Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Bu**er Off", he said
These are the words Freddie Trueman said to his foreman when sacked as a bricklayer. They were also the words he said to me after queuing at his car for his autograph as a 12 year old at Edgbaston in 1963 after he had taken 7-44 to defeat the mighty West Indies.This reflects Trueman. My boyhood hero. A great fast bowler. A legend. Loved by the public. A pain to the...
Published on 22 Nov 2011 by ACB (swansea)

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ah'll sithee
This is an enjoyable read. While it recycles extensively from John Arlott's 70's biography, it adds a lot of new material from interviews with family and team mates.

It has a cracking start and a very moving finish. The first chapter is the reunion of Trueman, Geoff Boycott, Brian Close and Ray Illingworth shortly before Trueman's death. They are almost a...
Published on 13 Nov 2011 by Stephen Hudson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Biography of a Great Man, 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fred Trueman: The Authorised Biography (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. As I remember Trueman's voice and outspoken nature on TMS from the 90s, I was keen to read more about one of England's true legends.
And it does not disappoint. Well researched, well written, I couldn't put it down. Trueman always came across as a prickly individual in the hardened Yorkshireman mold, but under the surface lurks a sensitive personality that never cam across in the blunt speaking I remember from radio and TV coverage.

For anyone who enjoyed the similar biography of Harold Larwood by Duncan Hamilton, I would urge them to make this the next cricket biography to read, if not the very next book on any subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fred Tueman Authorised biography, 20 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been privelegd to see Fred Tueman bowl first in early 1950's when a young boy I always loved to watch his wonderful delivery run and his total commitment. THis book tells it all and shows the very difficult side of this special man. He should have played a lot more for England than he did but probably had himself to blame for his Blunt yorkshire attitude. Best book of those others on the subject. Thoroughly enjoyed it Alan Fitzpatrick. Solihull. Warwks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A real winner, 13 July 2012
By 
D. Howells "pontylass" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am basing my review of this book on the opinions of the recipient who was given it for Father's Day. It is very well written and is guaranteed to keep a keen cricket fan quiet for hours. What more can you ask for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Won't be following up on future Bumble recomendations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biography of Fred Trueman, 7 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was very lucky to watch Fred Trueman in action during his last year in first/class cricket 1968.Though past his best he still managed to put in two or three express overs with the new ball.This led to finding more information about him but most of it was too sentimental and one sided or exaggerated.This biography is probably the most penetrating about a remarkable man,with all his faults and greatness.Had the author mentioned more about the Test matches Fred played in it would have added greatly to the overall authenticity of the narrative.The book is the best about Fred Trueman i have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No problems, Book as described, excellent service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Present for my Father, a Yorkshireman, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think my father enjoyed this book, but then he would wouldn't he? Aye lad I suppose he darned well would!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars quite boring, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not much about his life, more facts about facts and figures, wickets and runs hard work needs more depthabout the man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We Would Have Not Enjoyed Each Others Company!, 26 April 2013
By 
Niccolò Machiavelli "Just an old ruin that's ... (Anywhere-But-Here-Next-The-Sea! United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very ambivalent about Freddie, loved to watch him smacking the stumps all over the shop when he was in his pomp and his earlier broadcasting career. However, as someone who himself has a "rose tinted" view of the past l have at least made an effort to adjust to the 20th and now the 21st Century! It seems Freddie never did, for example his slaying of Freddie Flintoff is way out of line.
Like so many others Freddie seemed to have conveniently forgotten from whence he came, and his politics do nothing to endear me to him as a man.
3 stars, the book was cheap, not too long and easy to read, but Freddie has gone down in my estimation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely book about one of England's great fast bowlers, and I'm from Lancashire. Why do we not produce men like this anymore?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fred Trueman: The Authorised Biography
Fred Trueman: The Authorised Biography by Chris Waters (Paperback - 1 Jun 2012)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews