Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview
This book is a clear, readable overview of photographic theory. I have greatly enjoyed reading it and it contains a useful bibliography for further reading. As an added bonus, it's portable and fits easily in my bag!
Published on 5 Aug 2012 by mb

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult
It's not bad, but it's a very academic book. I found myself reading every paragraph about three times before I could understand it, and even then sometimes I was baffled.
For example page 17 "..the more technology develops the diffusion of information (and notably of images), the more it provides the means of masking the constructed meaning under the appearance of...
Published 22 months ago by R. Gault


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult, 21 Feb 2013
By 
R. Gault - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photography (Key Concepts) (Paperback)
It's not bad, but it's a very academic book. I found myself reading every paragraph about three times before I could understand it, and even then sometimes I was baffled.
For example page 17 "..the more technology develops the diffusion of information (and notably of images), the more it provides the means of masking the constructed meaning under the appearance of the given meaning"

I mean, what on earth does that mean?

For me it's a book to pick up, read a page or two then leave back down for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview, 5 Aug 2012
This review is from: Photography (Key Concepts) (Paperback)
This book is a clear, readable overview of photographic theory. I have greatly enjoyed reading it and it contains a useful bibliography for further reading. As an added bonus, it's portable and fits easily in my bag!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Theoretical Bible, 3 Aug 2014
This review is from: Photography (Key Concepts) (Paperback)
If you're looking for theoretic explanations on photography this is a very good book! It takes you trough time from the early beginnings of the invention of photography itself and goes one dissecting trough the modern times and trough the different "genres", always making the right questions of "why, when, and who" in each part. There's also substantial references to other authors, so you can dig a bit more into whatever tickles your fancy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photography The Key Concepts, 20 April 2011
This review is from: Photography (Key Concepts) (Paperback)
David Bates was always a strong influence at my studies in Edinburgh Napier University. This book helped me through a lot of the ideas we were discussing in class with Photographic Theory. Valuable tool throughout that semester.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The underside of photography, 13 Jun 2012
By 
Jr Wilkinson (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photography (Key Concepts) (Paperback)
This book can be quite difficult to follow, however it does get to places within photography which usually goes unnoticed by most of us, worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, although heavy, read, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photography (Key Concepts) (Paperback)
Interesting read on theory of photography as a medium. It is a rather heavy one and will likely require several passes of some sections, but I think it is a very important text for any photographer who is in it not only for commemorative snaps.

Photography is a tool for conveying a message, whatever it may be in each individual case. This covers it and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading for Photographic Theory, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photography (Key Concepts) (Paperback)
I was relieved to see this pocket sized book in the post - I have enough thick texts to navigate my way through. Bates manages to balance clear explanation with informed and knowledgeable text. The book is an absolute goldmine of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photography (Key Concepts) (Paperback)
For what I needed it for it was great,,, but a good read for anyone studying photograph
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential book for any photographer, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photography (Key Concepts) (Paperback)
This book is a MUST for any amateur photographer looking to progress within the industry, (whatever genre)

It goes in depth and very detailed about each genre of photography as well as the essentials required to
make it in the big leagues such as various rules of photography, not necessarily to follow, but to learn to
know the basics.

Use this in every project in University studying photography.

Vital knowledge and great value!

----------Negatives are below---------
Some information is outdated in terms of modern photography
and relies back in history (although its still great to learn to set foundations)

Hope you enjoyed my review, if you found it helpful please vote for it. - Doug
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very clear, 1 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photography (Key Concepts) (Paperback)
Another book on the Reading List! This is a very clear and manageable account, and highly recommended for photography students everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Photography (Key Concepts)
Photography (Key Concepts) by David Bate (Paperback - 1 July 2009)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews