Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, current review of Burgundy
Bill Nanson's book is a perfect foil to several excellent books on Burgundy by Coates, Morris and Remington Norman/Charles Taylor. Nicely written, well researched and easy to read it provides complementary insights into many Domaines from long-standing greats to the resurgent and up-and-coming. Clearly choices were made with some interesting omissions but it is...
Published on 21 Mar 2012 by connon

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Flawed
How can coche dury be left out of this book???
The single greatest producer of white wine is left out because bill doesn't gets it.
Published 15 months ago by Christopher Lee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, current review of Burgundy, 21 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Finest Wines of Burgundy: A Guide to the Best Producers of the Côte d'Or and Their Wines (Paperback)
Bill Nanson's book is a perfect foil to several excellent books on Burgundy by Coates, Morris and Remington Norman/Charles Taylor. Nicely written, well researched and easy to read it provides complementary insights into many Domaines from long-standing greats to the resurgent and up-and-coming. Clearly choices were made with some interesting omissions but it is nonetheless a comprehensive work. Highly recommended and that's without taking the current discounted price into account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what we needed, 28 July 2014
By 
Marand (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Finest Wines of Burgundy: A Guide to the Best Producers of the Côte d'Or and Their Wines (Paperback)
This was invaluable on our recent trip to Burgundy. We are what you would probably call keen amateurs when it comes to wine and this book provides enough information without going into reams of detail. It was good to have indications of wines from under-valued or up-and-coming producers, and tips on what to watch for. It certainly helped us to choose wines during our holiday. This is obviously only one man's selection and I don't doubt that some would disagree with the author's selections but it suited our needs perfectly. I also found the writing style to be engaging, no doubt reflecting the author's passion for the wines of the region.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Helpful Guide for Domaines at all levels when Visiting Burgundy, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Finest Wines of Burgundy: A Guide to the Best Producers of the Côte d'Or and Their Wines (Paperback)
This is an excellent review of a range of Domaines in the Cote d'Or capturing all the enthusiasms of the author without having reams of prose expended on each domaine. Many interesting discoveries from whom I am about to buy. The only reason I haven't given it a maximum score is that price and drinking corridor indications are omitted.
I fully reasile these are a moving target but would appreciate a little guidance nonetheless. Mr. Nanson clearly has a soft spot for the American vignerons, but why not? In short a very helpful guide to all travellers to the region. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A first class guide to use in Burgundy. It ..., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Finest Wines of Burgundy: A Guide to the Best Producers of the Côte d'Or and Their Wines (Paperback)
A first class guide to use in Burgundy. It helped greatly during visits to taste and buy wines during a holiday in the area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Finest Wines of Burgundy: A Guide to the Best Producers of the Côte d'Or and Their Wines (Paperback)
really informative and interesting - however the selection of produers is highly personal (and not always comprehensible) - so recommended, but not as the 1st book about Burgundy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full of top tips and facts - can't put it down, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Finest Wines of Burgundy: A Guide to the Best Producers of the Côte d'Or and Their Wines (Paperback)
Bought this for impending trip to Burgundy and so pleased I did. It's got background information on the history of Burgundy, wine making processes and reviews over 80 domaines. It highlights what good and bad about each area, where a bargain can be found and where to exercise caution. It also includes suggestions of great spots to visit that I've not read about in other guide books, and short scenic walks to take from village to village that come from the authors personal experiences and clearly extensive time spent in the area. It's written with passion and honesty. Would highly recommend for anyone visiting the area and wanting to plan a wine trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Luxury publication, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Finest Wines of Burgundy: A Guide to the Best Producers of the Côte d'Or and Their Wines (Paperback)
If you are keen on the region this is a valuable reference. Lovely photos and good pen pictures of the producers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Burgundy Lovers, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Finest Wines of Burgundy: A Guide to the Best Producers of the Côte d'Or and Their Wines (Paperback)
If you like Burgundy then I would heartily recommend this book. Written by someone who is obviously passionate about the wines of the region and has spent a lot of time with the people that make them and who are the real stars of this book. Some great photography too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect book!, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Finest Wines of Burgundy: A Guide to the Best Producers of the Côte d'Or and Their Wines (Paperback)
Very informativ book.
Nobody recomend me it, I found it when was ordering previous book "understanding Wine Technology". I will use amazon in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Flawed, 25 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Finest Wines of Burgundy: A Guide to the Best Producers of the Côte d'Or and Their Wines (Paperback)
How can coche dury be left out of this book???
The single greatest producer of white wine is left out because bill doesn't gets it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews