Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ashes 2011 by Gideon Haigh
Gideon Haigh is the star writer of the current cricketing age, and can be mentioned alongside the ranks of John Arlott and Neville Cardus of earlier eras. Observant, precise, and objective, his writing is fluent, and this book is so much more than just a record of his reports on each of the 2010-2011 Ashws Test Matches. I suspect that Gideon Haigh has the trust of the...
Published on 29 Mar 2011 by Bryan J. Patterson

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull
This book did nothing for me and I'm a passionate cricket lover. Sorry, not a book I'd recommend to anyone.
Published 11 months ago by Simon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ashes 2011 by Gideon Haigh, 29 Mar 2011
By 
Bryan J. Patterson (Ipswich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ashes 2010-11: England's Record-Breaking Series Victory (Hardcover)
Gideon Haigh is the star writer of the current cricketing age, and can be mentioned alongside the ranks of John Arlott and Neville Cardus of earlier eras. Observant, precise, and objective, his writing is fluent, and this book is so much more than just a record of his reports on each of the 2010-2011 Ashws Test Matches. I suspect that Gideon Haigh has the trust of the players and most people who count in the cricket world, as he appears to be well informed about the build-ups and after match situations, however he is also quick to dispel and dismiss some of the conjecture and smokescreen information that floats around in this modern age.This is a really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Articulate and Insightful, 19 Feb 2011
This review is from: Ashes 2010-11: England's Record-Breaking Series Victory (Hardcover)
Contrary to a 2 star review posted here I find the writing style of this account both intelligent and literate. It bears no relation, as was suggested, to trite tabloid journalism. As I read the book I wanted to watch a recording to check technical details that he has included about players and so will buy the DVD highlights when they become available, shortly. The book is a collection of Haigh's written reports for the Times newspaper and contains two separate reports for each day's play plus other writing on the build up to the series and to individual games. Probably can only be bettered by an account from inside the dressing rooms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ashes 2011 by Gideon Haigh, 26 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Ashes 2010-11: England's Record-Breaking Series Victory (Hardcover)
An insightful account of the recent ashes series with two reports for each day. This book is far from the typical tabloid journalism of many books written about ashes series. A must buy for any cricket afficianado
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive account, 17 Feb 2011
This review is from: Ashes 2010-11: England's Record-Breaking Series Victory (Hardcover)
Haigh is a great writer on cricket, and this is a collection of his writings for two journals throughout the series (note to J. Baldwin: both journals are indeed tabloids).

Very accessible writing style - hugely informative without being patronising. Personally I don't agree with Mr Baldwin's comments and would always rather read Haigh than any of the English based writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incisive analysis, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've always enjoyed reading Haigh in the Guardian and Cricinfo and I wasn't disappointed by this. Brought back great memories of the series and I hope to read his accounts of the next series soon!(assuming similar outcomes of course)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dull, 27 April 2013
By 
Simon (Beckenham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book did nothing for me and I'm a passionate cricket lover. Sorry, not a book I'd recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality writing, 8 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashes 2010-11: England's Record-Breaking Series Victory (Hardcover)
Cricket writing of the highest quality. An excellent companion to the DVD set of the series. Accessible both for the cricket tragic and the more passive fan. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First time lucky, 13 April 2011
This review is from: Ashes 2010-11: England's Record-Breaking Series Victory (Hardcover)
Have been a cricket fan all my life; took down the lunchtime scores for my dad when John Arlott was on TMS, but I have never read about cricket before. I was "bowled over" by the analysis and humour of this day by day coverage of the 5 Tests.
Would recommend this book to all cricket lovers both old and new. Particularly interesting to hear a "Pommie" living in "Oz" criticise the mistakes made by the Australian cricket board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We did it boys, 28 Feb 2011
This review is from: Ashes 2010-11: England's Record-Breaking Series Victory (Hardcover)
I though the book was awesome and it felt like you were reliving those amazing moments again. Brilliant must read for any cricket fan 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fails to capture the atmosphere of the Ashes Series, 3 Mar 2011
This review is from: Ashes 2010-11: England's Record-Breaking Series Victory (Hardcover)
Whilst the book has a few entertaining literary witticisms, it fails to capture the excitement and atmosphere of the Ashes Test Series. I had to persuade myself to keep going with the book having twice chucked it away!
Was the book written for the author's entertainment or that of the reader's?
It is a view from the 'safe' environs of the Corporate Press Gallery.
We went to all 5 Test Matches and eagerly looked forward to reading this book,to relive that glorious tour.
But the book was dreadfully disappointing. For example, Mitchell Johnson's golden duck at Sydney, where he was greeted to the crease by 15,000 England fans singing "he bowls to the left etc". with his return to the pavilion after his golden duck being accompanied by another 15,000 rendition of the same song is described by Haigh with the words ...Tremlett beating Haddin's pull and Johnson's prod for pace with consecutive deliveries..!

A waste of 12.50
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa82eb88)

This product

Ashes 2010-11: England's Record-Breaking Series Victory
Ashes 2010-11: England's Record-Breaking Series Victory by Gideon Haigh (Hardcover - 2 Feb 2011)
10.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews