Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars28
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 February 2014
As an amateur historian, I have quite a large amount of books and documentation on WWI, this particular book is presented in Chronicles style and is a mine of information, with many details often overlooked by other books. It is welle presented and enjoyable to read. Heavily documented a very good all rounder.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
A thoroughly comprehensive book, beautifully researched and illustrated. An absolute must for anyone interested in WW1. Should be in the library of every secondary school.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
This is a book book in a continuing series of books by Mark Adkin. Wonderfully illustrated, a completer history of the First world War in one book.
Its format allows you to dip in and out without loosing the overall history. Highly recomenbed
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
I have all of Mark Adkin's guides, and each one is just terrific. It's difficult to imagine how one could better this book...just buy it if you are interested at all in WW1.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
A comprehensive and well researched book which will answer most of the questions one could reasonably ask about the Western Front during WW1.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
This is yet another fantastic offering from this author. The amount of detail is unbelievable . Not a volume to read from start to finish but one to dip into - one item leading to another and before you know it a great deal of time has passed!. A superb work giving endless hours of reading pleasure.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
Well this is a mighty piece of work. I have Mark Adkin's Trafalgar which is a mighty read too, but this is not quite the same format. The information here is huge; there are loads of maps, period photos, actual photos of the western front today and diagrams. I may be atypical but I like diagrams and this volume has fewer than I was expecting. The ones that are there are very clear but I would have liked more technical detail, cutaways etc. There are masses of maps though; these take a bit of studying and, for navigation, could do with an inset map of where they are situated in the context of the western front. A superb piece of work but it is marginally short of my expectations - don't let this put you off though as its a great addition to a book shelf.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
As 2014 is the centenary of the beginning of the First World War, I'm planning to write a series of WW1 short stories, so I bought this incredible publication as part of my initial hard-copy research material. I am, frankly, astounded at the attention to detail; it is simply immense. I cannot praise - The Western Front Companion - too highly. It's certainly expensive, but well worth every penny. Simply excellent!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2016
Fantastically illustrated and presented book on the Great War. For those with a keen interest in this conflict, you can do no wrong if you can avoid the list price and pick it up a bit cheaper. Some great facts and put together in a clever format. A really good effort to compliment the authors other companion on different conflicts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
I would agree with a previous reviewer that this isn't a book you read from cover to cover. The amount of content is fantastic (especially for the price) and, although I haven't had a chance to read any sections in depth yet, I have scanned through it and I'm sure it will make a valuable source of information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)