Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Preparation for Psychometric Management Tests
If you are scheduled to be taking a Management Psychometric Test, this book is essential preparation.

In the first sections, it provides a general introduction and discussion addressing the question "What Are Psychometric Tests" and then proceeds to describe the various test settings utilized, online, exam rooms and assessment centers, and makes suggestions...
Published on 15 Feb. 2011 by Bulhanine

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a look, though not hugely insightful & contains some errors
This book is helpfully reassuring if you're a bit nervous about taking such tests.
The general comments do give answers to niggling questions about how to cope with the tests.
The example tests are useful, though they're only indicative - for a fuller practice, try the online practice tests on SHL's website. I would say that many of the example questions in the...
Published on 10 Nov. 2008 by Jeepers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a look, though not hugely insightful & contains some errors, 10 Nov. 2008
By 
Jeepers (South of England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Management Level Psychometric and Assessment Tests: Everything You Need to Help You Land That Senior Job (Paperback)
This book is helpfully reassuring if you're a bit nervous about taking such tests.
The general comments do give answers to niggling questions about how to cope with the tests.
The example tests are useful, though they're only indicative - for a fuller practice, try the online practice tests on SHL's website. I would say that many of the example questions in the book are more straightforward than you might want to expect in the "real thing".
What really worries me, though, is that the answers given in the book are sometimes wrong. It's not clear whether this is just an editing issue or whether the database they're taken from is wrong. In either case, it should be cleared up. If the database is wrong, then that is shocking, because peoples' job applications may depend on this. The book states "psychologists are only human" by way of apologising for errors that do crop up. However, as someone who has set professional exam questions, I view this as unacceptable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just meets the mark, 10 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: Management Level Psychometric and Assessment Tests: Everything You Need to Help You Land That Senior Job (Paperback)
This is a good book to get an overall idea...but thats it! Most online tests are above 20 minutes and this book has like a 4 and 8 min exercises...Just not suffecient for practice. You will definitely need more material to get a good grip and do well on psycometric assessments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Go to SHL web site instead - it's free, 7 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Management Level Psychometric and Assessment Tests: Everything You Need to Help You Land That Senior Job (Paperback)
This book offers no more than the SHL website, don't waste your money on this. I bought this and also another one called "You're Hired! Psychometric Tests: Proven Tactics to Help You Pass" by Ceri Roderick & James Meachin, at the same time. The latter was much better- more detailed, tougher tests and more hints and techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Preparation for Psychometric Management Tests, 15 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Management Level Psychometric and Assessment Tests: Everything You Need to Help You Land That Senior Job (Paperback)
If you are scheduled to be taking a Management Psychometric Test, this book is essential preparation.

In the first sections, it provides a general introduction and discussion addressing the question "What Are Psychometric Tests" and then proceeds to describe the various test settings utilized, online, exam rooms and assessment centers, and makes suggestions how to best manage completing the test in these environments.

Each of the test components is well described in separate chapters with useful examples - Verbal and Critical Reasoning, Numerical Reasoning, Abstract and Non-Verbal Reasoning. There is also a chapter dedicated to special types of tests, Brainstorming, Scenarios, and In-tray exercises.

I found the chapter on Personality Questionnaires the most useful. Many of the examples, that are taken from the SHL tests, were actually on the pre-employment test that I subsequently took. It provided me the opportunity to review and discuss the types of questions prior to taking the test so that in the test setting I approached it in a more confident and relaxed manner.

Full marks for ordering and delivery - I ordered the book online and even though I live outside the UK in the Middle East it was delivered within 2 days.

I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 28 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Management Level Psychometric and Assessment Tests: Everything You Need to Help You Land That Senior Job (Paperback)
I bought this book to prepare for an assessment day for a senior post. I was disappointed with the content which whilst did cover some useful content, by and large, was not at the correct level. The abstract reasoning tests were for IT positions. Also, whilst giving the answers, the book did not provide explanations so did not enable learning. If you are in a similar situation, I have found a better book to be the UK Clinical Aptitude Test and BMAT which covers the right types of questions and gives full explanations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Time, 12 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Management Level Psychometric and Assessment Tests: Everything You Need to Help You Land That Senior Job (Paperback)
People should learn from their mistakes. Although the answers to the numerical tests are listed within the book, there are no EXPLANATIONS as to how to solve the problems! Therefore, how can someone improve if they get an answer wrong and do not understand the steps that must be taken to produce the correct answer? This has led to frustration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books on Psychometric tests, 2 Dec. 2008
By 
This review is from: Management Level Psychometric and Assessment Tests: Everything You Need to Help You Land That Senior Job (Paperback)
I have gone through a few titles on psychometric tests. I am convinced that this is one of the best books on this subject. It is very comprehensive yet, just manageable to read through. In just one book, it includes all types of psychometric tests including numerical & verbal reasoning, critical reasoning, situational reasoning and personality questions. The book is better written with just one or two minor errors, but gives very useful tips and plenty of practice tests. One small criticism is that it covers only 4 scenario based practice tests, which I think is insufficient. I still think this is just perfect for someone who is looking for a MBA level management job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Do not waste your money on this book, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It doesn't say anything that you probably don't already know. I was hoping for detail on certain test types, but it's very shallow. It was also important to me to understand how I can prioritise my responses (e.g. when they are all very positive and you have to choose something that is the least like you), and all the book could offer was 'just be yourself'.

I really regret wasting money on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful book, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Management Level Psychometric and Assessment Tests: Everything You Need to Help You Land That Senior Job (Paperback)
The book met my expectations. It doesn't offer that many exercises, but it's very helpful in understanding the criteria which lead the building of psychometric tests and the best way to face them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars like other reviewers found this book a disappointment, 1 Dec. 2014
By 
Lifelong Student (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Management Level Psychometric and Assessment Tests: Everything You Need to Help You Land That Senior Job (Paperback)
I, like other reviewers found this book a disappointment. Some answers it gives are incorrect which is particularly frustrating. The book should be properly edited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews