Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for long-distance walks
This book is meant for poeple who wish to walk the whole length of the trail from start to finish. I have found these books excellent for this purpose and would choose no other when attempting a long-distance walk.

They are very informative with detailed descriptions of the route and interesting facts when required. They contain snap shots of the OS map...
Published on 27 Aug 2008 by Anon

versus
38 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lacks practical information for getting out on the trail
This book is very well printed on good paper, sturdily bound, and includes quality reproductions of tiny sections of the OS maps, all as expected on a book listed at 1p under £13.
I live near the Ridgeway, and bought the book in order to get ideas for daytrips on the trail.
The book describes in detail a 136 kilometre long trail. However, it lacks an...
Published on 6 Nov 2005 by AMJ Cornellier


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for long-distance walks, 27 Aug 2008
This book is meant for poeple who wish to walk the whole length of the trail from start to finish. I have found these books excellent for this purpose and would choose no other when attempting a long-distance walk.

They are very informative with detailed descriptions of the route and interesting facts when required. They contain snap shots of the OS map although I would recommend still taking your own just in case!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lacks practical information for getting out on the trail, 6 Nov 2005
By 
AMJ Cornellier (Abingdon, England) - See all my reviews
This book is very well printed on good paper, sturdily bound, and includes quality reproductions of tiny sections of the OS maps, all as expected on a book listed at 1p under £13.
I live near the Ridgeway, and bought the book in order to get ideas for daytrips on the trail.
The book describes in detail a 136 kilometre long trail. However, it lacks an overview map to allow you to locate where you are on the trail. There is a "key map", but that map is wrong. Example: you want to go for a walk near Aylesbury. According to the key map, the description for this section starts on Chapter 11, but the book only contains six chapters! Presumably an earlier edition of the book contained 12 chapters which were merged to form six, while neglecting to update the key map.
The book also contains descriptions of circular walks which can be taken in the viscinity of the trail, but only gives a vague idea of where they are. For example: "Begin at a point where a byway crosses the Ridgeway", with no indication of how to get there.
I was disappointed at the lack of practical information in the book. For example, near where I live is an approximately 15km long stretch of trail without any parking areas indicated on the OS map. It might have been nice to give some clues about accessing these areas.
Also lacking is any description of the condition of the trail, whether suitable for cycling, prams, etc. Due to a shocking legal loophole, motor vehicles are allowed on much of the trail, and more information on how to avoid these would have been welcome.
Yes, the book's historical descriptions and so on are informative, but they're not much use if I can't get to the sites in the first place.
I give the book one star because I expected it to enable me to choose walks, and tackle the logistics of getting to the walks. I don't feel the book has helped me in these areas. Really, I'm as well off just studying the OS map (which I had to buy).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The great outdoors, 20 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Ridgeway (National Trail Guides) (Paperback)
The Ridgeway National Trail Guide is concise and easy to read. The maps and notes cover every inch of the way. A must for any walker - can't wait to try the others in the range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walk or cycle the Ridgeway with this excellent book!, 31 Oct 2009
By 
uncle barbar (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I cycled the Ridgeway over a weekend with my friend a couple of years ago and found this book essential. It gives good overview maps (despite what another reviewer says) and then a closer, more detailed map or two of each section as you are going along (although I ALWAYS like to have my trusty OS maps along with me also).

It gives details of all the sites you can see along the way - the various Iron Age hill forts, Wayland Smithy burial chamber, the Uffington White Horse etc as long as practical information about refreshment, toilet, pub stops etc

All the pubs we stopped at were open (except when we got there too late!)

There is also accommodation and transport information - though for the best up-to-date stuff and to make reservations and to see all the various options it's always best to search on-line and book before hand.

The Ridgeway is a fascinating old trail and steeped in history. A good alternative to other long walks like Hadrian's Wall. Cycle it or walk it - in the summer - a really fascinating way to spend a few days.

And a super book to accompany you along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of official guide to the ridgeway., 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We are about to set off and walk the ridgeway, which I think spans several OS maps, so this book is a godsend as it includes all the maps, lots more information, and is slim and light - about the size of one OS map.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, essential guide, 13 April 2009
By 
J. DUFF (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is an essential guide for walking the Ridgeway, although several of the pubs along the way are now closed or being refurbished this book came in very handy along the way. Contains essentail information including water points along the way, although maybe a short section about the shops in each town as you pass would prove useful for the walker carrying all their own supplies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive guide, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very comprehensive guide, easy to use and very clear. Not too bulky to carry, with good information for planning the walk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for the Ridgeway, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ridgeway (National Trail Guides) (Paperback)
If you are walking the Ridgeway like I did, you simply must have this book. It's up to date, accurate and an enjoyable read at the end of a hard days walking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My first choice, 19 Sep 2013
By 
Hugh Finn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Used it on my walk this summer. A very good Guide. Superior to the others I've seen. The update is most useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top guide book, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ridgeway (National Trail Guides) (Paperback)
I have read it through, very good guide book, really good walks suggested, landmarks well explained. Handy size to carry with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ridgeway (National Trail Guides)
The Ridgeway (National Trail Guides) by Anthony Burton (Paperback - 25 May 2011)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews