Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on starting your own business I've read so far
This book has given me the inspiration and practical guidance I need to get my business up and running. I've been stalling for some time, but this book has been the only one I could find on the market to offer just the right combination of traditional business stuff and ideas, with more modern exercises to really incite action and get me inspired and moving forward! I...
Published on 23 Jun. 2005 by Jennie Newton

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong on Web Marketing but weak on basic financial aspects
I read the e-book on Kindle.

1. Very positive points include the various tips on web marketing, social media and sales generally.

2. Positive points are the reasonably relevant quotes and experiences from people who have made it in business plus (some) motivational phrases peppered throughout the book.

3. Negative points include too...
Published on 26 July 2012 by AdmorTony


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Business start up book, 30 Aug. 2010
This review is from: The Small Business Start-Up Workbook: A Step-by-step Guide to Starting the Business You've Dreamed of (Paperback)
I was looking for a book that will give me step to step guide to starting up and growing a business, I found this book very straight forward and easy to read, and extremely useful and practical
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 29 Aug. 2009
This review is from: The Small Business Start-Up Workbook: A Step-by-step Guide to Starting the Business You've Dreamed of (Paperback)
Covers all you need to know. It's easy to understand and makes you realise the finer details that many people do not think of. A truly brilliant book come workbook!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lots if useful info, 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is very informative and has given me lots of ideas and tips on how to grow my business. A must read for startup businesses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 10 Mar. 2010
This review is from: The Small Business Start-Up Workbook: A Step-by-step Guide to Starting the Business You've Dreamed of (Paperback)
good book, still reading, easy to understand, can recommend it to others
does cover from basic to advance level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must Read, 17 Nov. 2009
By 
Mrs. A. C. Hickie (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Small Business Start-Up Workbook: A Step-by-step Guide to Starting the Business You've Dreamed of (Paperback)
very good if your thinking about starting up , this book will either encourage you to run a mile or go for it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!, 31 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Small Business Start-Up Workbook: A Step-by-step Guide to Starting the Business You've Dreamed of (Paperback)
Excellent for someone who's starting a small business. Good information about the E-commerce business as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Small Business Start-Up Workbook: A Step-by-step Guide to Starting the Business You've Dreamed of (Paperback)
this is a good book and has lots of tips for starting your own business
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for retail businesses, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I find this book really helps you to think about the type and direction of your business. Not so good if you just want to get going. A lot of American references and a bit too long winded at times. I'd recommend for someone wanting to go into business for themselves but unsure what type of business. For individuals knowing their business and just wanting to get going, I'd choose a less generic and more specific start-up book. There's plenty out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A book for female entrepreneurs., 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book along with two other business start-up guides - the other two published by The Financial Times. Having read one of the FT books first I found this effort by Cheryl D Rickman to be a little condescending, 'wishy-washy', tedious and, adding to what a previous reviewer has stated, not only do I believe it is aimed at the US market but also the female market. The vast majority of quotes and examples are from famous business women. If you want to be a strong, independent business woman and are looking for inspiration then this book might be ideal - read it with the Spice Girls on in the background - but if you are a man (or woman...) and are just looking for practical advice steer clear. In my opinion, advising the reader to take a half hour walk to think about what your business would be if you weren't scared is a waste of the publisher's ink and my time. Will come in useful in the winter though when I use it as kindling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I did not find anything useful in the book, 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Small Business Start-Up Workbook: A Step-by-step Guide to Starting the Business You've Dreamed of (Paperback)
Basic concepts. I did not find anything useful in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews