Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
36
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2013
I enjoyed this book which looked at the last years of her life, and more importantly at the final days of Marilyn Monroe. It is an extremely well researched book,and gives evidence to all the statements that the author Keith Badman makes. It gives an interestiong insight into the cause of death,accident not suicide. Nobody seems to come out of the story with much credit,except her second husband Joe Di Maggio,though the reasons that Marilyn Monroe gives for not wanting to remarry Joe convey a control freak,and selfish man.
Probably it is important that the reader looks at a more comprehensive picture of Monroe's life to obtain a general framework to her life,but then reads this book which I believe gives the truest analysis of final days and death.The book managed to convey much of the sadness of Marilyn Monroe's life, and at the end I felt that she was a much abused person,who somehow never quite came to terms with her success,and the image that was portrayed of her by Hollywood and the film studios,and that she sadly had few real friends-A sad reflection on a famous and iconic figure of the 20th century
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
This is the first biography I've read about Monroe, out of curiosity and a change of scenery. Seems very thoroughly researched and in no part surprising. Shame that no one around her felt the need to get her off the drugs, which is a travesty. Nice lady, bad bad company.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
I have read about 15 books on Marilyn monroe, and it is her final months and curious death that interest me most. This book is a good read with loads of details about Monroe that I had not read previously which is always a bonus..however.....the author dismisses that she had a relationship with Bobby Kennedy, and claims that she only ever had one sexual encounter with John Kennedy..something that is strange to suggest considering the amount of eye witness accounts over the years that have come to light. It is really played down and using "facts" such as to say Kennedy couldnt have met Marilyn on such and such a day as he was officially with his family on a trip etc does not wash as a powerful president has ways to slip away, such as the attorney general did slip away to her house on the night she dies, as witnessed by her neighbours...The book also claims she accidently overdosed, something that by medical autopsy reports and the strange goings on in her house that night do tend to point to murder...I think reading this has made me realise that we will never actually know what happened to Marilyn that night as all the evidence was destroyed, people are afraid to talk and have been silenced and forever change their stories...all in all though, its an interesting read and is well written and whatever you believe happened its another take on the matter, some aspects being believable and some not so much. Glad I purchased, love reading different points of views on this subject.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
A book that is worth reading if only that it dispenses with the many strange conspiracy theories that surround Marilyns death.
There is not a lot new to learn. She appears to have been addicted to many drugs and was very fragile in her mind as we all know.
Marilyn fans like me will read it anyway....another book about an insecure beautiful woman. ...and the necessity to be valued and loved
.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
At times this goes off course a little explaining the movements of the Kennedy's out of context of why Marilyn wasn't with them at the time but on the whole l thoroughly enjoyed this book. I've certainly learned a few things from it that l didn't know before. A must forMarilyn fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
Marilyn played a very dangerous game reading the books I have read about her but she certainly didn't deserve the ending of her life that she got. What a sad story about a leading icon of Hollywood
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
Worried about how he would /could possible know what happened between Lawford ,B,Kennedy ,and Marilyn ,I her bedroom , saying Lawford"slapped " her and she fell to the ground sobbing ,,,,how could he know ,,they wouldn't have told him ??? Things like that concern me bout this otherwise good book ,,I knew Marilyn for 3years. From 1958 /1962 ,,when I was also appearing at the Greek Theatre ,,,,kindness in the extreme ,,, from my meeting her on the set of "Some like it Hot " (I was an extra ,,, )" fresh out of the Australian army ,,,,,,! (aged27 ) to the Saturday I left for San Francisco ,,,,,,always ,I found , Norma Jeane ,,,,,never M,M ,,,,,,xx
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
In all probability, the real answer to scotch all the stupid rumours.
However, there are still a lot of unanswered questions around
the activities of Bobby Kennedy and Peter Lawford that will
never see the light of day unfortunately.

Interesting read. Obviously meticulously researched.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
Have read many books on MM and this is pretty accurate and thought provoking. Details about Joe Di Maggio and the funeral arrangements was very sad to read but a really good holiday/plane read
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
I didn't think that there was much left to say about Marilyn but amazingly Keith Badman's book was illuminating and well worth the read. Congratulations.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)