I was a bit disappointed by this one.
It isn't very detailed, for instance.
For a very helpful introduction into the art of screenwriting, I'd recommend How Not to Write a Screenplay: 101 Common Mistakes Most Screenwriters Make...
Published on 1 Dec 2011 by Jonas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful resource, 9 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Write Great Screenplays and get them into production (Paperback)
Bought this book to help me develop an idea I have for a film; its very well structured and easy to use. The chapter layout and headings means you can jump to whatever you need help with at that point and find what you need. Also has loads of good external resources to help you on your way.

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for writers struggling to get their material read., 4 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Write Great Screenplays and get them into production (Paperback)
I've read a few screen writing manuals in my time, and this one is very straight forward and fluid. It takes you through step by step and is very easy to follow and flows well. Unlike many other screenwriting books, it provides a lot of straight forward information about writing a treatment, synopsis and advice on how to get the screenplay read. The manual also has a good list of contacts regarding festivals, film funding and other associations that can help the budding screenwriter.

I would recommend it for anyone starting out and anyone struggling to get their scripts read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HOW TO WRITE GREAT SCREENPLAYS, 13 May 2009
This review is from: How to Write Great Screenplays and get them into production (Paperback)
I am always a little cautious when buying screenwriting guides as most seem to be full on over-complex and confusing information. Linda James' book, however, was one I found to be wonderfully concise, easy to follow and very heartening, especially as I am an aspiring scriptwriter, and the path from writing to selling your script is pretty daunting.

The Chapter 'Techniques to make your script stand out' was especially useful to me, including information on 'foreshadowing' and 'subtext' - critical areas that are often overlooked in similar guides. It's a very positive, encouraging book as well, which has given me the impetuous and ideas to write my first screenplay, confident that her suggestions and techniques will work. It is good to see that the author has her own screenplay in production, so clearly she is on the right track!

Finally, the last section on copyrighting and selling your script is invaluable, providing information on funding, production contacts, who to try to sell to and most importantly, I think, a sample option agreement as it is vital to know and understand the business side of writing, which is half the battle in getting your script sold.

Money well spent - I highly recommend this book. It's concise, easy to assimilate and proactive, and I feel any screenwriter at the start of their career will find this manual invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dreams of success, 22 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: How to Write Great Screenplays and get them into production (Paperback)
Clear, informative and a serious challenge to your writing skills. All you need to add is a bowlful of ideas, a dash of creative energy, an ability to stir up a sentence or two, a burning candle to warm you during those late nights in the garret and an overwhelming desire to see your work improve and, perhaps, even be performed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the right book to start writing., 15 Dec 2011
By 
Michele Casucci "rossotraveller" (Milan, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Write Great Screenplays and get them into production (Paperback)
Ever heard of Linda James? Well, in case not, you could look for her on imdb. Done? Found nothing? Really? How is it possible? Imdb includes almost any movie or movie related person of the planet! Let's look for one of her two movies then: White Witch (not the Narnia one!) and Days of the Swans. Nothing again? How can we explain this? Because she's not famous. Her book is ok, but rather poor of important information. If you are a beginner, definitely read all of Blake Snyder books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 6 Dec 2010
By 
K. Hansen "K. Lee Hansen" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Write Great Screenplays and get them into production (Paperback)
This book was recommended by a lovely lady at a writers conference & I appreciate it. It is easy to follow and contains fab tips. If you are new to script/screen writing then this is the book for you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No hype practicality, 11 Aug 2009
By 
Mark Treacher (Stratford upon Avon, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Write Great Screenplays and get them into production (Paperback)
This is an excellent no hype guide to writing a screenplay and getting it published. I've read most of the ooks in this area and this one stands out because it is written in a practical no-nonsense way. It doesn't make any outrageous claims and it's written primarily for a British readership.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable advice & guide to further resources, 23 May 2009
This review is from: How to Write Great Screenplays and get them into production (Paperback)
I specially commend the sections on 'The Inciting Incident' and 'Writing Powerful Opening Scenes' for advice on the importance of making your screenplay exciting enough to get noticed among the huge numbers competing for attention.

Also of particular usefulness are the sections listing other places to go for help: eg organisations that help screenwriters, organisations that help you protect your copyright, websites for screenwriting software, or websites offering editorial services.

Thus the book both gives good advice and is a useful work of reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scriptwriting Made Easy For Beginners., 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Write Great Screenplays and get them into production (Paperback)
I found it very easy reading, very interesting and a help to start writing scripts. It is a good book for taking the first steps to scriptwriting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Manual, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Write Great Screenplays and get them into production (Paperback)
Really good book - well written. Full of useful tips and advices. Stimulating and useful. Very happy with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Write Great Screenplays and get them into production
How to Write Great Screenplays and get them into production by Linda M. James (Paperback - 13 Jan 2009)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews