Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wallis, 19 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallis: The Uncommon Life of the Duchess of Windsor (Paperback)
I havent quite finished reading this book yet.It is well written and seems an honest account of what took place.Do I think the king was treated badly by the royal family-yes Do I think abdication was the right thing to do-yes. The outcome being the present Queen who was born for the role.Do I think Wallis wanted out of the situation-most certainly.There was nowhere to run she had no option but to stay with the man who had given up the throne for her. What did the King see in her. She gave him the mothering he yearned for mixed with the put downs of his father she made him feel complete
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - THE book on the Duchess, 16 Sep 2012
This review is from: Wallis: The Uncommon Life of the Duchess of Windsor (Paperback)
Although King asserts that this is by no means a 'definitive' work of the Duchess' life, it is the closet we shall perhaps ever come. The first book to truly cut through the sensationalism and down-right lies that surround her life, 'Wallis' does not give a pitiful account of the Duchess' life but, finally, an accurate one. The comparison with Diana, Princess of Wales is deeply poignant. Having read widely on the Duchess, this is by far the most reliable, accurate account available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wallis, 17 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallis: The Uncommon Life of the Duchess of Windsor (Paperback)
If you would like to know more of what REALLY happened then read this FAB book. Poor Wallis has been much maligned over the years. But this book is so enlightening and very well written I couldnt put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent biograhy, 19 Mar 2012
This review is from: Wallis: The Uncommon Life of the Duchess of Windsor (Paperback)
Greg King writes a riveting yet sympathetic portrayal of two of the most maligned and misunderstood man and woman in British history. The Duke and Duchess of Windsor had a true and lasting love, altogether bittersweet. 'If only' comes to mind a lot while reading this book. Different times, different life choices, and perhaps, in the Duke's case, different in-laws. Loved this book and would recommend it to anyone interested in the truth of this enduring pair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HRH Wallis!!, 23 April 2012
By 
Mrs. L. A. King "Lyn King - Bookaholic" (Worcestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallis: The Uncommon Life of the Duchess of Windsor (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book and have read it with a renewed insight to how Wallis and Edward were regarded by our Royal Family. I was shocked at how they were cast-out by them and how they were treated both during their life times and after their deaths. Yes Edward abdicated and he could have been crowned and kept Wallis as his mistress but he loved her too much to do this to her. I think that they should have given Wallis the title of HRH because of the all the work she did both at home and abroad during her lifetime. Edward V1 and Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother were particularly bad not to mention Queen Mary, his own Mother!

Greg King I thought did an excellent job with this book and when I finished reading it I felt really sad that they had both been treated so badly and tried to imagine how they must have both felt. At least they had each other and their love for each other until they were parted in death and nobody could take that away from them. I now think of the Royal Family in a different light since reading this book and hope that I do not get sent of to The Tower!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 19 Jan 2013
This review is from: Wallis: The Uncommon Life of the Duchess of Windsor (Paperback)
Very interesting account of the lifes of the couples who went through hell to eventually be thrown out of this country. Why Camiila and Charles have different treatment?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last Wallis is vindicated., 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallis: The Uncommon Life of the Duchess of Windsor (Paperback)
Wallis Simpson did not want Edward VIII to abdicate and had they been allowed to marry, there was no reason that they couldn't. The majority of the people wished the king to marry Wallis Simpson who would have taken the title of Duchess of Cornwall. The way in they were treated by the new king and his wife was despicable and it is understandable that the Duke and Duchess of windsor were hurt and very disappointed. The Duchess of Windsor fulfilled her duties of filling the empty life of an ex king very well, she did live an empty life but that had forced upon her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wallis: The Uncommon Life of the Duchess of Windsor
Wallis: The Uncommon Life of the Duchess of Windsor by Greg King (Paperback - 1 July 2011)
8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews