Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for anyone doing the path
The book was at a good price and arrived in time. It is good quality, splits the walk up into appropriate sections, has appropriate parts of the ordnance survey map printed over several pages for each section. It shows roughly between 0.5 km to 1.5 kms each side of the wall path depending on the way the map falls. There is also narrative to assist you in being clear...
Published 21 months ago by Steph

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing.
We have used Official National Trail Guides for 9 long distance paths and were extremely disappointed in this one. We would have been better off with OS maps - which I did not purchase as I felt there was little point with such an obvious trail to follow.
* Planning: Not easy with the Keymaps at the front, partly because the names of principle sites are given...
Published 20 months ago by daisy

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hadrian's Wall Path (National Trail Guides) (Paperback)
We have used Official National Trail Guides for 9 long distance paths and were extremely disappointed in this one. We would have been better off with OS maps - which I did not purchase as I felt there was little point with such an obvious trail to follow.
* Planning: Not easy with the Keymaps at the front, partly because the names of principle sites are given their Roman names rather than the popular everyday ones. It also doesn't help that the photographs (which are good) are sprinkled throughout the book, not necessarily related to the chapter where the route is described.
* Accommodation: In the most popular areas accommodation can be rather sparse. However there is a wonderful bus (122) which links all the main sites in the area which is a boon to walkers. The book is written as if it does not exist. What you need to know is the distances between points where you can access the bus (which in practice stops anywhere for you at the wave of a hand). The list of distances between points is in any case pretty mean -lots of small distances make planning so much easier than leaps of 10 or more miles.
* Maps: The bus stops at Lanercost Priory, an English Heritage site as well as offering excellent facilities, but does the map in the book show how to get there - no - although you do get a photo of it but at the end of the previous chapter. Why not make the map just fractionally bigger to show the way down to the Priory from the footpath? I could give other examples.
* Additional walks: two only, given to principal sites, almost entirely on roads. We don't want this - there are plenty of others along the wall giving short, interesting and sometimes spectacular footpath routes (including to principal sites such as Housesteads)
* Photos: Is it too much to ask for photos of sites to be located in the chapter where they can be seen - or at least a reference to the page where the location can be found?
* Text: At the few points where the trail is not well signposted (or they have been obliterated or hidden in foliage) the route instructions were far too vague and ambiguous.
Very disappointing - I shall be very wary about purchasing an Official National Trail Guide in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for anyone doing the path, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hadrian's Wall Path (National Trail Guides) (Paperback)
The book was at a good price and arrived in time. It is good quality, splits the walk up into appropriate sections, has appropriate parts of the ordnance survey map printed over several pages for each section. It shows roughly between 0.5 km to 1.5 kms each side of the wall path depending on the way the map falls. There is also narrative to assist you in being clear where you are to walk. There are also a couple of additional circular walks in the book and some information on history, geology etc. Add to this some lovely photography and you have a nice little book altogether. In Part 3 there are some useful contact numbers but as you might expect these are not comprehensive particularly for accommodation where it just lists a few hostels. There are other contact numbers such as tourist information where you would be able to get more information though. I am doing the walk this Sept, 2103 but the book has already helped me prepare. I have bought the 3 o/s maps though as back up but you can get a 1:50,000 map separately that covers the whole walk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear directions, 14 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hadrian's Wall Path (National Trail Guides) (Paperback)
Just started then first stage of the walk and found the directions and the maps very clear and easy to understand. Looking forward to the subsequent stages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not good for west to east, 11 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hadrian's Wall Path (National Trail Guides) (Paperback)
A useful and helpful guide to the trail, if you are taking the east to west route. However, if you are walking west to east, as we did, it is very difficult to read the book backwards. It would be really helpful (and presumably not too difficult to achieve)if the publishers could produce a west/east version. The same could be said of the other national trails.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book Does What is Says on the cover!, 27 Feb. 2013
By 
C. J. Cunningham (Wokingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hadrian's Wall Path (National Trail Guides) (Paperback)
The book has comprehensive Ordnance Survey maps for route sections of Hadria's Wall, good description and quality. Ideal as an aid to route planning and guidance and as support to further maps.
You could not use this as a replacement for bigger maps to get a greater overview of positioning.
I have used other books in this series of National Trail Guides and have found them invaluable to my walking pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good guide, 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hadrian's Wall Path (National Trail Guides) (Paperback)
Straightforward, accurate and easy to use. Worked very well for us. A real help having the ordnance survey map extracts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 Feb. 2015
By 
firstbuddha (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hadrian's Wall Path (National Trail Guides) (Paperback)
Greats title guide for gentle introduction and plenty of information for walkers and visitors to the wall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hadrian's Wall Path (National Trail Guides) (Paperback)
Good book with lots of information in preparation for my walk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hadrian's Wall Path (National Trail Guides) (Paperback)
Looks good but do not plan to do the Path until next Spring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Aug. 2014
By 
K. Manwaring (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hadrian's Wall Path (National Trail Guides) (Paperback)
Has it all covered. Clearly formatted and well illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hadrian's Wall Path (National Trail Guides)
Hadrian's Wall Path (National Trail Guides) by Anthony Burton (Paperback - 20 Sept. 2012)
£12.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Hadrian's Wall Path: Wallsend to Bowness-on-Solway - Planning, Places to Stay, Places to Eat (British Walking Guides)
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13)   
Buy new£9.59
In stock

Hadrian's Wall (OS Explorer Map)
Hadrian's Wall (OS Explorer Map) by Ordnance Survey (Paperback - 30 Nov. 2009)
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (21)   
Buy new£7.99
In stock

Hadrians Wall XT40 Route Map
Hadrians Wall XT40 Route Map by Harvey Map Services Ltd (Map - 10 April 2012)
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (24)   
Buy new£11.86
In stock