Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 March 2012
Bill Nanson's book is a perfect foil to several excellent books on Burgundy by Coates, Morris and Remington Norman/Charles Taylor. Nicely written, well researched and easy to read it provides complementary insights into many Domaines from long-standing greats to the resurgent and up-and-coming. Clearly choices were made with some interesting omissions but it is nonetheless a comprehensive work. Highly recommended and that's without taking the current discounted price into account.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 28 July 2014
This was invaluable on our recent trip to Burgundy. We are what you would probably call keen amateurs when it comes to wine and this book provides enough information without going into reams of detail. It was good to have indications of wines from under-valued or up-and-coming producers, and tips on what to watch for. It certainly helped us to choose wines during our holiday. This is obviously only one man's selection and I don't doubt that some would disagree with the author's selections but it suited our needs perfectly. I also found the writing style to be engaging, no doubt reflecting the author's passion for the wines of the region.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
Bought this for impending trip to Burgundy and so pleased I did. It's got background information on the history of Burgundy, wine making processes and reviews over 80 domaines. It highlights what good and bad about each area, where a bargain can be found and where to exercise caution. It also includes suggestions of great spots to visit that I've not read about in other guide books, and short scenic walks to take from village to village that come from the authors personal experiences and clearly extensive time spent in the area. It's written with passion and honesty. Would highly recommend for anyone visiting the area and wanting to plan a wine trip.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
This is an excellent review of a range of Domaines in the Cote d'Or capturing all the enthusiasms of the author without having reams of prose expended on each domaine. Many interesting discoveries from whom I am about to buy. The only reason I haven't given it a maximum score is that price and drinking corridor indications are omitted.
I fully reasile these are a moving target but would appreciate a little guidance nonetheless. Mr. Nanson clearly has a soft spot for the American vignerons, but why not? In short a very helpful guide to all travellers to the region. Bravo!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
really informative and interesting - however the selection of produers is highly personal (and not always comprehensible) - so recommended, but not as the 1st book about Burgundy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
A first class guide to use in Burgundy. It helped greatly during visits to taste and buy wines during a holiday in the area.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
If you are keen on the region this is a valuable reference. Lovely photos and good pen pictures of the producers
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
If you like Burgundy then I would heartily recommend this book. Written by someone who is obviously passionate about the wines of the region and has spent a lot of time with the people that make them and who are the real stars of this book. Some great photography too.
0Comment3 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
Very informativ book.
Nobody recomend me it, I found it when was ordering previous book "understanding Wine Technology". I will use amazon in future.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
How can coche dury be left out of this book???
The single greatest producer of white wine is left out because bill doesn't gets it.
0Comment0 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Get ratings and tasting notes from the experts. Free issue.
  -  
Luxury Chambres d'Hôtes. Between Dijon and Beaune.