Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring can-do guide
This book's clear, concise advice is an inspiration. The author's can-do attitude makes the reader confident that they can give their script the best possible chance of getting into production.

The layout is really helpful -- the information is presented in bitesize pieces, with headings and sub heads, so it's easy to find a particular detail when you refer to...
Published on 11 Jun 2009 by B. Clare Grant

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but not great
It's an okay book, with many helpful tips for beginning writers.
Yet I've read many books on the subject and I must say I was a bit disappointed by this one.
It isn't very detailed, for instance.
For a very helpful introduction into the art of screenwriting, I'd recommend How Not to Write a Screenplay: 101 Common Mistakes Most Screenwriters Make...
Published on 1 Dec 2011 by Jonas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring can-do guide, 11 Jun 2009
By 
B. Clare Grant "themymble" (Tunbridge Wells, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How To Write Great Screenplays: And Get Them into Production (Paperback)
This book's clear, concise advice is an inspiration. The author's can-do attitude makes the reader confident that they can give their script the best possible chance of getting into production.

The layout is really helpful -- the information is presented in bitesize pieces, with headings and sub heads, so it's easy to find a particular detail when you refer to the book again. This must have been hard work to edit though, and a few typos and mis-formats have crept in.

I really appreciated the book's signposts to other resources -- there's so much out there that it can feel like a jungle, so any pointers are welcome.

This is an excellent book for a beginner; and it would probably have some helpful points to inspire a more experienced writer, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read For Everyone!, 27 Nov 2011
This review is from: How To Write Great Screenplays: And Get Them into Production (Paperback)
Having read and studied many screenwriting books, I rate this book as one of the best and a complete steal at it's current price. From novice to professional, this book is an absolute must read for anyone wanting to take their writing skills to another level!

Jam packed with everything you need to know to write a great screenplay, I found this especially helpful for the U.K/European market.

An additional BONUS is all the professional contact links inside...If you are NOT a professional screenwriter already, you will definitely feel like one once you have finished reading this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but not great, 1 Dec 2011
This review is from: How To Write Great Screenplays: And Get Them into Production (Paperback)
It's an okay book, with many helpful tips for beginning writers.
Yet I've read many books on the subject and I must say I was a bit disappointed by this one.
It isn't very detailed, for instance.
For a very helpful introduction into the art of screenwriting, I'd recommend How Not to Write a Screenplay: 101 Common Mistakes Most Screenwriters Make !
Don't get me wrong, this book isn't a waste of money.
It's quite helpful, in a way.
But in it's own way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and detailed guide to screenwriting, 13 May 2009
This review is from: How To Write Great Screenplays: And Get Them into Production (Paperback)
This is an excellent and detailed guide for both aspiring and experienced writers and producers. Moving step by step approach through the writing process with clarity and precise examples from the essentials of preparation to delivery helps to clarify the writing process and eliminate simple pitfalls. First person examples from Linda James own writing keep the text fresh avoiding the trap of many guides to screen writing which make esoteric references to films which are personal favourites. This makes for an ideal text for those ambitious enough to want to write a screenplay from simple self belief without first having undergone an academic media course. But not to underestimate the value of this guide reference should be made to the excellent section on marketing and selling your script with a valuable list of sources of funding. All ways round this guide covers the ground in a straightforward and comprehensive way which offers great support for all screenwriters in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide to Writing Screenplays, 14 April 2009
By 
Dr. M. Mannion (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How To Write Great Screenplays: And Get Them into Production (Paperback)
The Author, Linda M James, has produced an excellent guide for both novice and experienced writer who wishes to break into the world of screenplay writing. Her concise, informative book is a step-by-step guide to writing a great screenplay. It has incredibly useful chapters on how to write powerful loglines, compelling scenes, what to leave out of scenes and examples of how to write in different genres. [Which I found particularly useful.] This book is full of wonderful tips and is obviously based on painstaking research and long experience.

Her erudite knowledge of both US and UK styles, the enormous database of websites, addresses and contact details of agents and film studios makes this book essential for all screenwriters. I fully recommend it as it will galvanize anyone into writing a brilliant film script! It is also good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, 30 Nov 2011
This review is from: How To Write Great Screenplays: And Get Them into Production (Paperback)
Found this book to give very good advice for someone writing their first screenplay. Not finished reading yet so can't review the part on getting them into production but so far so good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HOW TO WRITE GREAT SCREENPLAYS, 13 May 2009
This review is from: How To Write Great Screenplays: And Get Them into Production (Paperback)
I am always a little cautious when buying screenwriting guides as most seem to be full on over-complex and confusing information. Linda James' book, however, was one I found to be wonderfully concise, easy to follow and very heartening, especially as I am an aspiring scriptwriter, and the path from writing to selling your script is pretty daunting.

The Chapter 'Techniques to make your script stand out' was especially useful to me, including information on 'foreshadowing' and 'subtext' - critical areas that are often overlooked in similar guides. It's a very positive, encouraging book as well, which has given me the impetuous and ideas to write my first screenplay, confident that her suggestions and techniques will work. It is good to see that the author has her own screenplay in production, so clearly she is on the right track!

Finally, the last section on copyrighting and selling your script is invaluable, providing information on funding, production contacts, who to try to sell to and most importantly, I think, a sample option agreement as it is vital to know and understand the business side of writing, which is half the battle in getting your script sold.

Money well spent - I highly recommend this book. It's concise, easy to assimilate and proactive, and I feel any screenwriter at the start of their career will find this manual invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for writers struggling to get their material read., 4 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Write Great Screenplays: And Get Them into Production (Paperback)
I've read a few screen writing manuals in my time, and this one is very straight forward and fluid. It takes you through step by step and is very easy to follow and flows well. Unlike many other screenwriting books, it provides a lot of straight forward information about writing a treatment, synopsis and advice on how to get the screenplay read. The manual also has a good list of contacts regarding festivals, film funding and other associations that can help the budding screenwriter.

I would recommend it for anyone starting out and anyone struggling to get their scripts read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide to screen playwriting, 28 April 2009
This review is from: How To Write Great Screenplays: And Get Them into Production (Paperback)
I would strongly recommend this book for anyone wanting a thorough grounding in writing a screenplay. Linda James' book is both concise and easy to read and gives plenty of technical details for any aspiring writer. The information given is relevant and up to date and clearly laid out. The author has packed an amazing amount of information in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful resource, 9 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Write Great Screenplays: And Get Them into Production (Paperback)
Bought this book to help me develop an idea I have for a film; its very well structured and easy to use. The chapter layout and headings means you can jump to whatever you need help with at that point and find what you need. Also has loads of good external resources to help you on your way.

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How To Write Great Screenplays: And Get Them into Production
How To Write Great Screenplays: And Get Them into Production by Linda James (Paperback - 13 Jan 2009)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews